MG_Myvi 1st Gear February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 of cos u can. jus tell them the effective date. i also using chartis...but got quote for renewal highest among a few i've checked. got aviva the cheapest. anyone with feedback abt aviva? I using Aviva. So far okay...still acceptable. So far no broken promises from their ad when claimed recently due to someone hit and run my car. Just that their workshop lists are quite limited....mainly Star Automotive and Comfort Delgro....but I'm still happy with it so far. You can try AXA...their pricing also quite reasonable. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 oh ok...havent try getting quote from axa. cos for my bike, axa was very expensive. but could b different for car. will try. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 I was with AIG (prior to Chartis) since I drive a Nissan. I had an accident 6 months after buying the car. Claim was about 5000 ~ 6000 in total which was claimed on me. Whole claiming process was smooth. When it's time to renew, the premium went from 1300+ to 1400+. Not bad considering I made a claim. So, I continued with them. The year after that, it went up further to 1500+ despite 10% NCD. I then sourced around and finally decided for china insurance as it was the cheapest at close to 1300. This year, they tried to attract me back to them by quoting me 1300+ but my china insurance is less than 1100. So, it's a no brainer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kongbapao Neutral Newbie February 16, 2011 Author Share February 16, 2011 i thought delayed by very long when it comes to admin and processes for payment, usually take up to 60days bro, if 60 days then 60 days la. Put in letter. Dont promise me 3~4 weeks in letter then call them up then they say 4~6 weeks. Best is call them then inquiry not processed. Must fark them then do something. Almost 2k leh. 2k is alot to me. To bro who said their insurance is competitive: no offence but competitive ki lan. quote me 2.6k for renewal on 20% ncd. other coy average 1.7~1.8k. All T&C similar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 oh ok...havent try getting quote from axa. cos for my bike, axa was very expensive. but could b different for car. will try. AXA quotation is the most ridiculous. Last year, they quoted me 1900+ and this year 1700+..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 nobody hv experience with aviva? directasia i got quoted more than aviva or ntuc. If you don't mod your car Aviva is fine but if you do good luck. They will void your insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 Take note that some quotes are only valid for 30 days. So be wary as some may take the chance to increase the premium when nearing the effective date if it is more than 1 month after the quotation date. AH okay thx. This is what my agent told me and I have forgotten. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yob_ha Neutral Newbie February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 I using Aviva. So far okay...still acceptable. So far no broken promises from their ad when claimed recently due to someone hit and run my car. Just that their workshop lists are quite limited....mainly Star Automotive and Comfort Delgro....but I'm still happy with it so far. You can try AXA...their pricing also quite reasonable. Make sure that your car is not mod. Else they can void your insurance. Its in part of the RFQ website. When you declare that there is some mod over the stock, it will not proceed further with the quotation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 AXA quotation is the most ridiculous. Last year, they quoted me 1900+ and this year 1700+..... yup! axa the most ridiculous! just got a quote from them. with 50% ncd plus 15% discount for opc...its $1.6k!!! how bloody ridiculous is that! when all other are lesser than 800+! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 If you don't mod your car Aviva is fine but if you do good luck. They will void your insurance. yeah...aviva wont even quote for modified car. but safe for me...i'm sure i wont modify. but then agn...is changing sports rims n fitting bodykit considered modified? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 Last august when I wanted to buy for my car....I check with them....Wakao almost $3000....I eventually get from AXA at only $2000. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 Make sure that your car is not mod. Else they can void your insurance. Its in part of the RFQ website. When you declare that there is some mod over the stock, it will not proceed further with the quotation. How do they define MOD? Adding strut bar is also a mod, lower spring is also mod, change suspension from stock brand one also mod, wiper changed from normal to frameless also mod??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 bro, if 60 days then 60 days la. Put in letter. Dont promise me 3~4 weeks in letter then call them up then they say 4~6 weeks. Best is call them then inquiry not processed. Must fark them then do something. Almost 2k leh. 2k is alot to me. To bro who said their insurance is competitive: no offence but competitive ki lan. quote me 2.6k for renewal on 20% ncd. other coy average 1.7~1.8k. All T&C similar. just to let u know, alot of companies payment usually drag to 60days even though the invoice states 30days credit term. so dun take the dates too seriously, moreover, it was over the festive season, so usually processing will take longer. 3-4weeks is working week assumption Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 ya Chartist ex...no way competitive...In the end, went for MSIG...best value for money plan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kongbapao Neutral Newbie February 16, 2011 Author Share February 16, 2011 just to let u know, alot of companies payment usually drag to 60days even though the invoice states 30days credit term. so dun take the dates too seriously, moreover, it was over the festive season, so usually processing will take longer. 3-4weeks is working week assumption I know what you meant but it's now my money. No delays if dates are promised. I don't have huge reserves to tap into unlike companies. Most dulan that called them up and learnt nothing was done. The next day, oh processed liao. To me is whether they want to do or not only. Before pple flame, 2k is alot to me. And also to pple who like to sinkie this sinkie that and sinkie only know how to kao pei kao bu, fark off first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MG_Myvi 1st Gear February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 (edited) How do they define MOD? Adding strut bar is also a mod, lower spring is also mod, change suspension from stock brand one also mod, wiper changed from normal to frameless also mod??? Whichever u have mentioned are fine. Since driving few cars in the past....From what I understand, such basic add-on are okay. But as long as not those like normal engine changed to turbo or any hardcore MOD...it's fine. Sometimes insurance company reject only to those who lose control and got into accident...they will then find ways to pin point. Depends lah...case to case basis. Edited February 16, 2011 by MG_Myvi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear February 16, 2011 Share February 16, 2011 I was with AIG (prior to Chartis) since I drive a Nissan. I had an accident 6 months after buying the car. Claim was about 5000 ~ 6000 in total which was claimed on me. Whole claiming process was smooth. When it's time to renew, the premium went from 1300+ to 1400+. Not bad considering I made a claim. So, I continued with them. The year after that, it went up further to 1500+ despite 10% NCD. I then sourced around and finally decided for china insurance as it was the cheapest at close to 1300. This year, they tried to attract me back to them by quoting me 1300+ but my china insurance is less than 1100. So, it's a no brainer. me too, I was with AIG (prior to Chartis) and I drive a Nissan sunny... i had an accident like 11 and a half months after i got the car... but i had already extended my insurance for another year at the 10month mark... thank god no recharge watever... all my claims were very smooth and fast... i used AA (instead of Chartis) to tow my accident car and got cash refund immediately... all in all person who called me very polite and helpful... if next renewal not much difference (highly unlikely) then i will stick with them... just to add... every little detail affects your premiums... indoor outdoor job... years of driving... driving record... single driver, added driver... any driver... till JB or KL or Penang, or till south Thailand... and for mods to the car that void your claims, simple guidelines... as long as LTA says fail... insurance got reason to void any claims... running from police or illegal racing also can void claims even if your car is stock... act of god? so many reason to void claims... but the thing is, like now we know which insurance like to void this void that, business will suffer bad... cause nobody will want to insure with them... 1st and 2nd party, i will want to get a reputatable easy to claim insurer... if 3rd party, the lowest is the way to go... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...