What can increase acceleration?

Redcafe10

Phase of the moon. During times when Moon close and directly overhead, you and car experience slightly lower net gravity (macham high tide) and hence less weight.

higer torque for quicker acceleration, horse power is for cruising...it's a common mistake that many based on HP for faster acceleration....

That's not correct. Let say, a car with high torque at 200Nm@2000rpm, another can has low torque at 100Nm@6000rpm. The later one can use gear reduction to convert more torque to wheel (say, use a 2.5 : 1 ratio to obtain 250Nm @ 2400rpm). Horsepower is a measure combining torque and rpm which is a TRUE evalution of acceleration provided that you can pick the gear ratios. Typically, a diesel car has much higher torque than gasoline car but only have a limited rpm. Therefore, the diesel car may have advantage at the first 1-2s, but after that, it run out of rev and need to shift up while the gasoline car can use the lower gear longer. At the end, it is the horsepower that determine the acceleration.

Yup. Saying torque accelerates is very misleading. For any given rpm, more torque = more horsepower and vice versa. Those 2 figures are not mutually exclusive.

increase acceleration because wallet is lighter? or does this help to increase acceleration time?

Not just the wallet. If you spend enough on snake oil like this, you have less money to spend on food, so you become thinner. Further weight reduction. Plus you'll be in a bad mood because you spent so much money on rubbish and now kena always hungry. Step harder on the accelerator = increased throttle response!

So it *does* work. After a fashion. :D

Don't anyhow recommend lah. This modification is very dangerous. Increase top speed by 30kph and half throttle can redline. Many drivers will not be able to control their cars with such a big power increase.

hehe..in this case many drivers need to retake advance driving course liao..

if we're driving a car with less dan 150bhp, should easily control bah. Fast acceleration is fun, but need not reach fast speeds.

Buy a better car... Or better still, buy a legal turbo-charged car.

If your car is NA, then honestly no point wasting money on it. You can add this and that and I'll give you max 50bhp increase after spending thousand dollars but all you need is a turbo-charged car running beside you, you will feel like you have wasted money on those upgrades.

There are fast cars that ain't turbo-charged though, and affordable and fast. Like Suzuki swift sport, Mazda 6, Honda Civic 2.0, and they are quite affordable and cheaper to maintain.

Else, get a Subaru WRX which are selling like no one business, cheap and fast BUT ex to maintain.

Buy a better car... Or better still, buy a legal turbo-charged car.

If your car is NA, then honestly no point wasting money on it. You can add this and that and I'll give you max 50bhp increase after spending thousand dollars but all you need is a turbo-charged car running beside you, you will feel like you have wasted money on those upgrades.

There are fast cars that ain't turbo-charged though, and affordable and fast. Like Suzuki swift sport, Mazda 6, Honda Civic 2.0, and they are quite affordable and cheaper to maintain.

Else, get a Subaru WRX which are selling like no one business, cheap and fast BUT ex to maintain.

how can be max 50bhp? just changing the cams will already increase it by at least 50. throw in headers and exo plus a remap and you'll be running 100 easily.

you cant compare a 2litre NA and a 2litre turbo car. that's like comparing a skinny girl w huge boobs and a fat girl w same sized boobs. compare 2 cars w the same HP but one NA and one turbo. i'll take the NA over turbo any day.

• Dislike 1

It really depends.

The maintenance of my mostly stock WRX is not much more than a normal sedan.

last year I spent <$1000 for 4x servicing

how can be max 50bhp? just changing the cams will already increase it by at least 50. throw in headers and exo plus a remap and you'll be running 100 easily.

you cant compare a 2litre NA and a 2litre turbo car. that's like comparing a skinny girl w huge boobs and a fat girl w same sized boobs. compare 2 cars w the same HP but one NA and one turbo. i'll take the NA over turbo any day.

Don't over react... so seriously, my Picanto 1.1 liter can have an increment of 100bhp based on what you said? Wow...

I'm comparing turbo and NA because most of the time it's true. Turbo > NA unless you are referring to specific cars like s2000 or lotus Elise.

And your last argument is flawed... I think a stock GTI with 200bhp can slaughter a stock Toyota86 with same 200bhp as well. Why? Bhp is not the only thing that affects acceleration. Just like a Picanto can be faster than a Bus even though the bus has higher bhp or engine cc.

So, I have compared 2 cars with same bhp and engine cc already. Am I right to say that no point getting an NA car and get it all modified but a turbo charged car will suffice? Oh, let's stick to LTA legal mods here just in case someone gets the idea of putting in a turbo in an NA car.

So if you have an NA car, go suck thumb. Driving an s2000 or lotus, maybe still got chance against a turbo car.

• Dislike 2

It really depends.

The maintenance of my mostly stock WRX is not much more than a normal sedan.

last year I spent <$1000 for 4x servicing

Genuinely curious. Those workshop maintenance aside, how much petrol do you spend a month and the total mileage per month approximately?

My GTI does about 2000km and 4 full tanks of ron98 (one full tank about 50l) in a month for about $400. Got psst here and there once awhile only,

Edited by DJ4eva

Don't over react... so seriously, my Picanto 1.1 liter can have an increment of 100bhp based on what you said? Wow...

I'm comparing turbo and NA because most of the time it's true. Turbo > NA unless you are referring to specific cars like s2000 or lotus Elise.

And your last argument is flawed... I think a stock GTI with 200bhp can slaughter a stock Toyota86 with same 200bhp as well. Why? Bhp is not the only thing that affects acceleration. Just like a Picanto can be faster than a Bus even though the bus has higher bhp or engine cc.

So, I have compared 2 cars with same bhp and engine cc already. Am I right to say that no point getting an NA car and get it all modified but a turbo charged car will suffice? Oh, let's stick to LTA legal mods here just in case someone gets the idea of putting in a turbo in an NA car.

So if you have an NA car, go suck thumb. Driving an s2000 or lotus, maybe still got chance against a turbo car.

wait wait. who modifies a picanto? lets be realistic here, a normal 2.0 integra can get additional 100 hp from the mods i mentioned. nobody knows about a picanto cos it prolly cant even last 10years? more so if you're the kind that tries to drive 'fast' in it.

as for the 2 cars, go read up abit on the electronics before you get so worked up over what i said. obviously we're talking about ceteris paribus.

and why you asking me to suck thumb? you still living in your ns world ah? and if you actually do drive a picanto, which i doubt you do since its too crappy. but if you really do, which part of the picanto is enough to make me suck thumb? other than the fact that it has higher running costs in the form of repairs which shows you're more well to do than me.

i'm sorry if i offended you in my previous quote but seriously, i was just giving my 2 cents worth. why so angry? take a chill pill dude. i'm not here to fight over such stuff lah srsly.

• Dislike 1

wait wait. who modifies a picanto? lets be realistic here, a normal 2.0 integra can get additional 100 hp from the mods i mentioned. nobody knows about a picanto cos it prolly cant even last 10years? more so if you're the kind that tries to drive 'fast' in it.

as for the 2 cars, go read up abit on the electronics before you get so worked up over what i said. obviously we're talking about ceteris paribus.

and why you asking me to suck thumb? you still living in your ns world ah? and if you actually do drive a picanto, which i doubt you do since its too crappy. but if you really do, which part of the picanto is enough to make me suck thumb? other than the fact that it has higher running costs in the form of repairs which shows you're more well to do than me.

i'm sorry if i offended you in my previous quote but seriously, i was just giving my 2 cents worth. why so angry? take a chill pill dude. i'm not here to fight over such stuff lah srsly.

Not angry. Why would I be so?

Anyway, why would anyone want to modify an integra unless it's type R? It's really a waste of money. Car lover AH? Sure, if you want to modify an integra, can't say it's wrong to modify a Picanto. But if you want brute acceleration, most NA cars can really suck thumb. Admit it.

Finally, no offense to you to bro, but can see it was already made. I'm stating my experience as an 37 year old, NOT NS, and after owning several cars.

Tell me honestly, sticking to this topic's main requirement... For brute acceleration, which do YOU prefer?

1. Legal mod Honda civic 2.0 vs stock Honda type R?

2. Legal mod Honda integra 2.0 vs integra type R?

3. Legal mod golf MK5 vs golf gti? (Both 2l assuming if you can still find them)

Ever wonder why big companies like BMW and Mercedes have turbo variant to their normal sedan cars? Because for the same engine cc car, if I want acceleration, I'll go for turbo-charged ones then to mod my NA car and risk disagreement in the machine parts.

Edited by DJ4eva

the NA vs turbo argument will never end la.

the simplest way to determine the faster acceleration car will be Power/weight ratio. the end.