House in JB

Tianmo

I think you are a bit out of touch with recent property market in JB.

Contrary to the usual perception in the past, JB property valuation has increased by quite a big margin for the past 1-2 years. High end condo with asking price of ~RM800psf is becoming a norm there. All thanks to our own Singaporeans. Else their government won't be targeting a benchmark of RM1mil minimum price for foreigners.

Profit from sub sale market is not too bad either, but of course it is largely dependent on the areas you are in.

Its not all Singaporeans buy their property. Some are PRs (holding Malaysia passport but work in SG) buying them....

JB properties look good to invest in. By the time Singapore reaches 6.9M population, i think i prefer to shake leg in JB.

I won't be surprised if most of the surrounding neighbours would be Singaporeans by then.

invest or stay?

Those who buy to stay and for retirement will be OK. Those hoping for asset appreciation = most likely fat hope as far as Boleh Land properties are concerned.

Yup, buy to stay/retirement would be better than buying JB house for investment.

I wonder why would any Singaporeans wanna buy high floor condos instead of landed? If I were them I'm already sick and tired of living in a pigeonhole & would want a landed instead.

Yup, buy to stay/retirement would be better than buying JB house for investment.

I wonder why would any Singaporeans wanna buy high floor condos instead of landed? If I were them I'm already sick and tired of living in a pigeonhole & would want a landed instead.

Living in condo has its advantages too! Like good scenery (if facing a good view), more windy, security guards, swimming pool (JB has very few pools), facilities, etc.... so many Singaporeans still prefer condos.

Singaporeans buying JB condos mainly because of 1 reason - Security!

Buying condo is still more secured than buy a big house outside town areas. How many cases of house-breaking per year?

Edited by Karsoon

Okay..Kinda agreed with the views and security. Cuz boleh land quite vast, a view from 10 storeys already will give you a bird's eye view of the surrounding.

Not to mention, Condo's pricing are already on par or higher than landed according to property guru My.

Singaporeans buying JB condos mainly because of 1 reason - Security!

Buying condo is still more secured than buy a big house outside town areas. How many cases of house-breaking per year?

Actually condo is not really safe also....

if you read my early posts in the forum earlier, I myself have lost my vehicle whilst staying in the condo.

Nowadays most new gardens or tamans are gated regardless of condo or landed.

AFAIK, currently there are many bank loan packages in M'sia which allow you to offset the interest through your deposit, but of course you need to park your money there.

For example, if you loan an amount of RM1mil, and you have deposit RM300k being parked in this account. The interest is calculated on the basis of RM700k and not RM1mil. The benefit is that you don't have to throw all the lump sum in.

if RM exchange rate with SG drop big time.. your interest saving dun cover your exchange lost.. .then how ?!?

Aniway.. not sure if MY has deposit insurance like SG.. if MY bank fail.. you may kiss your mil bye bye..

ha ha haha ..

Edited by ShepherdPie

Actually condo is not really safe also....

if you read my early posts in the forum earlier, I myself have lost my vehicle whilst staying in the condo.

Nowadays most new gardens or tamans are gated regardless of condo or landed.

Huh! Really? No security guard at the condo gate meh...? <_<

Security guard in MY? U neber heard of the "Power of the Hand" meh?

See 0:25 here

[laugh][laugh]

Just bought a condo in jb for retirement, 90% loan from foreign bank.

According to the banker, the minimum 1million requirement for foreigner property purchase will kick in after cny. She sounded confident about that.

I found out that this banker bought 3 units in the development I bought. That's how confident she is about the development n future property prices in jb.

Just bought a condo in jb for retirement, 90% loan from foreign bank.

According to the banker, the minimum 1million requirement for foreigner property purchase will kick in after cny. She sounded confident about that.

I found out that this banker bought 3 units in the development I bought. That's how confident she is about the development n future property prices in jb.

afaik, there are so much land in iskandar area still not developed yet/in the pipeline. don't jump into one cos of 'encouragements', esp from agents.

do your research thoroughly. there are bound to be good ones to come.

also, be careful.. properties especially a mil and over are usually bought by foreigners.

perhaps a some handful of locals for speculations.

generic locals won't buy them... deemed too expensive.

just think how much they earn.. and in ringgit.

if this is for investments, likely you will take longer time to sell, and only sell to another foreigner (ie. the target market is much smaller).

Have heard of security guards in cahoot with robbers. They provide intel to the robbers as to who's who, and which units are vacant on weekdays. Esp those own by Singaporeans.

Security guard in MY? U neber heard of the "Power of the Hand" meh?

See 0:25 here

[laugh][laugh]

i actually tried THE HAND while shopping for a unit at horizon hills.. not the showroom but a couple of the developed precincts (to look-see).

the guards actually denied my entry.

tried some tricks trying to bluff my way in also could not. the guard eventually asked me to visit the showroom and get an agent to escort me in

so.. THE HAND don't always work.. [laugh]

i think the price now should be well over a mil already [:/]

tats price, got buyer onot??

sellers there priced their house at skyhigh price. Bought 400+k 2-3 years ago now wanna sell 1.2mil...