Mazda Biante MPV

Swifter78

Was contemplating between Honda Odyssey (Euro 6 compliance) and Biante during recent Car Expo. At the end of the day, I selected Biante.Just gotten the car (2017 model) last week, having problem with the Alpine audio remote control. Went back to service centre, the engineer replaced a new remote control but it didn't work. He suggested to change the whole unit of Alpine audio on the spot, well, the old and new remote didn't seem to work. He promised to get back to me within this week. Now new problem surfaces with the new audio, it cannot be turn off by using the mute button, the phone button also doesn't work.

Queries:

1. Anyone has the issue on audio and it's remote control?

2. Today late evening, I noticed that the security indicator light keeps flashing after I off my engine. It will not flash when I drive. Is it normal?

3. The i-stop indicator. Orange light means is turn off? Yellow light means is turn on? Not sure how it is being used after reading the manual.

4. Anyone install front sensor? With camera?

5. Anyone install scuff plates? With LED?

6. Anyone install armrest?

7. Which workshop has good workmanship and reasonable pricing?

Thank you.

Not sure if this is the right thread to do.

I am de-kitting my Biante and would like to do trade-in of 16" MAK Hessen Rims and Hankook S1 Evo2 tyres with stock Bainte rims with topup of only $500.

The set was purchased in Dec/2016 and only 6.5month old. MAK rims are reputable Italian brand and OEM rim-of-choice of many European models such as Audi, Mercedes, etc, and the rims are of latest design and without scratches.

Buyer would have to foot the fees to swap the wheels.

Do PM me if you are keen. Any offers would be considered.

post-101253-0-61148400-1499428305_thumb.jpg

post-101253-0-87716000-1499428311_thumb.jpg

post-101253-0-73313000-1499428317_thumb.jpg

Rims: 16" Mak Hessen (5 x 114.3)

Tyres: Hankook S1 Evo2 (205/60R16)

Price with trade-in: $400

The rims and tyres were purchased on 12/2016.

Mak rims are Italian rims and OEM rims of choice for some European cars like Audi, Mercedes, etc. And Hessen is among the latest rim model. Being gun metal colour, it can hide dust very well --> no need to keep washing the rims and will still look good. The rims are without scratches and tyres still can last easily another 1.5 years.

Buyer have to pay the fees to workshop to do the wheel swapping. Really a steal at this price.

Please PM if keen. Any offer will be considered. < 10 days to deal.

Finally completed the change-over last Saturday. Was promised to be able to collect new ride about 10 days after successful bidding, ended up still take about 20 days with open cat COE. But I can see my SE working really hard as his team struggle to prepare and deliver new cars everyday. I did not know the sales in any PI could be so good now. A few corners were cut such as no/little polishing but only cleaning of car which is a not a norm with ADs I experienced. Another grouse is that the SE can arrange to fix everything for you, but always giving the expensive options. You know why lah. But this is PI, so just close 1 eye.

But really sad to let the beloved Biante that has served my family well the past 3 years 4month go. It has given trouble-free motoring experience so far, having taken it up north for 3 long trips and is still in excellent condition now. Alas in the name of progress.

post-101253-0-86944000-1500943136_thumb.jpg

post-101253-0-14975600-1500943154_thumb.jpg

Finally completed the change-over last Saturday. Was promised to be able to collect new ride about 10 days after successful bidding, ended up still take about 20 days with open cat COE. But I can see my SE working really hard as his team struggle to prepare and deliver new cars everyday. I did not know the sales in any PI could be so good now. A few corners were cut such as no/little polishing but only cleaning of car which is a not a norm with ADs I experienced. Another grouse is that the SE can arrange to fix everything for you, but always giving the expensive options. You know why lah. But this is PI, so just close 1 eye.

But really sad to let the beloved Biante that has served my family well the past 3 years 4month go. It has given trouble-free motoring experience so far, having taken it up north for 3 long trips and is still in excellent condition now. Alas in the name of progress.

wah, upgrade to Alphard... Congrats!

Just curious, how much did you pay for it? And is it a 7 or 8 seater?

Is it much more spacious than the Biante? And how does the FC compare - pls update when you have tried it out.

Finally, which PI did you get it from?

I was looking at MPVs, but decided to renew COE instead. Let's see if we'll change our mind in future...

wah, upgrade to Alphard... Congrats!

Just curious, how much did you pay for it? And is it a 7 or 8 seater?

Is it much more spacious than the Biante? And how does the FC compare - pls update when you have tried it out.

Finally, which PI did you get it from?

I was looking at MPVs, but decided to renew COE instead. Let's see if we'll change our mind in future...

Thanks. Is a Vellfire actually.

I paid close to $170k, Z variant 7-seater.

Definitely much mores spacious than Biante. When you push the last row all the way back, and the second row to the front with nice legroom, there is still huge space between the 2 rows for a few kids to sit down. And much much more versatile.

But FC terrible. After refuelling, the FC is now at about 8km/L as too many short trips within a 10km radius from home. I believe 9 to 10 km/L is achievable if consist of more highway run.

I got from Prime in Ubi. Do not be intimidated by the official price listed on sgcarmart. The actualy price easily few ks off, even lower if you are good in bargaining haha.

There is no mistake in getting this if you need a big and comfortable car. Everything works logically and very good materials used throughout. There is a Vellfire park in Prime showroom but customers to touch touch see see. The sales staff there not pushy unlike other PI shops around. Really feel like a AD showroom. And Prime is a very very safe choice with strong business in fleet sector, so not likely to run road with your money.

Definitely much mores spacious than Biante. When you push the last row all the way back, and the second row to the front with nice legroom, there is still huge space between the 2 rows for a few kids to sit down. And much much more versatile.

But FC terrible. After refuelling, the FC is now at about 8km/L as too many short trips within a 10km radius from home. I believe 9 to 10 km/L is achievable if consist of more highway run.

I got from Prime in Ubi. Do not be intimidated by the official price listed on sgcarmart. The actualy price easily few ks off, even lower if you are good in bargaining haha.

There is no mistake in getting this if you need a big and comfortable car. Everything works logically and very good materials used throughout. There is a Vellfire park in Prime showroom but customers to touch touch see see. The sales staff there not pushy unlike other PI shops around. Really feel like a AD showroom. And Prime is a very very safe choice with strong business in fleet sector, so not likely to run road with your money.

nice ....3.5V6?

what's the omv?

i guess you probably lost more than >50% of your Biante purchase price

:o  [dizzy]

nice ....3.5V6?

what's the omv?

i guess you probably lost more than >50% of your Biante purchase price

:o  [dizzy]

No lah only 2.5L. Where got so much money to buy 3.5L? But seriously the engine is more than enough for this ride.

OMV about 38k.

Lost just under 50% of purchase price with 3 years 3month! :TT_TT: I try to look ahead.

Oh, sorry... my impression of vellfire is still stuck in the last version... Also should have remembered that Alphard is that Transformer Mouth design so this cannot be Alphard...

7 seater cannot squeeze too many people when the occasion requires, but is v luxurious. Too bad as the driver, you're not likely gonna ever benefit from it  [smash]

$170k. Not too bad i'll say. How much is the BM Previa and Alphard? Your deal should be  [thumbsup]  c.f. to them.

Aiyah, 8 km/l is ok for such a big car. My Tucson was for a while hovering at 8.5 km/l (prob cos had left it idling when trying to configure radio, camera, etc.). Now with a light foot, and 2 mth on, is barely hitting 9 km/l. If always start-stop traffic, really can't do anything about it.

I went into Prime before. Not too bad. If ever i really explore getting PI cars, will definitely try them again.

Can the 3rd row seat be moved further in front or back, just like the Biante? I cannot think of many MPVs that can do that. Also, are the seats folding into the floor, or onto the two walls? And are they 50:50 or 60:40?

Oh, took a big hit for the Biante hor? Jialat... new car the price Mazda hold up so firm, but used car kanna chopped by dealers... Really tough to change cars regularly...

Oh, sorry... my impression of vellfire is still stuck in the last version... Also should have remembered that Alphard is that Transformer Mouth design so this cannot be Alphard...

Now Alphard and Vellfire differ only by the front and back design, as well as interior colour where Alphard is beige and Vellfire is black. Everything inside is the same.

7 seater cannot squeeze too many people when the occasion requires, but is v luxurious. Too bad as the driver, you're not likely gonna ever benefit from it  [smash]

As my wife is driving most of the time, I could still enjoy lah. But I find us jostling to be the driver nowadays due to the excellent driving experience. The car drives well despite its size. The sound staging for this Vellfire is really great, much better than any other cars owned before. Just used back previous Focus speakers and top-up for Pioneer 8850 head unit. Not even considering doing sound-proofing on the doors although wanted to before collecting the car. Really a great surprise.

$170k. Not too bad i'll say. How much is the BM Previa and Alphard? Your deal should be  [thumbsup]  c.f. to them.

Actually Previa cost lower than this Vellfire at $16xk, even for now, but might as well stay put as Biante is actually bigger than both Previa/Estima/Ody internally although slightly smaller externally. I would agree that I got a good deal.

Aiyah, 8 km/l is ok for such a big car. My Tucson was for a while hovering at 8.5 km/l (prob cos had left it idling when trying to configure radio, camera, etc.). Now with a light foot, and 2 mth on, is barely hitting 9 km/l. If always start-stop traffic, really can't do anything about it.

Mentally prepared already. Not really surprised haha.

I went into Prime before. Not too bad. If ever i really explore getting PI cars, will definitely try them again.

Looking around, Prime is almost the most stable PI, aka the one that most likely will not run road within short term. They are very strong in fleet business, owning a fleet of taxi, and doing very well as fuel reseller. Just that not easy to squeeze freebies similar to Toyota and Honda sales people.

Can the 3rd row seat be moved further in front or back, just like the Biante? I cannot think of many MPVs that can do that. Also, are the seats folding into the floor, or onto the two walls? And are they 50:50 or 60:40?

Yes the 3rd row can move to-and-fro like Biante, and be folded up 50:50 to create a huge loading space. with 3rd row folded up and 2nd row pushed to the front, should have space to put mountain bikes in the car as it is.

Oh, took a big hit for the Biante hor? Jialat... new car the price Mazda hold up so firm, but used car kanna chopped by dealers... Really tough to change cars regularly...

This one try to forget about it haha.

I am still impressed by this new ride, very intelligent. There is this auto parking mode whereby if turned on, the driver will not need to manually press the parking brake button to engage or disengage parking mode, all done automatically by whether the gear is in P or D mode and whether the driver presses the accelerator. And there is this HOLD function that if selected, the car will engage foot brake automatically when the car is in complete stop. The driver can lift his right foot to relax. To move off, just press on the accelerator pedal.

And the car is really quiet for a ride of this size, so quiet that the visor noise is very audible when the ride is at about 80km/hr. Too bad we are sucker for visors.

I must be really suaku, but really impressed with what a jap ride can provide. Hope it can be reliable haha.

Edited by Heartlander

I am still impressed by this new ride, very intelligent. There is this auto parking mode whereby if turned on, the driver will not need to manually press the parking brake button to engage or disengage parking mode, all done automatically by whether the gear is in P or D mode and whether the driver presses the accelerator. And there is this HOLD function that if selected, the car will engage foot brake automatically when the car is in complete stop. The driver can lift his right foot to relax. To move off, just press on the accelerator pedal.

And the car is really quiet for a ride of this size, so quiet that the visor noise is very audible when the ride is at about 80km/hr. Too bad we are sucker for visors.

I must be really suaku, but really impressed with what a jap ride can provide. Hope it can be reliable haha.

I just saw a Vellfire during lunch, then remember i haven't replied you - paiseh...

Oh, So the interior of Vellfire and Alphard have different colours, and they are fixed? That's quite rigid leh.

You are very fortunate that your wife will drive and let you enjoy being chauffeured. My wife si bey stressed if she drives with me around, so it rarely happens.

Wah, Previa is only slightly cheaper than Vellfire? Then makes perfect sense to choose this instead - unless height is a often-encountered problem. Biante and all the boxy MPVs, are definitely more spacious than Previa/Estima/Ody, simply because of the additional headspace. This allows the passengers to 'walk' more upright inside the car, and also allow the seats to be more upright, thereby reducing the need for extra legroom which is necessary for those very slanted seats.

I'm curious how the 3rd row seats slide front/back, when they actually fold up... Can't visualise how the mechanism works. One day I should visit the showroom and satisfy my curiosity about this.

Auto parking mode: this is new to me. Sounds useful.

As for the Hold function, i think maybe it's now more commonplace. I have it in the Tucson which I collected 3 mth ago. It's very useful when stopping on the slope to NEX carpark, for example. 

Oh, is the car tall and difficult to get into, when getting into the 2nd row? 

For me it is not difficult to get into 3rd row. Getting into 2nd row need to pull yourself up abit using the handle bars in the car due to height of seats.

I think nothing beats doing it yourself to try it out. There is still a Alphard in Prime showroom in Ubi Automart for checking out. The staff will approach you when you enter, but not pushy. And would let you do that quietly if you tell them so. The whole showroom is big with many cars for checking. That is how I was hooked.

This is unlike all other showrooms around where their staff would aggressively shout you out when you pass by to enter their showrooms and what car you looking.

For me it is not difficult to get into 3rd row. Getting into 2nd row need to pull yourself up abit using the handle bars in the car due to height of seats.

I think nothing beats doing it yourself to try it out. There is still a Alphard in Prime showroom in Ubi Automart for checking out. The staff will approach you when you enter, but not pushy. And would let you do that quietly if you tell them so. The whole showroom is big with many cars for checking. That is how I was hooked.

This is unlike all other showrooms around where their staff would aggressively shout you out when you pass by to enter their showrooms and what car you looking.

ha ha ok, will see when i got nothing to do on weekends will consider go again. But wife confirmed will say not definitely buying, go for what...

Reason i asked is because if we continue to need MPV - and I'm hoping this will continue long time - it will mean we need to ferry my parents now and then. 

At 83, My father is still quite mobile. But my mother had knee replacement ops in the last 2 yrs, and she isn't tall and can't take high steps. When we went to Gold Coast before her op, and when we rented a Hyundai iMax (Starex), she couldn't get onto the car (2nd row) as the car was too tall. Lucky we anticipated this and brought one of those Ikea stepping stool along with us, and let her step on it to get up/down the car.

I think when i was checking out the MPVs, Ody and Elgrand had lower floors for 2nd row, and might be easier for elderly to get up onto the car. The rest all not v easy for elderly.

Am not worried about 3rd row, as if ever they are needed, it will be the kids to go in. And they are much more flexible than the adults and elderly.

ha ha ok, will see when i got nothing to do on weekends will consider go again. But wife confirmed will say not definitely buying, go for what...

Reason i asked is because if we continue to need MPV - and I'm hoping this will continue long time - it will mean we need to ferry my parents now and then. 

At 83, My father is still quite mobile. But my mother had knee replacement ops in the last 2 yrs, and she isn't tall and can't take high steps. When we went to Gold Coast before her op, and when we rented a Hyundai iMax (Starex), she couldn't get onto the car (2nd row) as the car was too tall. Lucky we anticipated this and brought one of those Ikea stepping stool along with us, and let her step on it to get up/down the car.

I think when i was checking out the MPVs, Ody and Elgrand had lower floors for 2nd row, and might be easier for elderly to get up onto the car. The rest all not v easy for elderly.

Am not worried about 3rd row, as if ever they are needed, it will be the kids to go in. And they are much more flexible than the adults and elderly.

For your needs, think the stool would definitely be needed. The seats for Alphard/Vellfire is definitely not at hip level, unless for people who are very tall. Sure need to pull yourself up abit to get into the seats. Good thing there are 2 handle bars at each side to help.

But overall the seats are very big and firm, abit bucket-like so can hold the body very well. Very comfortable for longer trips up North.

Hi all,

I just joined the Sg Mazda Biante FB group, and would like to ask if anyone knows any current owner looking to let go their Biante?

I'm thinking of getting this to ferry my elderly family members, and hope some bros/sis can share your experience with this car (hits and misses) on family usage..

Thanks a lot for your kind advice! ^_^

Just bought mine 2nd hand.

Scrapped my Presage today.

I start off with the gripes first:

1. Unlike the presage that could open only the glass hatch portion without opening the boot, Biante has to open entire boot. Which means, u do not back up all the way if u got stuff to unload.

2. Middle roll can only be centered with small spaces at each side for passenger to get to 3rd roll. Best is to push the two seats - one to extreme left and the other to extreme right, so that people could enter from middle. The Nissan could push the full seat to one side.

3. Lack of storage. Where are the cubby holes? Even dabao MacD can be an issue cause no drinks holder. But easily solved with the purchase of the front center console.

4. No auto turn on for headlight. Yes, I am a lazy bugger.

PLUS POINTS

1. Last row can adjust front and back and also recline angle.

2. Paddle Shifters and integrated steering wheel.

3. Good height. For me, my kids cant zee Xiao the aircon vents (hooray!)

4. Twin powered doors.

5. I like blue films.. I mean blue dashboard. Blue is my fav colour.

7. Reasonable good FC.

Hope u find a good buy. New or used.

Hi all,

I just joined the Sg Mazda Biante FB group, and would like to ask if anyone knows any current owner looking to let go their Biante?

I'm thinking of getting this to ferry my elderly family members, and hope some bros/sis can share your experience with this car (hits and misses) on family usage..

Cant find such a group on FB.

Hi all,

Edited by Achtung