Confirm??? Double Confirm??

I must say...SGeans are real clowns and relly dunno their history. Good prog though, where I learnt quite a few things abt our country....

What is your take? How many of you know SG's history and interesting facts??

I must say...SGeans are real clowns and relly dunno their history. Good prog though, where I learnt quite a few things abt our country....

Confirm?

Confirm?

double confirm....u watch the show dah then u see...some of the answers....jialat [:p][:p]

Dun be so mean - a LOT of people don't know their own nation's history - doesn't only apply to Singapore.

Ive already heard history abt SG.

Now I am waiting to hear herstory for a balanced opinion. [laugh]

Edited by Pisces69

Both my son and I like the show too.. Must admit, I have lots to learn from the show.

U 1 of the FTs waiting fr yr PR or citizenship issit? [laugh]

They never study history, only geography. so the facts they ans, all wrong.

double confirm. haha

Whether study history or not though it is a bit of a shame on you if you don't know the basic facts of your country. This should be part of your "general knowledge".

The broad strokes of your own country history shouldn't be considered specialised knowledge that you have to study for.

For myself, I NEVER studied history, but I can still tell you the significant parts of my history. I can also tell you quite a lot about SG history, and the only time it was ever mentioned when I was at secondary school was about 10 minutes of one lesson on WW2 (maybe)

Ive already heard history abt SG.

Now I am waiting to hear herstory for a balanced opinion. [laugh]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Whether study history or not though it is a bit of a shame on you if you don't know the basic facts of your country. This should be part of your "general knowledge".

The broad strokes of your own country history shouldn't be considered specialised knowledge that you have to study for.

For myself, I NEVER studied history, but I can still tell you the significant parts of my history. I can also tell you quite a lot about SG history, and the only time it was ever mentioned when I was at secondary school was about 10 minutes of one lesson on WW2 (maybe)

OK smarty guy. How did Singapore get its name? [rolleyes]

Easy lor....when Raffles arrived he found the place very stinky and very poor. So he would walk around saying stink poor...

But the chinese coolies, not being very good with the england thought he was saying Singapore. So that's what they call the place to honour the fact that it has now been transformed from a swampy fishing village to a first would, cultured and prosperous nation. [:p][laugh]

regarding SG history, wat i felt was manipulated was that they left out the entire historical timeline of SG from 1960-1970 in our primary school textbooks.

I grew up not knowing the political turmoil which occurred in 1963-1966. Y did our garmen leave this important events out? r they trying to brainwash us from understanding wat happened? If current generation dont understand & learn from those lessons, its likely the same problem may occur again.

Edited by Duckduck

Easy lor....when Raffles arrived he found the place very stinky and very poor. So he would walk around saying stink poor...

But the chinese coolies, not being very good with the england thought he was saying Singapore. So that's what they call the place to honour the fact that it has now been transformed from a swampy fishing village to a first would, cultured and prosperous nation. [:p][laugh]

acherlee it was Sang Nla Utama.....true story is this

Sang Nila: Eh Singa Singa (on seeing a lion)indian coolie: Poora Poora ( bluff bluff)

So there [laugh][laugh][laugh]

think i give this answer they cal IMH or i drink kopi

eh..u anoder one...come join me at IMH [laugh][laugh][laugh]

In seriousness, I am not exactly sure.

I know that it is a very historic name that comes from a combination of words in Malay? and has a strong component of legend / myth about it with creatures and I think has something to do with the merlion?

I also know that Singapore's history goes back a loooooong way before Raffles, with straits chinese, and even before that.

I also seem to recall something about a stone / rock of legend and it being moved lost? And that being part of the formation of Singapore's name.

Must wait a bit lah....he needs to GOOGLE 1st [laugh]

I not googling - am answering from memory - although that part I not very sure.

But then let me ask you back, in the interests of fairness...

How did New Zealand get its name, what is the Maori name for the South Island what was the original name for Banks Peninsula?