Raymondism Twincharged October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 they still there :o I remember that shop as I live across the block 40 years ago. how to live across the block? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 In olden days.... people drink copi by adding butter into copi O...it suppose to make the copi taste even better... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 how to live across the block? I was wondering myself after i type across the road opposite block, can? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 I was wondering myself after i type across the road opposite block, can? can.. LOL i thot u that LONG! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 different type of coffee and I don't think you can classify it as ''junk''....I do take gourmet coffee but traditional coffee is also part of our culture and never go away... please lah. why are you confusing the issue? This is not about anyone trying to denigrate or take away your traditional way of life here. The point here is simply factual. "traditional" coffee or "gourmet" coffee whatever all comes down to coffee blends. That is, what the hell they put inside the roasting drum before you get your coffee beans or in another case, coffee powder. What hamburger says is in fact true, you know. That 偷工减料 is a very prevalent practice. If you say nay, how sure are you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 Thanks for understanding for what I am trying to put forth... And not undermining the people who still prefers tradition kopi... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 please lah. why are you confusing the issue? This is not about anyone trying to denigrate or take away your traditional way of life here. The point here is simply factual. "traditional" coffee or "gourmet" coffee whatever all comes down to coffee blends. That is, what the hell they put inside the roasting drum before you get your coffee beans or in another case, coffee powder. What hamburger says is in fact true, you know. That 偷工减料 is a very prevalent practice. If you say nay, how sure are you? That not the point.... rhe point is that he labeled it as junk.... cmon, adding corn and butter is not even a hiding practice... dont like it fine but dont call it junk. get it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sga54g 1st Gear October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 Kopi-O, Kopi-O, 喝一杯浓浓的Kopi-O! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 Btw, "kopi thiam's bean" is 50% cheaper than real kopi bean. at least.... Err.....robusta and arabica or even liberica are all real coffee beans, only the characteristics that are different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 (edited) please lah. why are you confusing the issue? This is not about anyone trying to denigrate or take away your traditional way of life here. The point here is simply factual. "traditional" coffee or "gourmet" coffee whatever all comes down to coffee blends. That is, what the hell they put inside the roasting drum before you get your coffee beans or in another case, coffee powder. What hamburger says is in fact true, you know. That 偷工减料 is a very prevalent practice. If you say nay, how sure are you? I simply quote what was stated in the post...the word "junk" was used...no?......I simply feel it shouldn't be classified as junk...because the coffee had been prepared that way for a long time.... Edited October 27, 2012 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 We are only using the seed of the berries for the brew, if I remember correctly, the ancient ethopians or the people from eastern parts africa were using animal fats and the pulp of the berries to make into balls or cakes as source of energy giving food in long trips. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 I simply quote what was stated in the post...the word "junk" was used...no?......I simply feel it shouldn't be classified as junk...because the coffee had been prepared that way for a long time.... EXACTLY my sentiment... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 I think calling the coffee as junk or s--t because different methods were used during the brewing process, roasting process, methods of harvesting, picking, cultivation shows how much ones know about the beverage. Just because Italian were the ones to use high water pressure for the coffee extraction doesn't mean it is the best coffee. It's more expensive because of the beans use, the equipment, the barista, the location, the demitasse etc. We have to take into consideration that in order for the beverage to be enjoyed by people in the early 19th century in the part of the world, the cost has to be affordable to them. The core benefits of the coffee is to keep workers awake and more refreshed. Incidentally, robusta beans are larger, cheaper because of the robust nature of the bush, making it easier to be planted in open plains which is more accessible for farmers to tend and care the crops, ease of access also mean cheaper cost for harvesting compare to those in the mountainous slope. Robusta beans has more caffeine compare the arabica beans, thus in terms of keeping people awake, it has more efficacy, yet cheaper, thus, a more favoured beans in this region. There are also many growing countries of the robusta beans within this region. Even espresso will have a percentage of the robusta beans to ensure there is sufficient body to the espresso. The percentage or proportion are usually a closely guarded secret to the roasters. But the general % is 80% arabica & 20% robusta. Arabica has a more complex aroma but usually lighter body and usually more acidic(fruity), thus the combination of the robusta which has a fuller body provide the overall characteristics of espresso coffee. It's is usually the brewing method that cause the characteristics of the coffee. Local coffee shops likes to use boiling water to boil the coffee which will remove quite a lot of acidity from the brew, thus enable the brew to be kept longer without the oxidised taste. But boiled water usually has the taste of the kettle or taste of iron pot, the only coffee characteristics which remain is the straight boiled water taste with the distinctive coffee aroma (less complex than arabica brew) I think it's the poor understanding of the culture, the origins and the norms of a certain region that cause the differences. Similarly, imagine that the best bluefin tuna sashimi is cooked in steamboat, because someone do not really know how to appreciate the way people have been enjoying the food for centuries, saying how one could eat the fish raw and it taste like s--t. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antonee 6th Gear October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 Kopi-O, Kopi-O, 喝一杯浓浓的Kopi-O! Can try suntec ya kun "s kopi o.. Request for kopi - o gao, i sure u like it as much as i do! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 coffee drink too much can get gall stones. pee pee got blood/need operation. Bro this is miss-guiding. 1 or 2 cups of black coffee without sugar/milk is good of the heart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 I still prefer those kopitiam kopi than those atas starbucks or whatever shxt Kopitiam kopi still have the best aroma esp those old shops along jalan besar Anyway the many times overpriced coffee are places like starbucks, coffee bean and other similar establishments. They are charging the rental of time and seat in the cafe. Best real kopi-O are from certain kopitiams. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 I like both coffee and tea. But recently I've been drinking more tea than office, largely due to the influence of friends who have been constantly holding tea brewing sessions for us, as well as the 500 Euros worth of French lapasong tea which I purchased from my last trip in Paris....... people go to Paris to buy LV and Hermes but I buy tea!!!!! LOL! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 One problem with coffee is that it will increase heart rate etc and Blood Pressure so you have to balance the need to prevent dementia with possibilities of bringing on heart problems. At the moment prevention is top of my list because I spend 5 days a week at the gym doing cardio vascular stuff. Yup, I have heart palpitation whenever I drink kopi. But, I just can't seem to kick the habit. I still cannot find my alternative breakfast drink in lieu of kopi. I will avoid kopi when there's an important event, e.g. test, exams, interviews, etc. as I find I will normally fumble if I drink kopi (probably due to too fast heartbeat ). Contrary to popular belief that kopi will keep you awake, it's the reverse for me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...