Hamburger Hypersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 Junk as in a combination of kopi beans and other stuffs. Not in terms of health sense. To me kopi should be all beans and nothing else. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 Anyone have a good place to buy local coffee powder? I like to make it at home but so far...can't find a good supply for coffee powder....I was think Malaysia, Indonesia coffee powder can get in market and etc but the taste is not up my preferrence....any recommendation? I saw a shop selling at Pek Kio market/hawker centre. Follow your nose when you're there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 I saw a shop selling at Pek Kio market/hawker centre. Follow your nose when you're there. Spot on. 2 stores in fact. That's where I get my supply. They have both kind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 Junk as in a combination of kopi beans and other stuffs. Not in terms of health sense. To me kopi should be all beans and nothing else. why must kopi be defined in the way you described? anyway I think it is not necessarily true that they roast it with corn, margarine and sugar as a cost saving act. It could be that they genuinely did it that way for the taste. if you ask me what sort of kopi is junk, I would say the 3-in-1 would be more so than the traditional local kopi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 why must kopi be defined in the way you described? anyway I think it is not necessarily true that they roast it with corn, margarine and sugar as a cost saving act. It could be that they genuinely did it that way for the taste. if you ask me what sort of kopi is junk, I would say the 3-in-1 would be more so than the traditional local kopi. To each his own... Why roast this way? It's all about cost. Not I say one, my kopi seller said so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 Btw, "kopi thiam's bean" is 50% cheaper than real kopi bean. at least.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 tea any day. coffee got aftertaste. but im a bit sensitive to caffeine. drink can't sleep and also heart palpitate a bit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antonee 6th Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 (edited) I still prefer those kopitiam kopi than those atas starbucks or whatever shxt Kopitiam kopi still have the best aroma esp those old shops along jalan besar Edited October 24, 2012 by Antonee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 local coffee are junk actually. its 50% bean and the other half corn and fried with sugar and margarine. Take 100% robusta and arabica. less than 30 buck/kg oh oh .... how much margarine will one get in one cup of coffee in a kopi-tiam.....heard on radio trans fat is considered industrial additive (thus highly bad for human consumption). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 how come this thread like becoming Apple vs Android thread ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 stirling road i think one of the blocks has a shop selling coffee powder pipit road blk 89 hawker ctr has a stall selling as well... its facing those foodstalls The one at stirling road is known as Fresh Cafe at the bottom of HDB, I presume we are referring to the same one. Yes, they roast their own kopi jee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 In the early days, kopi are roasted pure without any additional stuff. Then came the criss, where everyone wants to keep cost down, then they add in corn, which ranges from 20% to 30%. Heng, I roast all my kopi jee, now too spolit for choice already. If I run out of beans overseas, I would rather have tea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 (edited) The one at stirling road is known as Fresh Cafe at the bottom of HDB, I presume we are referring to the same one. Yes, they roast their own kopi jee. they still there :o I remember that shop as I live across the block 40 years ago. Edited October 24, 2012 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 they still there :o I remember that shop as I live across the block 40 years ago. Yup, now the son take over, father focus on roasting. If u happen to be there, try their aged Toraja. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 Some low grade coffee powder are mixed with corn powder. It makes lower pure coffee percentage per volume/weight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear October 24, 2012 Share October 24, 2012 In the early days, kopi are roasted pure without any additional stuff. Then came the criss, where everyone wants to keep cost down, then they add in corn, which ranges from 20% to 30%. Heng, I roast all my kopi jee, now too spolit for choice already. If I run out of beans overseas, I would rather have tea. Oops .. Mentioned leow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged October 25, 2012 Share October 25, 2012 stirling road i think one of the blocks has a shop selling coffee powder pipit road blk 89 hawker ctr has a stall selling as well... its facing those foodstalls for those who likes old styled kopi got a 50-year-old kopi powder shop along upper paya lebar road for an old kopitiam which serves nice kopi, there's one at north bridge road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged October 27, 2012 Share October 27, 2012 The one at stirling road is known as Fresh Cafe at the bottom of HDB, I presume we are referring to the same one. Yes, they roast their own kopi jee. anyway its at blk 170 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...