Yeshe Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 i was in Toa payoh doing some shopping. Then i saw not 1, but 2 old aunties at 2 different location collecting cardboards. i was wondering, if PAP were doing their walkabouts during that time, wat will WKS say to the old lady and wat will be her replies ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twnll 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 i was in Toa payoh doing some shopping. Then i saw not 1, but 2 old aunties at 2 different location collecting cardboards. i was wondering, if PAP were doing their walkabouts during that time, wat will WKS say to the old lady and wat will be her replies Not gonna happen, they will be 'ushered' away for kopi, out of sight, out of mind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamtaroo Neutral Newbie April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 been living in toa payoh for 30yrs got a lot of old, poor, desititute ppl ... i remember one old lady squat infront of the cake shop beside which is the snip avenue and ntuc. the cake shop worker then take 2pieces of cake to treat the old lady. dun know why the pap so heartless, force so many old ppl to clear plates even when they are so old. pap force by delaying CPF payout, ever higher housing costs which they may still be paying, some heartless sinkaporeans even say at least they got jobs .... how much will it cost to give them meals and take care of them, they contributed to sinkapore also ? and PAPAYA rewarding yourself with 8mth bonus, these is how PAPAYA will take care of low income ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Author Share April 30, 2011 been living in toa payoh for 30yrs got a lot of old, poor, desititute ppl ... i remember one old lady squat infront of the cake shop beside which is the snip avenue and ntuc. the cake shop worker then take 2pieces of cake to treat the old lady. dun know why the pap so heartless, force so many old ppl to clear plates even when they are so old. pap force by delaying CPF payout, ever higher housing costs which they may still be paying, some heartless sinkaporeans even say at least they got jobs .... how much will it cost to give them meals and take care of them, they contributed to sinkapore also ? and PAPAYA rewarding yourself with 8mth bonus, these is how PAPAYA will take care of low income ? yes i think i saw the same old lady, just outside the cake shop, squatting there with her cardboards Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 yes i think i saw the same old lady, just outside the cake shop, squatting there with her cardboards Maybe she will be blamed for not seeking help ... if you dont seek how to help? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 yes i think i saw the same old lady, just outside the cake shop, squatting there with her cardboards Not just Toa Payoh, Ang Mo Kio itself also has a lot of old people struggling. People always say old people work cos they feel bored but non of the old folks I spoke to casually want to work if they have enough money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Not just Toa Payoh, Ang Mo Kio itself also has a lot of old people struggling. People always say old people work cos they feel bored but non of the old folks I spoke to casually want to work if they have enough money. I agree, I spoke to a few before too whom I know at my area's mac, the auntie say ki siao, who wanna work at this old age, rather enjoy the remainning years of life... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Maybe she will be blamed for not seeking help ... if you dont seek how to help? bro, it seems that u have neber tried asking them for help! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 bro, it seems that u have neber tried asking them for help! If you're an MP there for 5 years, don't tell me you never run into those old folks, they're in the same place all the time for years. Rather than waiting for them to seek help, an MP should have the mentality of helping those in need. Just like a doctor will save any person with a medical condition irregardless if he/she is off duty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 i was in Toa payoh doing some shopping. Then i saw not 1, but 2 old aunties at 2 different location collecting cardboards. i was wondering, if PAP were doing their walkabouts during that time, wat will WKS say to the old lady and wat will be her replies Mas Selamat . . . Mas Selamat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 (edited) If you're an MP there for 5 years, don't tell me you never run into those old folks, they're in the same place all the time for years. Rather than waiting for them to seek help, an MP should have the mentality of helping those in need. Just like a doctor will save any person with a medical condition irregardless if he/she is off duty. if i mp ar! i think i sleep during the day, play jio tai ti during the meet the mp session and think deep deep where can i finish my last yr january pay and allowance. but thats just me hor! like tat sure will not see pple begging and old pple struggling just to feed themselves! Edited April 30, 2011 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Singapore residents, stop thinking just for yourselves and think for the great good and democracy of Singapore. I read in Forum someone saying compare HG and Aljunied and the sad state HG is in. She should asked herself WHY ? Who controls the tap ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 tampines also. one lady and another guy at my blk wil always b scavenging at the central dump every morning when i leave for work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 tampines also. one lady and another guy at my blk wil always b scavenging at the central dump every morning when i leave for work. Every country has them so we are not alone. But it is not expensive to feed them and give them shelter as these people need only 3 meals a day and a bed. Its their fear of creating more poor people if the help becomes too good and cushy. But SGeans are NOT like that. We have Middle Finger one (translate to Chinese and its a very dignified one). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 1, 2011 Share May 1, 2011 i personally know of a family of siblings who stay in a condo, a semi-d and a masionette and are owners of companies. however the father of the siblings stays in a 3 room flat cluttered with alot of "rubbish" - he collected from the streets and a dog. The father once ran his own metal processing company too. i ever viisted the father with one of the siblings and they are not on friendly terms. Its not that they abandon the father as they occasional bring him out for meals. its just because the father and his children have a difference in personalities so they all do not stay together. so you dun really know if those "scavengers" that you see on the streets are really scavengers or its just their"hobby". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged May 1, 2011 Author Share May 1, 2011 i personally know of a family of siblings who stay in a condo, a semi-d and a masionette and are owners of companies. however the father of the siblings stays in a 3 room flat cluttered with alot of "rubbish" - he collected from the streets and a dog. The father once ran his own metal processing company too. i ever viisted the father with one of the siblings and they are not on friendly terms. Its not that they abandon the father as they occasional bring him out for meals. its just because the father and his children have a difference in personalities so they all do not stay together. so you dun really know if those "scavengers" that you see on the streets are really scavengers or its just their"hobby". LOL scavenging as hobby.. tats new to me. perhaps WKS will ask that old lady, " today got any limited edition catches? " [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 1, 2011 Share May 1, 2011 this is sort-of old people sickness ... all that they have are memories of the past ... esp when their children do not stay with them and they feel all alone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 1, 2011 Share May 1, 2011 been living in toa payoh for 30yrs got a lot of old, poor, desititute ppl ... i remember one old lady squat infront of the cake shop beside which is the snip avenue and ntuc. the cake shop worker then take 2pieces of cake to treat the old lady. dun know why the pap so heartless, force so many old ppl to clear plates even when they are so old. pap force by delaying CPF payout, ever higher housing costs which they may still be paying, some heartless sinkaporeans even say at least they got jobs .... how much will it cost to give them meals and take care of them, they contributed to sinkapore also ? and PAPAYA rewarding yourself with 8mth bonus, these is how PAPAYA will take care of low income ? P8P is only interested in courting big multi-nationals. We r mostly forgotten except when coming elections where ty need our votes to continue earning their multi-million dollar salaries. Once elections r over, its back to biz fr them. Making $ is their main concern. I just hope ty dont make too much $ fr themselves n remember to leave some $ fr us poor folks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...