Lsflsf 1st Gear August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 i have a picanto which seems to run on a very low fc, hope to get some advise on what i can do. Picanto auto 2009 Average fc 10.5km/l Usual load 2 person 60% highway, 40% urban No jam usual travel Rev from stop not above 2.5 Seldom rev past 3 2 amps with 12 inch woffer ice installed Installed a diy power stabaliser from a forumer here 15inch rim with normal tyres Some led installed Car spare tire already removed and weight in car is reduced to minimal Using ron95 esso Car have bad low end but once hit 3rd gear drivbility increased by a lot. On sj-cai with heat shield from whitesnail Went to c&c about the poor fc they say oversized rims Did a flywheel check, engine compression, sparks plug check and find it to be perfect. Using knn blue ice air filter Using very compatible sparks plug for the car Technician say dunno what else can cause such poor fc. Car quite silent with little vibration when engine is on. Previous owner did-- fuel line cut (already replaced with good line) Vaccum line cut (already replaced with good line) Decat (already replaced with original cat) Operated exhaust (already replaced with stock exos) Can anyone help by telling me what else can i do? I envy those normal pica that can easily hit 350-400km when mine have not even hit past 275 before when my 09 engine is suppose to be newer that those 08 ones. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 I am not a picanto owner, but maybe u can install those digital fuel consumpation gauge to observe. Who know maybe the ex owner come back to steal ur fuel. Haha...Let me know if there is really such cheapo. Reagrds rustyz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 Check Engine oil.... Alignment.... Under inflated tyres.... Driver..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 De-cat,use drop in K&N air filter for small CC car will make F/C goes up,but for a 1L car 10.5km/L is still too high,maybe you try using 98 petrol..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 Auto Pica not efficient. Ur rims also the culprit. A manual pica with 14 inch will easily give 15kml Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 (edited) With all these things done, perhaps tuning has been done to it. If you replace back the originals, another round of tuning is need. Ditched those 15 inch rims, they should be the main culprit. Normal picanto comes with 13 inch, by putting in 15 inch, it is already up by two sizes. 14 inch is the best compromise. Since it has a CAI, see how it is setup. I have seen picanto has a CAI setup in a way that the hose twist and turn and one part is as good as 180 degrees. To ensure, a good flow and good suction of air easily, the hose should be as straight as possible. Edited August 10, 2011 by Heartbreakid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loner911 Clutched August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 you might want to change back to the stock airbox with piping, put in a K&N drop in filter instead. I had a getz 1.1 last time. similar problems as you are facing, and found the culprit to be the filter box. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 (edited) Pump >230kPa into each tyre to inflate and reduce friction on road. If your overall tyre diameter is indeed bigger than the rest of the picantos, then really you have nothing to worry. The distance measure by your car is each revolution of the wheel, based on the original wheel circumference. When you upsize your tyres to larger circumference, it means each revolution of the wheel, you actual travel more distance than the original small wheels. So if you compare to other picanto you are in fact traveling more distance comparatively on the same tank of fuel. So your car efficiency calculation (distance divided by fuel volume) will natually shows lower value. Distance travelled as display in car meters for small wheels picanto might be 400km. Distance travelled by your 15"rims might show up as 350km on your car meter. If you know your overall tyres circumference is lager by 12%(you do the maths or tell us your tyre size), instaed 350km....you actually have travelled 350x1.12=392km. You must compare it this way.....I am sure your picanto FC is ok. Edited August 10, 2011 by SimonTan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mindbox33 1st Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 (edited) Normal fc range for a auto pica Edited August 10, 2011 by Mindbox33 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 I also own a 05 pica, just sold recently. Manual can achieve about 480-520++ on 14" rims. think your rim or give your trottle body some cleaning. previously was feeling a little sluggish until i clean it, helps alot improve my FC also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lsflsf 1st Gear August 10, 2011 Author Share August 10, 2011 Wow saw so much replies overnight thanks all for ur kind intention to help, just a few more infor to add on Engine oil already flushed and replaced with 5w 40 astro boy TWICE Tyre pressure 230 Previously stock airbox with normal stock pipping alsreay same fc wheel alignment is ok also i feel Already installed a digital guage to ensure my speed when cruaing is as constant as possible Never hit past 110km/h usual at pie 95km/h Where to clean trottle body? So it means the internal distance measurement on the dashboard is not accurate once changed rims? I have a frd picanto which i drove for few weeks, always reving above 3, on even bigger tyres than me 15 inch 195 but fc i can hit 350 sia 07 model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 (edited) Sometimes, doesn't rev above 3k rpm, doesn't do the engine good especially on our urban traffic because accumulation of carbon. Once a while, rev it up, wide throttle or drive on long distance highway for some time at a maintained 3k rpm above, carbon is cleared from the engine, the engine will feel much more responsive. Edited August 10, 2011 by Heartbreakid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lsflsf 1st Gear August 10, 2011 Author Share August 10, 2011 Sometimes, doesn't rev above 3k rpm, doesn't do the engine good especially on our urban traffic because accumulation of carbon. Once a while, rev it up, wide throttle or drive on long distance highway for some time at a maintained 3k rpm above, carbon is cleared from the engine, the engine will feel much more responsive. i rarely rev past that but i have once 3 months rev past 3 to clear carbon :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lsflsf 1st Gear August 10, 2011 Author Share August 10, 2011 Tyre is 195/45/r15 78v Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Club21z 4th Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 I see alot of mods on your pica that should make your ride qutie powerful. Anway driving <3k rev doesnt mean you will get good FC. In fact your should reach gear 4 in an ideal period. Rev when needed, like gaining speed to climb slope, overtake etc. Rev past 3 to clear carbon? Not enough lah, in normal driving i already rev to 4k for overtaking, but that is only a shortwhile. My auto pica worst is 350km full tank. How about checking your fuel filter? Just stating possiblility, though i have not changed it at all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cymagnus Clutched August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 (edited) Owned a 2006 auto Picanto before. I would think it's the tire & rim size. Was on stock sports 14 inch, after wear & tear, changed my tires from 165 to 175, and my fc dropped from 12km/l to 11km/l. Mods just hurricane drop in filter. Edited August 10, 2011 by Cymagnus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 Auto Pica not efficient. Ur rims also the culprit. A manual pica with 14 inch will easily give 15kml Mine on 14" Manual giving me average 17km/l....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 I tot u had problems with the forummer called picanto.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...