Identiti Neutral Newbie September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 (edited) Okay, I may sound like a b-stard here. Over the past 2 days I have been making calls to HDB hotline to report on the cars that are parked illegally in the roundabout at my neighbourhood. These repeat offenders have been parking on double yellow lines and loading bay like it's their own private carpark and finally my threshold for my tolerance has hit the limit because it was raining and I almost hit a black car parked on the double yellow line due to the poor visibility and I finally picked up my phone and start calling LTA hotline to report on these vehicles. Being my first time calling, I didn't know these were not under LTA's jurisdiction but HDB, so I was directed to call up on HDB to make my report. However, it was raining yesterday and despite my few phone calls (yes I called them a couple of times with about 2 hours interval) they still did not come and issue summons, so I thought "okay la raining, cut those enforcement some slack" and stopped calling since the rain doesn't seem to stop. Having nothing better to do today, I made the call today and they came after 30mins. I timed them and when the officer came, all he did was go one round and park somewhere, start to issue summons. But out of the 10 over vehicles that were parked long the double yellow line and in the loading bay, I only saw him standing beside a few cars, checking on his machine but at the end I only saw him issuing 2 summons which made my blood boil, so I called them up again to feedback on what I see. True enough, the officer went on to issue summons on all the cars which made me feel better. My question is: there is a myth about them earning commissions through these summons, is this true? if yes, then why is he so slipshod about issuing summons? And also, is there any way for me to feedback to HDB for these enforcement officers to come down more regularly? I have been seeing these vehicles parking on double yellow lines, obstructing the traffic within the roundabout for the past few years and I do admit I am one of them who have received summons a couple of years ago. Ever since then I have stopped doing this and went to park at the carpark unless I genuinely have heavy objects to unload, I'll unload it at the loading bay and let my passengers wait at my void deck with my stuffs while I park my car in the MSCP. A part of me thinks that I am f-cked up, and I will get karma for all these. But another part of me thinks that these bloody vehicle owners should serve themselves right for treating the roundabout as their private carpark just because it's near to their block and they don't have to spend a bloody 5 mins to walk to their vehicle at the MSCP. Want convenience? Be prepared to pay $100 everytime. For the bros who are facing the same problem as me, you can call up HDB at 1800-272-1409 and help these vehicle owners get their punishment. Edited September 15, 2011 by Identiti ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 no right or wrong just that want to park illegal at least park well , dont disturb others Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
R_aquarii 1st Gear September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 (edited) you can take a picture of the veh with number and mms to HDB also 98520397 dont bother sending email with picture. they will reply email after 2mths asking me to fill up a form. Edited September 15, 2011 by R_aquarii Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Identiti Neutral Newbie September 15, 2011 Author Share September 15, 2011 (edited) no right or wrong just that want to park illegal at least park well , dont disturb others best part is that, from what I've seen just now, some cars park on the right side of the roundabout, some on the left. Imagine if I have to drop my passengers off at my void deck, I'll have to steer left and right to siam these cars. Called up HDB, initially they say they will "advise" the vehicle owners to move their vehicles. So how are they going to "advise"? If they just "advise" them, why do I have to pay for season parking every month when I just need their "advice" to move my car away when they receive complains? you can take a picture of the veh with number and mms to HDB also 98520397 dont bother sending email with picture. they will reply email after 2mths asking me to fill up a form. Can I whatsapp them the picture instead? But I take picture wait the vehicle owner see me doing it, I kenna whack how? Edited September 15, 2011 by Identiti Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtay 1st Gear September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 And also, is there any way for me to feedback to HDB for these enforcement officers to come down more regularly? I have been seeing these vehicles parking on double yellow lines, obstructing the traffic within the roundabout for the past few years and I do admit I am one of them who have received summons a couple of years ago. Ever since then I have stopped doing this and went to park at the carpark unless I genuinely have heavy objects to unload, I'll unload it at the loading bay and let my passengers wait at my void deck with my stuffs while I park my car in the MSCP. I think you just need to call HDB every time you see an offender. Their SOP is that their officers have to go down to the site within 30min. So if you call and you don't see them within 30min, can call again and feedback that their officers not doing their job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 Bro i notice that as well, below my block also have loading bay, weekend many ppl park their car at loading bay and double yellow line, see before the warden only summon all the cars park along yellow line but the loading bay cars no summon. Den got one time, i kena summon at my block loading bay, i kpo go and see those park at handicap lot summon slip expecting to see a hefty fine, but to my surprise its the same fine as me. Hence i feel the commission base thingy is juz a myth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 I support such moves. Singapore drivers are like that, give them an inch and they will take a whole yard. Like ants they will gravitate to parking sweet spots. You should see at Punggol outside Sheng Siong, rampant!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apriliaracingteam Neutral Newbie September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 (edited) ppl can tahan the fine so be it. the world is not going to stop spinning because of you. your driving still so lousy meh. which driving centre you pass? you give undertable money to pass rite? my house here got an audi a6 who park at loading bay everynight and tio summon alot times but do you think he cares? he can afford it so no matter how many complains you made it will not bother him. only cheap fellow like you who are struggling to own a car is so calculative. instead of thinking how to sabo ppl why not think of how to earn more money and be like others. Edited September 15, 2011 by Apriliaracingteam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 (edited) its called cutting some slack. As u knw now there is a parking crunch. Like for my area after 10pm or so ppl have to park alsmost 10 minute walk away. Loading bay is always full after 10pm so is double yellow lines. Wanna enforce law also must include some compassion. So what they park at double yellow. If there have season parking cut them some slack. My area same. Summon aunties here only summon loading bay and double yellow lines only if they don't have season parking. maybe u dont reach home that late or u always find a spot. but spare a thought for those who dont. I am sure the residents around my area appreciate that they are doing that except for a few sour grapes. U almost hit a parked car in the rain blame it on ur driving skill, eyesight, and speed as well. Dont juz blame others. takes 2 hands to clap. Edited September 15, 2011 by Nf0rc3r Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Identiti Neutral Newbie September 15, 2011 Author Share September 15, 2011 (edited) ppl can tahan the fine so be it. the world is not going to stop spinning because of you. your driving still so lousy meh. which driving centre you pass? you give undertable money to pass rite? my house here got an audi a6 who park at loading bay everynight and tio summon alot times but do you think he cares? he can afford it so no matter how many complains you made it will not bother him. only cheap fellow like you who are struggling to own a car is so calculative. instead of thinking how to sabo ppl why not think of how to earn more money and be like others. its called cutting some slack. As u knw now there is a parking crunch. Like for my area after 10pm or so ppl have to park alsmost 10 minute walk away. Loading bay is always full after 10pm so is double yellow lines. Wanna enforce law also must include some compassion. So what they park at double yellow. If there have season parking cut them some slack. My area same. Summon aunties here only summon loading bay and double yellow lines only if they don't have season parking. maybe u dont reach home that late or u always find a spot. but spare a thought for those who dont. I am sure the residents around my area appreciate that they are doing that except for a few sour grapes. U almost hit a parked car in the rain blame it on ur driving skill, eyesight, and speed as well. Dont juz blame others. takes 2 hands to clap. I do admit that my driving skills may not be as good as the both of you due to my number of years of experience on the road. In fact I've only started driving a couple of years ago. The roundabout has sufficient space for two cars, but what if another car was coming from behind the parked car and I was travelling in opposite direction of the car? I must emphasize that I am not a cheap person who is struggling to own a car, in fact, making money to me right now is the least of my concern as I have more important things to care about. Although a car is a liability to most in Singapore, I must say that one must be prepared to receive summons or fines if one do not adhere to the law here. I do not gain anything by calling them to issue summons, but I hope this will serve as a notice to the residents parking illegally in my neighbourhood not to cause inconvenience to fellow residents. Summon aunties don't issue summons to residents who have season parking? I guess this is the first time I am hearing this for I have gotten a couple of summons from them for parking at the double yellow line at my neighbourhood's roundabout too. I am not complaining, in fact I blamed myself for making this mistake and paid the fine. Nf0rc3r: As a matter of fact, I often come home late and I usually have to park at the fifth level of my MSCP or even the unsheltered roof. Walking home takes about 10mins if it is raining as I have to walk under the shelter or slightly less than that if it's not raining. Having to walk 10 mins just because the car has to be parked high up is no reason to put your convenience at the expense of others' inconvenience. I would like to say that I am no angel here, I also don't like to be a bao toh kia who enjoys calling HDB to ask the enforcement officers to come to my neighbourhood. Am I at fault for calling them to come? Are they not at fault for causing inconvenience to fellow residents? People may say that karma will strike me, and I believe in karma. If I really made a mistake, I am willing to accept whatever punishment meted out to me. I come to this forum to make friends and not enemies. I hope I do not offend anyone of you with my words. If I do, please forgive me with my wrong choice of words, but please do not use discriminating words towards me as nobody likes such words to be used against themselves. Peace. FYI: I wouldn't say which driving centre I pass my driving test from, in case people avoids that driving centre in future because of what Apriliaracingteam says. I also did not pass any undertable money to the tester as I was only a poly student back then. People who can afford parking fines and still parking illegally, there is nothing I can do. All I can say is that I have done my part in reducing the inconvenience of fellow residents. Edited September 15, 2011 by Identiti Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amuroboy 1st Gear September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 To be frank, I find that parking at roundabout is really inconsiderate.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken_leong 2nd Gear September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 Everyone of us wanna get home asap after a long day of work. Its human nature to be lazy. Thats why some people eill park near their home instead of the mscp. Parking at loading/unloading bay is not exactly right but it doesn't call inconvenience to most people. Parking at certain parts of the road like roundabout does. That's why there are yellow lines to indicate. I believe in cutting some slack like a bro mentioned. But the driver who parked illegally must have the courtesy to drive off early in the morning when other drivers are going to work. This way, he get to park at lower level of mscp and don't inconvienence others as well. TS started this thread to share his experience with us. Everyone will common sense will know that that the roundabouts in hdb neighbourhood are definitely not the same as those on the main road. What has TS incident with almost hitting a car in poor visibility at a roundabout got to do with the driving school he attended? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 I support TS!! Well done. Repeat this every two weeks. The summon will be higher than the season parking. Soon the drivers will wised up to go buy their season parking, or use coupons! You are helping HDB earn money! I support!! I hate illegal parking....every time I visit CCK..near yewtee....the illegal parking at the roundabout makes me very mad!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear September 15, 2011 Share September 15, 2011 If you could record a video of the 1st and 2nd time the officer came to issue the summons, you may write in to question about the double standard. In my thread regarding season parking, I also called and email HDB. When I found some discrepancies in the 30 min respond time. I feedback again saying the vendor was trying to smoke me saying that the officer is already here issuing summons when I see nobody there. For the past 2 weeks, I haven't been seeing many visitors parking at the red lots. I'm sure the visitors will find themselves too right and wants to make some donations again by parking in the red lots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 16, 2011 Share September 16, 2011 have you taken photos as evidence? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Identiti Neutral Newbie September 16, 2011 Author Share September 16, 2011 I'm glad to see fellow MCFers sharing the same thoughts as me. Bro Ken: parking at loading bay/handicap lots sometimes do create inconvenience to others although not as much as those blocking the traffic. The first time I received a summon ticket for parking at the double yellow line was because I had to rush up home to get my uniform for guard duty but the loading bay were all full. However when I got down, seeing the summon aunties there, the few vehicles just miraculously vanished. I knew the auntie couldn't do anything as the ticket was issued so I had no choice but to pay it and blame myself for forgetting to bring my uniform to camp. But since I called HDB to issue summon tickets to those parked at double yellow lines, those who park at the loading bay should get it too isn't it? Anyway, not all who park illegally leaves home early in the morning. There are a few cars who already start parking at the roundabout as early as 8pm and at 10am the next day the car is still there. :angry: Bro Simon: I don't have the time to do such stuff consistently la.. But it's not like I called up HDB the first time I see so many cars parked downstairs, it was like after a year or so then I start realising that the residents are treating the roundabout as their private parking lot. Bro Stiener: the person, I believe from UGL came and made one round at the roundabout, parked at the loading bay opposite my block, see see look look take out machine but no tickets were issued, nearer to my block then he issue to those parked at double yellow line but not the loading bay. Then he moved to the next block, no tickets were issued to those parking at double yellow line so another call was made. I believe he received the call from HDB saying that "someone" feedback about him not issuing tickets to all offenders that's why he went back and issue the tickets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Identiti Neutral Newbie September 16, 2011 Author Share September 16, 2011 have you taken photos as evidence? Nope, I did not. I don't see the point in taking photos since the enforcement officer came while I was waiting for my friend at my void deck. However, the day before when nobody came down to issue summon tickets, I didn't go down as it was raining. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged September 16, 2011 Share September 16, 2011 the HDB enforcement very inefficient, sometimes you call several times but they wont come down. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...