Life span of plasma tv

Hamburger

on one hand.......$3.7k 42 '' Sumsing lasted almost 7 yrs which made me feel [:(] , cos it serve me well whether LFC win or loose... [:)]

on the other hand.....

how would suarez shines in my 50" then..... [grin]

somehow, i still trusts plasma. Hotter panel or not, i dont care. As i dont stand beside it while watching [:p]

U r contributing to the big profits in PUB then..... Did they give you a hamper every year?

pub profits from me or not, i dont know....hampers confirm no have ^_^

my only concern is my own pocket.

If price between plasma and lcd or led is alot, how many hours of watching do i need to recover back the difference?

on one hand.......$3.7k 42 '' Sumsing lasted almost 7 yrs which made me feel [:(] , cos it serve me well whether LFC win or loose... [:)]

on the other hand.....

how would suarez shines in my 50" then..... [grin]

somehow, i still trusts plasma. Hotter panel or not, i dont care. As i dont stand beside it while watching [:p]

I too swear by plasma. The colors richer and when watching SD it doesnt pixelate as much. The new generation Samsung plasma is not hot at all. Comparable to some LCD's. Pana runs quite hot thou.

pub profits from me or not, i dont know....hampers confirm no have ^_^

my only concern is my own pocket.

If price between plasma and lcd or led is alot, how many hours of watching do i need to recover back the difference?

different by about $200.

eg. plasma $499~$599, LED 40" min about $699 for some brands.

different by about $200.

eg. plasma $499~$599, LED 40" min about $699 for some brands.

only 50'" and above need apply..... [:p]

i guess at this size, led costs much more than the norm of 40"??

is the trend moving towards 52"?? better go jalan jalan more, loosing touch with the outside world liow [:(]

I too swear by plasma. The colors richer and when watching SD it doesnt pixelate as much. The new generation Samsung plasma is not hot at all. Comparable to some LCD's. Pana runs quite hot thou.

oh yes, that also is one important consideration too, plus the fast movements of football, plasma tends to perform better??

Depends on how one defined as better. LCD is lighter and good for smaller screen.

But if u looking for > 50" flatscreens, Plasma is the way to go for following reasons.

Very wider viewing angle

No build up bad pixels with age.

No colour washouts & saturation - Contrast is controlled directly on each pixel illumination level, hence not dependent by back lighting.)

No Image blurring in quick motion scene.

Near zero pixel response time. (This one gives very crisp and smooth motion, u can see the difference in certain HD games with native 1080p @ 60fps )

However, if wanna say the Earth, please don't buy any TV. [:p]

Also depends on your environment, when i was shopping for my room tv, cheaper plasma's tend to come with reflective screens which i dislike.

speaking of reflective screen, like you say....cheaper kind comes with that, really??

No matter how bad the tv is, dont think it can only last 1 year la. At least can last a few years before spoilt. :D

this kind of things are heng suay pattern. not referring to lemons hor. thats why they put out MTBF figures to cover backside.

Article on Plasma/LCD/LED just recently by PCMag:

http://www.pcworld.com/article/240397/the_...vs_of_2011.html

Looking for a great all-around HDTV? Our PCWorld Labs tests helped us identify the ten best sets for features, design, and image quality.

By Patrick Miller, PCWorld Sep 26, 2011 9:00 am

samsung_un46d8000_180-5219453.jpg

This is a great time to buy an HDTV. Televisions in 2011 have taken 2010's hot trends--3D, Internet apps, and LED lighting technology for LCD sets--and made them better and cheaper. Today, most sets from major manufacturers offer a wide array of Internet-connected features and 3D support through active-shutter or polarized 3D glasses. Traditional CCFL-backlit LCD panels have nearly disappeared from store shelves, supplanted by their LED-backlit or LED-edgelit cousins, which deliver more-vivid color and sharper contrast despite using less power overall.

Meanwhile, plasma TVs haven't managed to get quite as skinny as LED-edgelit sets, but they're still very much alive and kicking; and some of the plasmas that we tested earned image quality scores comparable to those achieved by high-end LED sets that cost nearly twice as much. If you're looking for big and less expensive, plasma is still your best bet--as long as you're okay with a television set that consumes up to twice as much power as an LED TV of equal size.

Our PCWorld Labs jury of testers found that this year's sets did not display content significantly better than last year's, though the refresh-rate war seems to be largely over. LCD sets used to handle motion-heavy scenes far worse than plasmas, since LCD sets couldn't refresh the screen image fast enough to keep up, and as a result the video sometimes looked blurry. Now Sony and Samsung are offering LCD televisions with refresh rates as high as 960Hz, though most LED sets remain at 120Hz or 240Hz--and exceeding 240Hz may not make things look better.

In fact, we often notice more "juddering" (image artifacts created when fine patterns warp or vibrate on screen) in 240Hz sets than in 120Hz TVs--so don't be fooled into thinking that the bigger number is always better. Read our online feature "LCD HDTV Motion Features: How Do They Work?" to understand why this happens.

In our testing we've found that each television in a model line performs similarly regardless of its screen size, so you can expect 46-inch, 55-inch, and 60-inch Samsung D8000 series TVs to perform equally well. When shopping for a TV, find the model line you like best and then choose the size that's right for you. For tips on finding your ideal TV size, read "Five Common HDTV Questions, Answered." For an interactive, ranked listing of the best televisions we've reviewed recently, see our Top 10 HDTVs chart.

Image Quality

If you're buying a new midrange or high-end TV from one of the major TV manufacturers, you can expect it to look great. Our jurors rate TV image quality on a 100-point scale, and the difference between the TV with the highest marks for image quality and our number-ten choice was a mere 6 points.

The top three sets nailed our image-quality tests. The Samsung UN46D8000 and the LG Infinia 47LW6500 did suffer from fine patterns in certain test scenes (a brick wall, for example, or a city skyline) vibrating slightly. The Sony Bravia 46HX820 had slightly lower scores in brightness and color, but delivered better de

karang guni man may not pay you for old CRT TV. They take it away free is considered helping u to get rid of a bulky item

dont lah... just remove the fuse and tell your mum spoilt liao... then sell to karang guni... they will recycle and sell it to a 3rd world country...

when i was deciding between Plasma or LCD for my living room 5 years ago, when flat screens were pried around $1800-2500 then for a 40-42", i consider some of the technical aspects below

2 years ago, bought a cheap Sharp LCD for my bedroom

As time passes by, i don't really care about the difference between the two anymore. as u get more absorbed into the movies/tv shows or the excitement of the soccer match on tv.

The only think i tend to be particular about is my PS3 games has better effects on my Pana Plasma rather than the Sharp LCD. So i usually play the PS games in the living room

Depends on how one defined as better. LCD is lighter and good for smaller screen.

But if u looking for > 50" flatscreens, Plasma is the way to go for following reasons.

Very wider viewing angle

No build up bad pixels with age.

No colour washouts & saturation - Contrast is controlled directly on each pixel illumination level, hence not dependent by back lighting.)

No Image blurring in quick motion scene.

Near zero pixel response time. (This one gives very crisp and smooth motion, u can see the difference in certain HD games with native 1080p @ 60fps )

However, if wanna say the Earth, please don't buy any TV. [:p]

karang guni man may not pay you for old CRT TV. They take it away free is considered helping u to get rid of a bulky item

got lah... een crt monitor they also collect.... $5 a piece.... think they might taking out certain component like capacitors to sell it saperately...