2 router

Hamburger

considering going SLS for a walk about, feel like taking train...................but wait

dont even know which station to drop off.... [grin]

considering going SLS for a walk about, feel like taking train...................but wait

dont even know which station to drop off.... [grin]

Bugis Junction, cut through the Bugis village :D

How many PCs you got?

Only 1 PC. Wireless will be use for that PC and also IPAD/Iphones

What is the broadband connection speed you have or aiming to get in long run? (If you go fibre, it makes a helluva difference in throughput)

Currently using Starhub maxonline 16Mbps. Hoping to get ard the same.. I won't be going into fibre soon as still under contract..

Do you transfer files between computer to computer frequently?

Nope..seldom if not never

What is your budget?

Erm..I don't know..maybe ard 500 bucks? Seriously I do not know what to expect for the price.

What is your tolerance threshold for setup hassle? (Simple? Configuration here and there but mostly set and forget? troublesome ie getting contractors to lay cat6 cable?)

Something simple will do..

Do you plan to use wireless mainly? Do you mind using cat5/cat6 cable for desktop computers e.g.?

I will be using wireless mainly. Sorry...I don't know what is cat5/cat6 cable..

Currently PC is placed near to the set up box and modem due to wiring all there. I do not want to have wiring lying ard nor want to go thru hassle of getting contractors to do it up.. so tot of having a wireless router so that I can shift my PC position to another location.

Usage will not be that heavy..mainly watching movies online and some light surfing. Internet required only for 1 PC(no wifi function so need to get a wifi receiver?) and Ipad.

Thanks Bro!

Edited by Baphomet

Currently PC is placed near to the set up box and modem due to wiring all there. I do not want to have wiring lying ard nor want to go thru hassle of getting contractors to do it up.. so tot of having a wireless router so that I can shift my PC position to another location.

Usage will not be that heavy..mainly watching movies online and some light surfing. Internet required only for 1 PC(no wifi function so need to get a wifi receiver?) and Ipad.

Thanks Bro!

I dont know where your modem and PC is currently located. Assuming they are centrally located, i suggest to get a wireless router which is rated for N 300Mbps. There is three standards for wifi N.

1.) Pre draft N (don't buy this, i don't think can find anymore)

2.) Draft N 1.0 or 150Mbps

3.) Draft N 2.0 or 300Mbps (Get this one)

Since you mentioned the com is located next to modem and the router, i advise you connect the com straight to the LAN port of the router for cabled connections. Wired vs Wireless, Wired win almost everyday.

The wireless capability of router means that your ipad can be used anywhere in house.

Some info

1.) Visualise the wireless coverage as a donut. You want the donut to cover as much as the house as possible hence the central location.

2.) I recommend you to get a router which have external antenna because it is a modular design and you can swap the antennas for better ones if need be

3.) I really don't want you to get the high gain antennas (meaning the so called better antennas) when you get the router. Just use the stock antennas first.

Why?

Antennas are rated for their gain. Stock antennas are rated at 2dBi mostly. While high gain antennas usually 7dBi or 15dBi for home use, seem good. They have an issue. The vertical wireless coverage of high gain antennas is much lesser. Remember the donut? The donut is thinner. Yes the vertical position of your computer and your computer and/or ipad actuall does make a difference.

So the issue is if you change to high gain antennas and if say your router's height and your ipad's height for some reason is too far apart vertically then it MAY affect wireless performance.

4.) the connection is as follows

Starhub cable point -> Cable Modem Motorola Surfboard -> Router -> (Wireless + ethernet cable to your computer)

So all you need to get is a router thats all. And because your broadband plan is a cable plan, this makes configuration very easy. Just configure the router to DHCP mode. Configuration of the router is another story. Post here again if you need help for router configuration.

My personal recommendations for router

1.) Sub $100 to $150

Engenius ESR9850

2.) $150 to $200

Asus RT56U (This one got no antenna but has gotten alot of solid reviews, overseas and locally)

Wow now internet technology so advanced liao ah

I still using my Linksys WRT54G with DD-WRT on a bridged Alcatel-Thomson modem (router?) running Singnet 3mbps

But recently my dial up connections are dropping.. got a feeling my router is going to conk out soon

I dont know where your modem and PC is currently located. Assuming they are centrally located, i suggest to get a wireless router which is rated for N 300Mbps. There is three standards for wifi N.

1.) Pre draft N (don't buy this, i don't think can find anymore)

2.) Draft N 1.0 or 150Mbps

3.) Draft N 2.0 or 300Mbps (Get this one)

Since you mentioned the com is located next to modem and the router, i advise you connect the com straight to the LAN port of the router for cabled connections. Wired vs Wireless, Wired win almost everyday.

The wireless capability of router means that your ipad can be used anywhere in house.

Some info

1.) Visualise the wireless coverage as a donut. You want the donut to cover as much as the house as possible hence the central location.

2.) I recommend you to get a router which have external antenna because it is a modular design and you can swap the antennas for better ones if need be

3.) I really don't want you to get the high gain antennas (meaning the so called better antennas) when you get the router. Just use the stock antennas first.

Why?

Antennas are rated for their gain. Stock antennas are rated at 2dBi mostly. While high gain antennas usually 7dBi or 15dBi for home use, seem good. They have an issue. The vertical wireless coverage of high gain antennas is much lesser. Remember the donut? The donut is thinner. Yes the vertical position of your computer and your computer and/or ipad actuall does make a difference.

So the issue is if you change to high gain antennas and if say your router's height and your ipad's height for some reason is too far apart vertically then it MAY affect wireless performance.

4.) the connection is as follows

Starhub cable point -> Cable Modem Motorola Surfboard -> Router -> (Wireless + ethernet cable to your computer)

So all you need to get is a router thats all. And because your broadband plan is a cable plan, this makes configuration very easy. Just configure the router to DHCP mode. Configuration of the router is another story. Post here again if you need help for router configuration.

My personal recommendations for router

1.) Sub $100 to $150

Engenius ESR9850

2.) $150 to $200

Asus RT56U (This one got no antenna but has gotten alot of solid reviews, overseas and locally)

Wow..thanks bro for the detailed explanation. I will print this and bring with me when I go buy router. :)

I understand that wired will definitely be better.. but the problem is..my modem is connected to the setup box, the setup box is connected to the TV..so my computer is currently near the TV in the living room..I do not want to have my PC there and thought of moving it to another loacation further back. But i do not want to have wires lying ard...Don't mind sacrificing abit of speed..so tot of having wireless router. How much speed will i loose if I use wireless router? as long as I can still watch movie streaming smoothly..its fine with me.

omg..still have configuration.....i tot is plug and play...okie.. will post back here again once I get the router. Thanks a million! :)

and i thought i am the only noob here..... :D , isn't it good to ask when we dont know

haha :D yup! especially when there are helpful ppl ard willing to help! [thumbsup]

Wow..thanks bro for the detailed explanation. I will print this and bring with me when I go buy router. :)

I understand that wired will definitely be better.. but the problem is..my modem is connected to the setup box, the setup box is connected to the TV..so my computer is currently near the TV in the living room..I do not want to have my PC there and thought of moving it to another loacation further back. But i do not want to have wires lying ard...Don't mind sacrificing abit of speed..so tot of having wireless router. How much speed will i loose if I use wireless router? as long as I can still watch movie streaming smoothly..its fine with me.

omg..still have configuration.....i tot is plug and play...okie.. will post back here again once I get the router. Thanks a million! :)

i think it can still be plug and play if you dun set security, mean all your neighbour can tap on your network :D

i like to ask a better router is mainly for better coverage or can it share among more devices with better throughput?

i have 8-9 pieces of devices currently using wifi at home (though not all at the same time but about 4-5!), the mio 2wire N (on FO) still serving us fine.

i think it can still be plug and play if you dun set security, mean all your neighbour can tap on your network :D

dont use WEP lor.

use WPA2.

i like to ask a better router is mainly for better coverage or can it share among more devices with better throughput?

i have 8-9 pieces of devices currently using wifi at home (though not all at the same time but about 4-5!), the mio 2wire N (on FO) still serving us fine.

I'm not the tech pro like Happily1986

But basically the better routers can handle more devices and connections (especially BT) better. But practically speaking for most average users the basic Wireless N routers r good enough.

WARNING!!!!!!!!

just now i plugged in another 2wire into another phone wall socket......BIG FAT mistake :wacko:

the whole broadand has to be reconfigure as internet was down. Called ST and took quite awhile to address the problem.

kudos to that ST technicain on line, he even changed the frequency of the wifi to see any improvement in connectivity. Tried but only slight improvement. He adviced me to get a signal booster to improve things.

My experience in my home is to use a mixture of all connection methods.

My router is the same one from Huawei they got me for the NBN.

My laptop is direct connection to the router. Got one out from router to Homeplug. Wife's wired laptop in the bedroom connects through Homeplug and so does the kids 2 netbooks. All our phones us the WLAN of the router. Wife and I do not plug our phones to transfer data but use Filezilla. We both use Android phones.

Connected to the router is the Iomega iConnect via Wifi but it can be used as a NAS if you plug in the USB HDDs. Don't trust Wifi for data but I use it as a print server.