Atonchia Supersonic December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 Most marketing calls were using private line, so will not show up on caller ID when missed the calls. The most irritating ones are using normal lines and showed up as missed calls because I silence the phone during meeting, only to call them back to know it's from. credit card companies/banks. Nowadays receive almost mainly from credit card company, very rarely from insurance agent. Property agents send sms rather than call. "Sir, would it be convenient to speak to you now?" "No." "Sir, we are offering you a credit facility that allows to do a balance transfer......." "Look, I do not have the requirement now and I do not want to waste your time" These tele-marketeers are already trained to ask for the sake of asking only. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CupcakeOfDoom 1st Gear December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 I work in a bank nw and i can easily tell u dat u juz have to ask em to put u on their dnc list and they will nvr call u again. Being in ur situation before it works for me as i no longer rec calls frm any bank. As for other organisations we miggt nt have control over em but juz politely inform em nvr to call u again usually works for me. Till date i havent rec such calls in a long long time. So juz try telling em n stop complaining. If u have done so before but it still happeens den go ahead n complain to/abt e company but dun drag other companies. Nt all telemarketing companies r e same. Not sure but you seem to have the best luck with this. I have this particular insurance company that has been a regular caller since a year ago. They update me monthly (if not more frequently) with new products that I MUST know - have been nothing but the nicest compared to my other friends to them and they don't buy the 'please stop calling me' plea. This is just one of the worst companies/call centres I encounter, not that it's a standalone case. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged December 3, 2013 Share December 3, 2013 Today I received an incoming call and thinking that it's a client... I limped out of a meeting room.. Yes limping in pain bec of the Sunday SCB run..knn.. What I heard was.. Hi, is this Mr XXX? Yes, you are? Oh hi, I'm calling from Fitness First, bla bla.. Sorry I'm in meeting.. Bye. I limped back in pain into the room, and immediately send a SMS to 78771.. Message "DNC" Wa Lau eh. IDA finally did something right 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 Most marketing calls were using private line, so will not show up on caller ID when missed the calls. The most irritating ones are using normal lines and showed up as missed calls because I silence the phone during meeting, only to call them back to know it's from. credit card companies/banks. Nowadays receive almost mainly from credit card company, very rarely from insurance agent. Property agents send sms rather than call. "Sir, would it be convenient to speak to you now?" "No." "Sir, we are offering you a credit facility that allows to do a balance transfer......." "Look, I do not have the requirement now and I do not want to waste your time" These tele-marketeers are already trained to ask for the sake of asking only. i did read somewhere. if they do call u to offer credit, say u are a student. they will hang up before u hang up 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 Most marketing calls were using private line, so will not show up on caller ID when missed the calls. The most irritating ones are using normal lines and showed up as missed calls because I silence the phone during meeting, only to call them back to know it's from. credit card companies/banks. Nowadays receive almost mainly from credit card company, very rarely from insurance agent. Property agents send sms rather than call. "Sir, would it be convenient to speak to you now?" "No." "Sir, we are offering you a credit facility that allows to do a balance transfer......." "Look, I do not have the requirement now and I do not want to waste your time" These tele-marketeers are already trained to ask for the sake of asking only. It's wasting everyone's time. If the success rate is so bad, why these companies still persist? Suggest impose COE telephone quota system for these telemarketers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 i did read somewhere. if they do call u to offer credit, say u are a student. they will hang up before u hang up Some will know you are lying. Some of them not doing random calls. They pay for the data and usually is a certain group, like a certain income range or profession. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 i did read somewhere. if they do call u to offer credit, say u are a student. they will hang up before u hang up Just say you're bankrupt and request them to send a few cards to you. They will put down the phone in no time. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 4, 2013 Author Share December 4, 2013 Just say you're bankrupt and request them to send a few cards to you. They will put down the phone in no time. or my style as always 'ah seng undertaker here...who die, where coffin needed? hiw big band?' i v good one, i never solicit and call customers, no matter how much they are potential clients....muahahahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CupcakeOfDoom 1st Gear December 4, 2013 Share December 4, 2013 Some will know you are lying. Some of them not doing random calls. They pay for the data and usually is a certain group, like a certain income range or profession. Agreed. Some, when they call, they already seem to know some details. I ever received one that knew name of the company I was working at, and since when. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 Agreed. Some, when they call, they already seem to know some details. I ever received one that knew name of the company I was working at, and since when. Maybe it's your colleague sitting behind you, trolling you. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 A bit unclear on who gets punished... if ABC Bank contracts XYZ marketer to hunt for clients, and XYZ anyhow call without checking the DNC list, who jialat? ABC or XYZ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 How to file complaint? No link in dnc website. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CupcakeOfDoom 1st Gear December 5, 2013 Share December 5, 2013 (edited) A bit unclear on who gets punished... if ABC Bank contracts XYZ marketer to hunt for clients, and XYZ anyhow call without checking the DNC list, who jialat? ABC or XYZ? From what I understand, basically,if - (1) recipient, (2) organisation (the ABC bank in ur question), and (3) telemarketer organisation (XYZ company) recipient / sender are in SG, the regulations are supposed to be complied with. If ABC bank hire a overseas call centre - XYZ, ABC bank takes responsibility to ensure that the registry is checked. But not clear who kena if both companies in SG ; although I think it will be the telemarketer since it keeps being mentioned that the organisations who send marketing messages or make marketing calls have to comply. Edited December 5, 2013 by CupcakeOfDoom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CupcakeOfDoom 1st Gear December 6, 2013 Share December 6, 2013 This kind is the reason why public approves this registry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear December 6, 2013 Share December 6, 2013 think this will only stop SME to sms us.. those big MNC with operation oversea can still send SMS to us..right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CupcakeOfDoom 1st Gear December 6, 2013 Share December 6, 2013 As long as they got a base here, they are supposed to follow the rules. But dunno if the govt will really smack them hard anot also. think this will only stop SME to sms us.. those big MNC with operation oversea can still send SMS to us..right? 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raychay 6th Gear December 6, 2013 Share December 6, 2013 After I registered on 2 Dec, I seem to be getting more SMS these few days. Last burst of fire? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CupcakeOfDoom 1st Gear December 6, 2013 Share December 6, 2013 I also feel the same. After I registered on 2 Dec, I seem to be getting more SMS these few days. Last burst of fire? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...