Fastfive1 5th Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 (edited) So far I m a Korean supporter.. Previous ride a Getz...now avante. Hehe...: Reason I looking at cefiro is it's a non taxi, if only sonata nf does not have so many taxis here. Otherwise i close eyes sure choose sonata. Now my wife urge me to take cefiro more than sonata nf Haha i understand. Whether it's used as a taxi or not shouldn't be the real issue. Go with what suits your budget. Especially if you don't intend to top up extra. Mercedes E class is used as a taxi but that doesn't stop people from buying them. I'm driving an old mercedes, a model which was once used as a taxi over here. It doesn't really bother me. Maybe you should look at it this way, the sonata is used as a taxi because it's reliable and a workhorse. Taxi companies won't get vehicles that break down easily. Well maybe they do but eventually these unreliable vehicles get replaced. I'm more of a conti supporter because of their luxury. However i do admire nice japanese rides. Edited November 12, 2011 by Fastfive1 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 Sat in a cefiro at the back, leg room isn't as much as the sonata. Err shifttronic means that there's a plus and a minus in the gear selector. 321 after drive isn't shifttronic. Even my old W124 has that except no gear 1. your W124 got shifttronic? what model? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 So far I m a Korean supporter.. Previous ride a Getz...now avante. Hehe...: Reason I looking at cefiro is it's a non taxi, if only sonata nf does not have so many taxis here. Otherwise i close eyes sure choose sonata. Now my wife urge me to take cefiro more than sonata nf think eventually you have to give in to your wife. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged November 12, 2011 Author Share November 12, 2011 think eventually you have to give in to your wife. Ya lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 It's still fun to play with especially if you plan on doing drag on a long stretch of road or if you want to utilise the engine brake when going round corners or slopes. I'm sure your current mazda has a shiftronic equivalent. Agreed on the "play" part. It is more evident in my Mazda 3 is w/ paddle shifters...Steptronic (my ID) in BMWs, Shiftronic in Hyundais, tiptronic, steptron and so on......all fun in city driving. But, we hardly use them in NSHW. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flameblade 1st Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 Cefiro have one of the largest wheelbase for it's class. That's was its selling point during that time. Confirm more spacious and more legroom. And the cefiro's V6 2.3L is better than the sonata 2.4L in term of power and smoothness. Cabin is very quiet and comfortable. Only letdown is the FC. So many sonata on the road as taxi is because its cheaper to buy compared to other brands/ model. I do take taxi's frequently, and the taxi uncles say the sonata do break down more often then the older toyota crown/ nissan cedric it replaces. There's a reason why Japanese cars are call "reliable workhorses" My 2 cents worth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 Ya lor.... Oops, my friend spent all his time energy and time to bring up NF and you are going with Cefiro...You should have told that your wife wishes Cefiro . That stops all arguements here....All the best bro...Cefiro would not go wrong. Enjoy it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged November 12, 2011 Author Share November 12, 2011 Of coz ideally if got spare monies, would go for i45... But now instead look for a 4-5yrs left to drive car instead. Hehe. Thus sonata or cefiro. My heart says sonata coz it's more economical to buy and it's reliable coz it's a Hyundai. But my wife and also a little part of me thinks cefiro looks more posh interior. Haha. But i guess 80% cefiro coz of wife Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 Of coz ideally if got spare monies, would go for i45... But now instead look for a 4-5yrs left to drive car instead. Hehe. Thus sonata or cefiro. My heart says sonata coz it's more economical to buy and it's reliable coz it's a Hyundai. But my wife and also a little part of me thinks cefiro looks more posh interior. Haha. But i guess 80% cefiro coz of wife personally.... i would choose cefiro. i think cefiro feels more like a luxury car. and V6 2.3 is creamy enough if u choose the right used car. wat about camry 2.4? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civicblade 2nd Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 If you are willing to pay more for road tax, I would suggest the Hyundai Azera 3.3 V6. This engine produces 236bhp at 6000rpm and from tickover to redline.. the engine remains smooth. One of the smoothest engine I have ever experienced, coming very close to the V6 3.5 on the Cefiro/Maxima/Teana. Beating inline 6 on the BMW 330i. The transmission and drivetrain enjoys 10year warranty in the USA so the set up must be pretty reliable. It has 5 speed shiftronic auto transmission.. there is really no need to use the shifttronic as the engine management does a very good job of reading your throttle input and selecting the right gear. NVH rating is really good for the Azera. Too bad Komoco doesn't bring in the latest Azera and the genesis. The genesis is rear wheel drive and should have much better handling than the Azera. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 your W124 got shifttronic? what model? I said that even my w124 has the 3,2 after D. The 321 selector after D is not shifttronic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 (edited) Double post. Edited November 12, 2011 by Fastfive1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 Agreed on the "play" part. It is more evident in my Mazda 3 is w/ paddle shifters...Steptronic (my ID) in BMWs, Shiftronic in Hyundais, tiptronic, steptron and so on......all fun in city driving. But, we hardly use them in NSHW. Haha like flappy paddles. Yeah NSHW is a long straight so not much point. Yup Manumatic. tiptronic is in porsches. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 Cefiro have one of the largest wheelbase for it's class. That's was its selling point during that time. Confirm more spacious and more legroom. And the cefiro's V6 2.3L is better than the sonata 2.4L in term of power and smoothness. Cabin is very quiet and comfortable. Only letdown is the FC. So many sonata on the road as taxi is because its cheaper to buy compared to other brands/ model. I do take taxi's frequently, and the taxi uncles say the sonata do break down more often then the older toyota crown/ nissan cedric it replaces. There's a reason why Japanese cars are call "reliable workhorses" My 2 cents worth The sonata cabs breakdown because taxi drivers don't know how to take good care of their taxi and drive them properly. Most of them slam on the brakes as and when they want to. When have you ever seen a taxi's hubcaps without a single scratch. The fact that they constantly graze against the curb proves the fact that they're bad drivers. The thing is that they don't really dare to try pulling any stunts with the crown or cedric because they know that if they were to slam on their brakes their cab is more likely to skid and get into an accident. There's no ABS or Airbag in these old japanese cabs. Besides most of the crowns and cedrics are also not in very good shape. Some of them vibrate very violently even at a standstill when in neutral. On the other hand, the sonatas are equipped with all the safety features and better brakes so they're rather nonchalant about how they drive because they have this artificial sense of security that the safety equipment will save them. Sure they will be provided you know how to take care of them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 If you are willing to pay more for road tax, I would suggest the Hyundai Azera 3.3 V6. This engine produces 236bhp at 6000rpm and from tickover to redline.. the engine remains smooth. One of the smoothest engine I have ever experienced, coming very close to the V6 3.5 on the Cefiro/Maxima/Teana. Beating inline 6 on the BMW 330i. The transmission and drivetrain enjoys 10year warranty in the USA so the set up must be pretty reliable. It has 5 speed shiftronic auto transmission.. there is really no need to use the shifttronic as the engine management does a very good job of reading your throttle input and selecting the right gear. NVH rating is really good for the Azera. Too bad Komoco doesn't bring in the latest Azera and the genesis. The genesis is rear wheel drive and should have much better handling than the Azera. Yeah. The genesis would be a cool car to have. Is there a right hand drive version of that car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ctng Neutral Newbie November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 Get the sonata NF. It's engine is very responsive. FC is around 11 to 12km/l. If you get the NF sonata, you can play with sonata taxis! There's shift-tronic on the sonata, don't think the cefiro has that. Power should be the same but i believe the sonata has a better transmission. I find the cefiro as a whole really really ugly. The rear seats of the cefrio is very cramped. I have no idea what nissan was thinking when it designed such an eyesore. Just my 2 cents. take taxi better. why waste the money to buy a taxi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ctng Neutral Newbie November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 While you are right that FC is better than Cefiro, Cefiro engine is also responsive, smooth and quiter than NF. NF is no where nearer to Turbo Diesel taxis. Cefiro does have shiftronic! I do not believe NF has better transmission than Cefiro. Look part I do not want to comment, it is individual's perception. Real seats are cramped? I can bet you Cefiro rear seats are much comfortable than NF. Seat three passengers at the rear in NF, you would find for yourself. I guess you are a hater of Nissan. No issues about that too. , but facts are to be told when comparing! hahah neber try v6 before dont know how smooth izzit lah. i own a v6 too plus piggy = to super smooth and shiok. sonata is nothing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 take taxi better. why waste the money to buy a taxi Well why not be in control of your car? Your statement above shows that you are a superficial person. LOL!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...