Ivan_06 5th Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 toa payoh rise is referring to the hilly little knoll where Caldecott Circle Line Station is at, just opposite Far East Flora. I consider it to be unserved by the main arteries of CTE since it is so far off. it is an one way road from the Toa Payoh direction if my memory serves me right. you are correct in 2010.. in 2011, they have open up the toa payoh rise road to be a 2 way road, can now enter and exit via toa payoh via that new road.. huat huat huat ah!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 cheem sia. dont understand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Author Share November 15, 2011 not forgetting the return trip, exit via Lentor ave... crazy mad.. The NSE exits at Lentor too... but no NSE entrances at Lentor. Weird. I thought it is very simple to add an entrance to NSE at lentor since it is Ground level. Yishun East residents also have to travel a long way as the only entrances are at the Yishun West. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 you are correct in 2010.. in 2011, they have open up the toa payoh rise road to be a 2 way road, can now enter and exit via toa payoh via that new road.. huat huat huat ah!! no true leh. i tried to use Toa Payoh Rise last Wed hoping to take short cut from Marymount Road to Toa Payoh Lor 1. Tak Boleh. When i was passing by Lighthouse school, suddenly the two way road turned into a one way road (TPY to Marymount only) I so malu have to enter Lighthouse School compound and make a u turn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 no true leh. i tried to use Toa Payoh Rise last Wed hoping to take short cut from Marymount Road to Toa Payoh Lor 1. Tak Boleh. When i was passing by Lighthouse school, suddenly the two way road turned into a one way road (TPY to Marymount only) I so malu have to enter Lighthouse School compound and make a u turn. no lah.. its still under construction.. din u see the barrier and etc.. its still under construction loh.. if you had even bothered to read the construction signage.. its a 2 way road, expected to be fully completed in 2nd qtr 2012... how i know, coz i am living in TPY.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 The NSE exits at Lentor too... but no NSE entrances at Lentor. Weird. I thought it is very simple to add an entrance to NSE at lentor since it is Ground level. Yishun East residents also have to travel a long way as the only entrances are at the Yishun West. How you know NSE is ground level adjacent to Lentor Ave. The PDF described it as a viaduct. Should be above ground ie double decker road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 no lah.. its still under construction.. din u see the barrier and etc.. its still under construction loh.. if you had even bothered to read the construction signage.. its a 2 way road, expected to be fully completed in 2nd qtr 2012... how i know, coz i am living in TPY.. Which is why i said, it is currently only one way now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Author Share November 15, 2011 How you know NSE is ground level adjacent to Lentor Ave. The PDF described it as a viaduct. Should be above ground ie double decker road. It is At-grade along lentor where it cuts SLE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 It is At-grade along lentor where it cuts SLE. Only there mah. There is almost reaching Bullion Park liao lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Torquemeister 1st Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 http://www.lta.gov.sg/projects/doc/NSErampsrev2-1.pdf looks super bad to AMK residents. how come no entrance southbound for AMK residents? have to endure the construction of expressway right through AMK and in the end, cannot use.... terrible. Well AMK already has CTE with plenty of access and this should take some traffic off CTE so stop complaining Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 Woah... Happy traffic jam at the Kg Java exit.. With CTE entrance/exit nearby, already quite jialat liao.. In the future, with 2 major expressway slip roads so close to each other, it will even be worse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 wow! the four HDB blocks of flats at Rochor Centre also have to give way. http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1165553/1/.html : Residents of 567 flats at Rochor Centre will be offered relocation benefits similar to those offered under the Selective En Bloc Redevelopment Scheme (SERS). Eighty-three per cent of the flats acquired are three-room units. HDB will build about 810 units of new flats at Kallang as replacement housing for the residents affected. Located next to Kallang River, residents will also be well-served by a good transportation network, with the Kallang MRT station being a five-minute walk. Some 187 rental shops and eating houses at Rochor Centre will also be affected. They will be given a 10 per cent preferential discount off the monthly rental rates when they successfully tender for other HDB rental commercial properties, or when they take over other HDB rental commercial properties through assignment. : Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alheych 6th Gear November 15, 2011 Share November 15, 2011 wow! the four HDB blocks of flats at Rochor Centre also have to give way. http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1165553/1/.html : Residents of 567 flats at Rochor Centre will be offered relocation benefits similar to those offered under the Selective En Bloc Redevelopment Scheme (SERS). Eighty-three per cent of the flats acquired are three-room units. HDB will build about 810 units of new flats at Kallang as replacement housing for the residents affected. Located next to Kallang River, residents will also be well-served by a good transportation network, with the Kallang MRT station being a five-minute walk. Some 187 rental shops and eating houses at Rochor Centre will also be affected. They will be given a 10 per cent preferential discount off the monthly rental rates when they successfully tender for other HDB rental commercial properties, or when they take over other HDB rental commercial properties through assignment. : the 4 blocks down there are like an island on itself now, quite out of place. anyway the SERS for them damn good, waterfront flats next to kallang MRT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear November 16, 2011 Share November 16, 2011 newspaper said LTA took 8-10 years to decide the final route..... why so long?? do they need more FT designers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear November 16, 2011 Share November 16, 2011 wow! the four HDB blocks of flats at Rochor Centre also have to give way. http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1165553/1/.html : Residents of 567 flats at Rochor Centre will be offered relocation benefits similar to those offered under the Selective En Bloc Redevelopment Scheme (SERS). Eighty-three per cent of the flats acquired are three-room units. HDB will build about 810 units of new flats at Kallang as replacement housing for the residents affected. Located next to Kallang River, residents will also be well-served by a good transportation network, with the Kallang MRT station being a five-minute walk. Some 187 rental shops and eating houses at Rochor Centre will also be affected. They will be given a 10 per cent preferential discount off the monthly rental rates when they successfully tender for other HDB rental commercial properties, or when they take over other HDB rental commercial properties through assignment. : think one of the kopi tiam that houses this very famous bak kut teh is affected, yes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged November 16, 2011 Author Share November 16, 2011 I noticed that people travelling on CTE southbound can enter the NSE southbound easily at bukit timah. This means that the CTE can now reach both bugis/suntec and Orchard Road easily. NSE southbound cannot enter CTE easily so NSE users are stuck with bugis/suntec. Sometimes I really wonder how the goverment plan the expressways. Example the current KPE has some really weird configurations. Example, if I enter the KPE southbound from PIE, I cannot exit at nicole highway.... really weird.... If they allow exit at nicole highway, the KPE now can alleviate some of the city bound traffic more easily as CTE southbound users can exit before braddel (when the new flyover opens) enter the PIE -> KPE -> nicole highway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched November 16, 2011 Share November 16, 2011 The next thing to be announced will be the finalisation of the Thomson line stations which I think should be running parallel to that of the highway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear November 16, 2011 Share November 16, 2011 newspaper said LTA took 8-10 years to decide the final route..... why so long?? do they need more FT designers? Singapore has a macro view in urban planning, a new expressway across the island with underground sections cutting into the city along side MRT tunnels and existing expressways....also taking into consideration present structures in the way, resource allocating, funding etc...etc..wah lau give a break lah ... its not like deciding to eat laksa or chicken rice for lunch wat.....what has it got to do with FT ?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...