Watches

Davidklt

Bro, exec level for my company don't have year end bonus one la....only performance bonus 3 months later....and this year's my performance suckz so don't even know will have or not....sibei cham....but if I do get I think it's worth getting the watch, better than going BS! [laugh]

you no need 3 month performance bonus lah, you 1 month enough to get u the kermit [laugh]

by the way, BS boh leow lah, stop dreaming [laugh][laugh]

yes Rolex has leather straps but i go aftermarket.

i find it pointless to pay $500 when i can get the same for $50

i am not such a purist.

lately Rolex has also been introducing more models with straps .

Bro.

The $500 one is genuine alligator or crocodile skin.

The $50 one is most likelu calf leather with alligator pattern embossed on it.

That is the difference.

You can differentiate it by smell, the genuine croc has a salty water smell. The calf leather smells like normal leather.

For experts, one look at the strap they can see whether it is genuine or embossed. The grain is very obvious.

For a watch like daytona, get the real thing lah.

Edited by Viceroymenthol

you no need 3 month performance bonus lah, you 1 month enough to get u the kermit [laugh]

by the way, BS boh leow lah, stop dreaming [laugh][laugh]

Well that's true, no more new kermit rite? how much you reckon a resale one will costs?

NSH has taken over BS, not sure if it is still that hiong or not, as you know nowdays I prefer delayed gratification....haha...

Black Bezel, sorri what is pin holes, I am a noob, not sure what is the serial can only find 78790A inscribed on it....I remembered I ever posted a picture of it in mcf though...

If yours is bought before 2006, most like got pinhole.

Audi is bread and butter , dont you know

Yes, I reckon any car that Sabbie can buy with cash is B & B, at least that's how I classify cars, haha, with the Maserati GT selling for 420K, that makes it B & B....but you also rightly point out buying it and affording it are two different things so I definitely can't afford it! [laugh]

Bro.

The $500 one is genuine alligator or crocodile skin.

The $50 one is most likelu calf leather with alligator pattern embossed on it.

That is the difference.

You can differentiate it by smell, the genuine croc has a salty water smell. The calf leather smells like normal leather.

For experts, one look at the strap they can see whether it is genuine or embossed. The grain is very obvious.

For a watch like daytona, get the real thing lah.

thanks for the tips but I do know my skins.

$50 is not quite the best comparison I've made, I agree.

It is fairly well made genuine croco skin. good enough for me.

See the pic of my Day date.

A comparable and good genuine croco skin strap (not embossed leather) can be had from hadley roma, hirsch etc for easily less then $200. I'm a cheapo, no need to get $500 Rolex strap.

Well that's true, no more new kermit rite? how much you reckon a resale one will costs?

NSH has taken over BS, not sure if it is still that hiong or not, as you know nowdays I prefer delayed gratification....haha...

still have lah, some ADs still keeping it, but expect around 9k. resale depends on series, the first series F ( true anniversary ) worth more than 10k. The other series generally between 6.5k to 8k depending on condition.

If yours is bought before 2006, most like got pinhole.

You mean the pinhole connecting it to the chain? well then have....anyway peng kwee told me they willing to take it in for 5K, another shop 4.6K....I think they sell it for 6300 to 6500....although mine got light scartches, still in good condition, i wear it daily...

Send me a picture if you are seirous about selling.

dun sell to those reseller shops lah, like sharks [sweatdrop]

your gmt2 chao chao can get 5.8k if lelong sales in ROC forum

dun sell to those reseller shops lah, like sharks [sweatdrop]

your gmt2 chao chao can get 5.8k if lelong sales in ROC forum

Thanks for your advice, guess better to do direct seller, or sell to throttle02....

I don't like Rolex and Merc because they are too show-offy at an affordable price. Those qualities tend to attract lots of unpleasant a-----es who have "just arrived" and can't wait to shove their newly acquired luxuries in your face while acting like they own the world.

I know i am generalising about people as well, but i may have been very unlucky to meet these unpleasant people who wear rolex and drive merc. It used to be bmw drivers who were the unpleasant a-----es but many of them have moved on to audi and merc (especially since the newer brash models came out).

Actually , thats what I meant although i didnt elaborate too much.

You dont want to be seen as being in the same category as those fellas.

Thats fair. I've seen many of those too.

it's funny that people will try to do that becos Rolex is really bread and butter.

a good watch with long history and heritage. something you wear to bash around with becos it allows you to do so.

So I've worn a rolex since 1998 and I've recent swopped from a BMW to a Mercy.

Hope that does not make me your unpleasant ass$ who has just arrived acting like I am owning the world. becos it is very easy to get misundersood in forums

One of key activities of my existence in this forum is to knock the senses into such unpleasant asses but in that process, I know that I have also been branded the same. I also know that there are many folks here who are cool enough to see beyond that and those folks are people whom I have no qualms meeting in person.

sorry back to watches

Thanks for your advice, guess better to do direct seller, or sell to throttle02....

I was actually looking for an older model on pepsi or coke bezel with pinholes.

16700 series the last of the GMT master.

I like the older models with pinholes. and i like them on straps.

Actually , thats what I meant although i didnt elaborate too much.

You dont want to be seen as being in the same category as those fellas.

Thats fair. I've seen many of those too.

it's funny that people will try to do that becos Rolex is really bread and butter.

a good watch with long history and heritage. something you wear to bash around with becos it allows you to do so.

So I've worn a rolex since 1998 and I've recent swopped from a BMW to a Mercy.

Hope that does not make me your unpleasant ass$ who has just arrived acting like I am owning the world. becos it is very easy to get misundersood in forums

One of key activities of my existence in this forum is to knock the senses into such unpleasant asses but in that process, I know that I have also been branded the same. I also know that there are many folks here who are cool enough to see beyond that and those folks are people whom I have no qualms meeting in person.

sorry back to watches

I am along this school of thought too, what's the big deal whether you are rich or not....just be comfortable in your own shoes whether you are a real table wiper or a posuer table wiper with 5million....my fren just just telling me he got this ya ya young guy in his office trying to show off his mont blanc wallet and rolex watch....he was thinking of whipping out his AP to haolian....then decided against it....what's the point!?