Watches

Davidklt

u toking abt your experience si boh? go ktv wear rolec confirm xmm wanna sian u lah [laugh] [laugh]

Bo leh, nowadays prc mms very savvy one, go for AP, VC and the likes...see rolex know I just a poor salaried worker.... [bigcry]

Its really up to individual on whether they feel they can pull it off.

I suggest u consider those younger and hip brands like Bell & Ross.

B&R doesn't even make an in-house movement, how to respect them?

rolex not so ex lah, 10K can get some decent piece. u interested in dress or sports model?

sports model can get gmt2c, subC or new exp 2, dress just get the datejust lor

want something special, get the milgauss

I like sea explorer but I just could not acquire the taste in milgauss? Milgauss is expensive and i cannot understand what is so good about this series? can anyone share some explanation?

who's talking about respect here?

I'm just making a recommendation based on his age profile and knowledge on watches.

B&R has an instantly recognisable case and is being marketed as an upmarket brand. Suits that young man rather than a Rolex which at his age doesn't suit him and he prolly won't appreciate it for all its history and everything..

I like sea explorer but I just could not acquire the taste in milgauss? Milgauss is expensive and i cannot understand what is so good about this series? can anyone share some explanation?

to me, It's anti magnetic, relatively harder to find and dressy enough yet not ah pek like the datejust or daydate

Still, not my cup of tea though.

u got new born meh? [rolleyes]

Not newborn

But my children still drink milk daily.

And even if they dont drink milk, there is still the food, clothes, entertainment, enrichment, insurance blah blah...

I think i better sell all my Rolexes and wear my speedy....

Sigh...

who's talking about respect here?

I'm just making a recommendation based on his age profile and knowledge on watches.

B&R has an instantly recognisable case and is being marketed as an upmarket brand. Suits that young man rather than a Rolex which at his age doesn't suit him and he prolly won't appreciate it for all its history and everything..

I understand your point. Perhaps I'm betraying my own prejudices here, but I've always thought truly good "high end" watchmakers use their own movements rather than using off the shelf ETA movements. There are others who share the same view.

In this respect, Rolex does have the edge for "purity" - they always use their own movements. I respect Rolex (and some other makes) for this. I personally wouldn't purchase an "upmarket" brand solely because of its price and packaging - what makes it tick is even more important to me (which is why I personally wouldn't go for a B&R). But others may have other priorities.

Yup thats an option but i would prefer original in this instance.

Anyway still considering.

Maybe consider until keep the money instead.

Milk Powder expensive lah

No problem, you can always go down to AP centre in River Valley to buy an original brown strap for your dual time rose gold and have them change it for you. They have the requisite tools. Don't bother with aftermarket manufacturers like AP bands and the like because their straps have no built in metal grooves in the leather where the strap meets the lugs. And AP centre will NOT change the aftermarket strap for you.

In any case, it is not advisable to change any AP Royal Oak model (offshores, dual times, chronographs, etc) strap yourself. It is a complicated process because the lugs have screws and the strap has screws as well and they come out of the factory super tight. You need brute force in unscrewing them and when you manually apply brute force on a little screwdriver on tiny screws, you WILL slip. I have succeeded in changing an Offshore strap myself but gave many scratches to the case and killed the screws. Had to send the watch back to AP to polish the case and the screws.

So there you go, there is very little room for aftermarket mods on the Royal Oak. Even when polishing an AP please please do not send it to anyone other than AP centre. Unless you want your Royal Oak to look fake after polish. Reason being the Royal Oak case has a very particular brushed finish. Not easy to emulate. The octagonal bezel has an entirely different brushed finish and it is so uniquely done that i guess only AP-employed and AP-trained artisans can do it like the original.

For what you are paying for a Bell & Ross, you should not expect an inhouse movement.

Other than Rolex, i don't think you can find any Swiss watch under S$10,000 that has a true in-house movement, save for one or two models of the 1950 range of Panerais (after discount).

The economics of developing from scratch an in-house movement just does not make sense if the company sold the watch cheaply and in small quantities. Only Rolex can move that kind of volume globally to justify an in house movement at that low price, based on their far-reaching and hallowed reputation.

So what many watchmakers do for their lower priced range of watches is take a garden variety tried and tested movement (like the Valjoux 7750 that costs only $300 to procure) that is reliable; modify, replace (with their own manufactured parts) and refinish the parts in the movement and claim it as their modified version of the original movement, put in into their original designed and manufactured cases and dials, and hawk it as an affordable watch under their brand. It is like like what RUF, Alpina or Brabus do to the original, except that the watchmakers sell these "tuned 7750" watches at prices way below their watches with their own fully in-house movement, if they have any. Still, i can appreciate how difficult it is to stomach paying a few thousand bucks for a good looking steel or titanium case containing a $300 movement, nevermind the precision manufacturing of the case and the artistry behind the case finish.

By the way, B&R was born from Sinn. http://www.thewatchquote.com/Bell-Ross-History-No_3873.htm

Edited by Viceroymenthol

No problem, you can always go down to AP centre in River Valley to buy an original brown strap for your dual time rose gold and have them change it for you. They have the requisite tools. Don't bother with aftermarket manufacturers like AP bands and the like because their straps have no built in metal grooves in the leather where the strap meets the lugs. And AP centre will NOT change the aftermarket strap for you.

In any case, it is not advisable to change any AP Royal Oak model (offshores, dual times, chronographs, etc) strap yourself. It is a complicated process because the lugs have screws and the strap has screws as well and they come out of the factory super tight. You need brute force in unscrewing them and when you

manually apply brute force on a little screwdriver on tiny screws, you WILL slip. I have succeeded in changing an Offshore strap myself but gave many scratches to the case and killed the screws. Had to send the watch back to AP to polish the case and the screws.

So there you go, there is very little room for aftermarket mods on the Royal Oak. Even when polishing an AP please please do not send it to anyone other than AP centre. Unless you want your Royal Oak to look fake after polish. Reason being the Royal Oak case has a very particular brushed finish. Not easy to emulate. The octagonal bezel has an entirely different brushed finish and it is so uniquely done that i guess only AP-employed and AP-trained artisans can do it like the original.

thanks for the input Viceroy,

i guess the strap would cost about $400-500?

yup i wouldnt dare to "operate" on the AP should i get it.

the Dual Time rose gold is definitely an AP, i would consider.

any indication of the price?

i was told that, 25% off retail was pretty standard.

how about grey market pieces?

For what you are paying for a Bell & Ross, you should not expect an inhouse movement.

Other than Rolex, i don't think you can find any Swiss watch under S$10,000 that has a true in-house movement, save for one or two models of the 1950 range of Panerais (after discount).

The economics of developing from scratch an in-house movement just does not make sense if the company sold the watch cheaply and in small quantities. Only Rolex can move that kind of volume globally to justify an in house movement at that low price, based on their far-reaching and hallowed reputation.

So what many watchmakers do for their lower priced range of watches is take a garden variety tried and tested movement (like the Valjoux 7750 that costs only $300 to procure) that is reliable; modify, replace (with their own manufactured parts) and refinish the parts in the movement and claim it as their modified version of the original movement, put in into their original designed and manufactured cases and dials, and hawk it as an affordable watch under their brand. It is like like what RUF, Alpina or Brabus do to the original, except that the watchmakers sell these "tuned 7750" watches at prices way below their watches with their own fully in-house movement, if they have any. Still, i can appreciate how difficult it is to stomach paying a few thousand bucks for a good looking steel or titanium case containing a $300 movement, nevermind the precision manufacturing of the case and the artistry behind the case finish.

By the way, B&R was born from Sinn. http://www.thewatchquote.com/Bell-Ross-History-No_3873.htm

Thank you for the detailed answer, very informative. The part in bold echoes my sentiments well. [:)]

I understand your point. Perhaps I'm betraying my own prejudices here, but I've always thought truly good "high end" watchmakers use their own movements rather than using off the shelf ETA movements. There are others who share the same view.

In this respect, Rolex does have the edge for "purity" - they always use their own movements. I respect Rolex (and some other makes) for this. I personally wouldn't purchase an "upmarket" brand solely because of its price and packaging - what makes it tick is even more important to me (which is why I personally wouldn't go for a B&R). But others may have other priorities.

You are right. I agree with all your points.

I wouldn't buy a B&R myself, but that shouldn't stop me from recommending it as a choice for a 21 year old newbie to watches.

I think it fits his profile well at that price range and it can be a talking point among his friends and stir up further reading and appreciation into the world of watches.

Give chance to young brands lah. Even the Daytona used to run the El Primero at first, which is not theirs.

But good to see another watch enthusiast here! :)

You are right. I agree with all your points.

I wouldn't buy a B&R myself, but that shouldn't stop me from recommending it as a choice for a 21 year old newbie to watches.

I think it fits his profile well at that price range and it can be a talking point among his friends and stir up further reading and appreciation into the world of watches.

Give chance to young brands lah. Even the Daytona used to run the El Primero at first, which is not theirs.

But good to see another watch enthusiast here! :)

I'm a sort of "closet" watch enthusiast. I like watches, but I'm so fixated on accuracy (obsessed with it, really), that I'm only satisfied with digital quartz watches (of course, they look like crap, but boh pian). In fact, my greatest lament is that watches that are supposed to automatically synchronise to atomic timekeeping stations just don't work reliably here. The signal reception is not predictable. [:(]

Wow, the watches getting more and more atas, I like, but I still think a watch is meant to be worn and versatile for all use, so not into dressy watches yet

no lah, I just wanna know market price as I hv a contact for Piagets n I find this model nice

paiseh if I call my fren to ask for price n dun buy

no lah, I just wanna know market price as I hv a contact for Piagets n I find this model nice

paiseh if I call my fren to ask for price n dun buy

Oic, try to google online? buy and post for us to enjoy la.....watches at least don't depreciate as much as cars.....

Piaget Polo.. nuthing special... just tt i like it....

saw it on a magazine... think its a piaget polo forty five chronograph ...

think too ex for me... [bigcry]

i post my G shock ai mai?

Edited by Raymondism