Kindness Begets Kindness

Atonchia

Life is profoundly influenced by our thoughts, our emotion. What we spread will comes around one day.

Have you done a good deed today? [:)]

Here's a short example.

• Praise 10

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/06/10/skm-sets-up-kindness-cafe-at-one-raffles-place/

SKM sets up ‘Kindness Cafe’ at One Raffles Place
dmca_protected_sml_120n.pngPostDateIcon.png June 10th, 2014 | PostAuthorIcon.png Author: Editorial

Capture8-300x184.jpg

(Photo: SKM)

A “Kindness Cafe” has been set up at One Raffles Place by the Singapore Kindness Movement (SKM).

It is part of SKM’s effort to promote mutual respect and courtesy between service staff and customers.

The idea is simple. If the customer greets the staff, he or she will get a discount for coffee.

The going rates for coffee at the Kindness Cafe are:

• For saying “Good afternoon! One coffee, please. Thank you”, the customer pays $2
  • For saying “Please” only, the customer pays $4
  • Otherwise, the customer pays $5

The first hundred customers to compliment the cafe staff will even get a free loaf of Gardenia wholemeal bread.

The beverages are sponsored by Jewel Coffee.

The media reported that one banker, Hwang Jien Lit, 31, said, “I tried to get a bigger discount by adding ‘super please’ but it did not work.”

“I usually do say ‘please’ to service staff but if they are rude to me, I do not say ‘thank you’,” Mr Hwang added.

Dr William Wan

ST-Desmond-Foo-Dr-William-Wan-300x170.jp

Dr William Wan (Photo: ST)

The SKM’s general secretary is Dr William Wan. He is currently applying for the post of Nominated Member of Parliament.

Dr Wan first came to public prominence during the Anton Casey saga in January 2014. Right after Briton Anton Casey belittled Singaporean commuters on the MRT, Dr Wan came out to defend him (‘SKM condemns ‘online lynching’ of Anton Casey‘).

Casey had described Singaporean MRT commuters as “poor people”. He said, “Normal service (after getting his Porsche back from the workshop) can resume, once I have washed the stench of public transport off me FFS!” (FFS is an acronym for “for f**k’s sake”.)

In an article, Dr Wan lamented that “something has gone wrong with us Singaporeans”. He said incidents like Anton Casey “reiterate the need for us to reassess our social media habits”.

Defending Casey, Dr Wan surmised that he was perhaps “simply being thoughtless and careless” when he posted the offensive remarks:

There exists within the virtual world a ‘CSI’ community which is prepared to name and shame you if in their judgment, you offend others. The online naming and shaming culture has been propagated and abetted by social media and citizenship journalism websites.

When the fledgling CSI community here goes to work, social media denizens egg them on, and each time, they celebrate the successful naming and shaming of the offenders. The merits of such a culture are themselves debatable, but the celebration of it is just plain wrong.

He said that judges do not exchange high fives for putting a rapist in jail for life.

The Kindness Cafe will be at Raffles Place until tomorrow (11 Jun) and will move to the National Library Board Atrium this weekend (14-15 Jun).

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/06/10/skm-sets-up-kindness-cafe-at-one-raffles-place/

Like it or not, the era of police state, self-policing communities, Big Brother apparatus are upon us and will not go away.

Edited by Toothiewabbit

So how for for that lady that says This coffee taste like horse piss?

$25? $50? $100?

she just has to say.....good afternoon..your coffee taste like horse piss....thank you....

and she pay $4 lah....lol

Edited by Tianmo

the one thing most people forget -

You cannot control how others behave, you can only control your own actions and reactions.

Many people also don't understand what I think of as cosmic magnetic forces - you attract to yourself the service you expect in the proportion to how you behave...

behave like a "bad customer" you will get treated badly,

appreciate the service - you will get appreciative service

Focus on the bad, the bad will happen to you

Enjoy the good, good things will come your way...

it sounds really corny, but for me - it really does seem to work this way.

I very very seldom experience bad service, or service that upsets me

Will AWARE lodge a complaint saying that the kindness movement promotion disadvantages those with speech disability/difficulty. :huh:

You cannot control how others behave, you can only control your own actions and reactions.

Many people also don't understand what I think of as cosmic magnetic forces - you attract to yourself the service you expect in the proportion to how you behave...

Let me guess you had very good service when you fly SIA?

Me too when I was flying to Japan and they thot I was from Japan.

Sound very corny, like those who believe in the law of attraction.

no wonder you are not so welcome in MCF.......and even gotten yourself locked up before......boy....you must have hated MCF...[laugh]

How good is the coffee? If really like horse shit, say thank you still must pay $2 for that?

he selling coffee leh...he said be kind get discount....never say not nice no need pay hor......[laugh]

Let me guess you had very good service when you fly SIA?

Me too when I was flying to Japan and they thot I was from Japan.

I've only ever flown SIA once - and it was the only airline to refuse me extra food when I asked...

they offered my peanuts instead

How good is the coffee? If really like horse shit, say thank you still must pay $2 for that?

If they say please and thank you to you, I don't think you have to pay more. [laugh]

I've only ever flown SIA once - and it was the only airline to refuse me extra food when I asked...

That is strange, they always ask if I want extra food. Maybe I have hungry look when I see pretty air stewardess. Fortunately the air stewards never offered me their nuts. :huh:

I also had very good service at Changi airport, so good that I didn't have to queue.

I was walking to a check in counter in front of my colleague from Korea.

A nice gentleman in a very smart uniform said to my colleague - Sir you don't need to queue

and invited him to the first class counter. So I reversed and followed him and said

to the nice man, I also don't need to queue as I am with him.

My colleague and one both had the same economy ticket, bought from the same travel agent

at the same price so why the preferential treatment for him? Only cos he was from abroad.

Another case was related to me by my boss. He and a friend were waiting for the doors to open

to dissembark the aircraft when his friend started to switch on his handphone and the steward

shouted at him - you cannot switch on your phone until you are inside the terminal.

And his friend a local shot back to the steward - why you shout at me and not shout at him,

pointing to a caucasian gentleman who also switched on his handphone at the same

time in full view of the steward - is it because I am Chinese?

So yes some people always do get nicer treatment but not always because they are nice,

could be the colour of their skin.

Wow that's a lot of money they offered you.

They never offered me a dime.

Edited by Jamesc

he selling coffee leh...he said be kind get discount....never say not nice no need pay hor......[laugh]

that is very unkind [mad]

I also had very good service at Changi airport, so good that I didn't have to queue.

I was walking to a check in counter in front of my colleague from Korea.

A nice gentleman in a very smart uniform said to my colleague - Sir you don't need to queue

and invited him to the first class counter. So I reversed and followed him and said

to the nice man, I also don't need to queue as I am with him.

My colleague and one both had the same economy ticket, bought from the same travel agent

at the same price so why the preferential treatment for him? Only cos he was from abroad.

Another case was related to me by my boss. He and a friend were waiting for the doors to open

to dissembark the aircraft when his friend started to switch on his handphone and the steward

shouted at him - you cannot switch on your phone until you are inside the terminal.

And his friend a local shot back to the steward - why you shout at me and not shout at him,

pointing to a caucasian gentleman who also switched on his handphone at the same

time in full view of the steward - is it because I am Chinese?

So yes some people always do get nicer treatment but not always because they are nice,

could be the colour of their skin.

Wow that's a lot of money they offered you.

They never offered me a dime.

i think you are on a roll today. pls note i still owe you 10 points liao including the above. roflol. on fire bro!