Kah Motor brings in new version of Civic SAME as the US!

Jujitsuka

The focus on power has long vanished. Now its economy and emissions that are joint kings. Look at what Mazda did with their skyactive engines. They used the high compression ratio to make the engine more efficient and frugal instead of keeping the same FC and giving their cars more power.

Petrol heads like us are becoming dinosaurs liao.

You can get good fuel economy, decent power, & low emission from a lot of engines these days. The TSI engine in Golf or Jetta for instance, or the ecoboost from ford.

Quoted for truth.

If people say they buy civic for it's Honda badge when a Jetta is available, I dunno what else to call it. Plain ignorance or utter stupidity.

New civic is the old altis.

Jetta is nice, but I will top up a bit to get the Passat. How much does the Passat cost these days. The new Passat is damn chio, :wub: & its the 2nd best selling car in Germany after Golf.

2012-volkswagen-passat-wagon-rendering_100313350_m.jpg

Edited by Kiadaw

You can get good fuel economy, decent power, & low emission from a lot of engines these days. The TSI engine in Golf or Jetta for instance, or the ecoboost from ford.

The problem is decent power [laugh] I'm sure other petrolheads would like to have more power at the expense of fuel economy and the environment [:p]

Jetta is nice, but I will top up a bit to get the Passat. How much does the Passat cost these days. The new Passat is damn chio, :wub: & its the 2nd best selling car in Germany after Golf.

Passat is a good choice, if comparing mid size sedans with Japanese or Korean offerings, my choice will not be accord or camry. I will take Passat or KIA Optima or Hyundai i45 :D

You seem to love wagon hor. I prefer skoda superb combi, sleek looks.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/events_features.php?AID=2514

SAy byebye to sales Honda... This version of the US exterior was rated not recommended in the Consumer Reports.

Kah Motor should have brought in the UK version which would had a better appeal to the locals

I thought it was a joke cuz it looks like the current CITY until I saw the back end.

1.6litre

Max Power (bhp): 125 @ 6,500 rpm

WTF!!!!! HOW MANY YEARS ALREADY STILL 125 BHP FROM A 1.6?!?!?!

Relative to Honda Civic current gen (released in 2006), the improvement is ZERO

actually the improvement is negative if you consider the look [laugh]

But then don't be surprised to see that it's still selling like hot cakes consider the number of H badge fan boys we have in Singapore -_-

having said that, 125 for a 1.6 NA is very good already, I think very hard to improve with current tech unless they SC/TC it.

Wonder how many speed is the gearbox for the auto 1.6 and 1.8? The article didn't state anything about the gearbox.

This new gen 9 civic is available in 5-speed 1.6, 1.8 and 2.0L in sg. Looks like the design not nice as compared to gen 8 civic, maybe because the gen 8 civic design too nice liao?! [rolleyes]

I think this civic still can sell, cause i think there are still many hardcore honda fans. :D

Wonder how many speed is the gearbox for the auto 1.6 and 1.8? The article didn't state anything about the gearbox.

This new gen 9 civic is available in 5-speed 1.6, 1.8 and 2.0L in sg. Looks like the design not nice as compared to gen 8 civic, maybe because the gen 8 civic design too nice liao?! [rolleyes]

I think this civic still can sell, cause i think there are still many hardcore honda fans. :D

The fact is that for the same amount of $$$, the alternative is a Jetta which will provide stiff competition to the Civic. I am curious and waiting to see how it will perform in the market. A lot of the Gen 8 Civic owners have already changed to the Jetta.

In terms of look, for this segment of the market, the Elantra looks the best but the look will not last. For this segment, I would likely go for the Jetta.

I have a hardcore Honda neighbour, he has been driving Civics all his life and even change from pre FL to FL model for the ES and FD models. It would be interesting to see if he change his time, he has been driving his current FD for 4 years now.

Well said.

The fact is that for the same amount of $$$, the alternative is a Jetta which will provide stiff competition to the Civic. I am curious and waiting to see how it will perform in the market. A lot of the Gen 8 Civic owners have already changed to the Jetta.

In terms of look, for this segment of the market, the Elantra looks the best but the look will not last. For this segment, I would likely go for the Jetta.

I have a hardcore Honda neighbour, he has been driving Civics all his life and even change from pre FL to FL model for the ES and FD models. It would be interesting to see if he change his time, he has been driving his current FD for 4 years now.

It's time for your neighbour to change his 4 year old civic to the new civic. :D

i wouldnt go jetta cos i still have the mindset on continental cars reliability and after-sales. i will still stick to japanese..call me mountain tortoise.