Switch from Iphone to Galaxy Notes??

Billcoke

This Hub Club thing has some restrictions.. I signed on a Iphone 4s 1 yr after my contract, previous phone was iphone4.. The salesperson said if my previous contract is for iphone I'll need to top up $100.. LLST lo.. Explanation was hub club benefits is for $200.. But iphone value is $300 for early renewal under hub club, therefore must top up $100 over 2 yr plan price.. Other phones not affected.. Dat's what I understand.. I sold my 4s on the same day i bought for $1050 den bought a note without contract.. Anyway, Starhub price for galaxy note under Smartsurt 100 ($58 plan) is quite expensive.. $408 or 418 rite compared to Sinktel's $298..

iszi?? hmm.. that wasnt what i experience with singtel. zero dollar given..

Another one to consider. The HTC One X. Unvealed just yesterday at the WMC.

HTC One X

HTC has taken the wraps off of the HTC One X, its new smartphone flagship, packing a Tegra 3 quadcore+1 processor, 4.7-inch 1280 x 720 Super-LCD display, and an 8-megapixel camera. Measuring in at a pocket-dominating 134.36 x 69.9 x 8.9 mm, with a polycarbonate chassis and microdrilled speaker holes, the One X runs Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich with HTC Sense 4.0 on top, with 1GB of RAM and 32GB of internal storage.

There

Edited by Shull

Anyone here successfully upgraded their Android from Ginger Bread to Ice Cream Sandwich? Any issues faced so far?

Edited by Billcoke

Yeah, I don't understand why microSIM and how much space it can save?

precisely. that's my chief complaint and my wife got a black face from me when she bought the ipad2.

i feel Apple went overboard with trying to be different such that some of the things they tried to be different about, brought inconveniences instead of better user experience. this microsim is a particular example.

I also have this problem on my samsung notes.

cant even setup singnet email.

im using starhub line.

===================

used the htc (starhub line) for almost 1 year and recently, got problem using singnet email.

kept on saying wrong setup. knn, damn tulan.

go to singtel, they say back to starhub since using starhub line.

go to starhub, they say singtel email, go back to singtel.

CCB, these two carriers.

har, so no soluton :( i suspect there is some restriction on the phone (not telco) for port 25.....

precisely. that's my chief complaint and my wife got a black face from me when she bought the ipad2.

i feel Apple went overboard with trying to be different such that some of the things they tried to be different about, brought inconveniences instead of better user experience. this microsim is a particular example.

guess everyone is trying to squeeze as much place into the phone as possible for new and more power stuff..

the industries is heading towards that direction with Nokia and not Nexus joining the micro sim. unavoidable liao. what i want see dont is to cut the material by not using large size card for small size sim.. total waste of material.

guess everyone is trying to squeeze as much place into the phone as possible for new and more power stuff..

the industries is heading towards that direction with Nokia and not Nexus joining the micro sim. unavoidable liao. what i want see dont is to cut the material by not using large size card for small size sim.. total waste of material.

i am getting the Lumia 800, when contract end in May :D

i look at the sim and the microsim. the size difference doesn't allow them to utilize it for anything plausible for the phone and not that the iphone or ipad has used up the space also. so what is the point to introduce it and create problems for multi phone and tablet user?

are you sure the material they saved has anything meaningful to the green movement or any other grand scheme?

Edited by Acemundo

i look at the sim and the microsim. the size difference doesn't allow them to utilize it for anything plausible for the phone and not that the iphone or ipad has used up the space also. so what is the point to introduce it and create problems for multi phone and tablet user?

are you sure the material they saved has anything meaningful to the green movement or any other grand scheme?

Not helping the earth at all. The SIM card will still be produced in ID-1 format, or Credit card size. If anything, we are throwing away more plastic and use smaller SIM/plastic for microsim.

me , from

xperia x10 (2010 may) --> iphone 4 --> galaxy S2 .really love the S2 and never once had any issue with it.rooted it ,using custom ICS rom and kernel,undervolt it and running at 1.6ghz without any issues and had amazing battery life.but lately i was itching to get a new phone and was considering the note/nexus/xperia S.

end up gotten the xperia S at a really good price.nothing amazing about the specs and find it abit too late for sony mobile to come out with a dual core 1.5ghz only

at this stage.and it requires a micro sim and no SD card expandable.the 12mp camera is abit laggy and photos seems abit pixelated .but the design really caught my attention and make up for other short comings of the hardware specs.

had the bootloader unlocked and the phone rooted.hoping the official ICS will be available soon.

just wondering if anyone got around to changing the notification for sms by using other sounds ??

the built-in notification sounds are pathetic - short and soft ... 95% of the time, i dun even know i got a sms !!

i can only set external sounds as ringtone but not the sms notification.

any idea ?

just wondering if anyone got around to changing the notification for sms by using other sounds ??

the built-in notification sounds are pathetic - short and soft ... 95% of the time, i dun even know i got a sms !!

i can only set external sounds as ringtone but not the sms notification.

any idea ?

Go marketplace n dl the apps for sms ringtones.

thks ... but managed to google for instructions on how to add the tones manually already.

now i got loud and long tones !!

btw, anyone put 32gb class 10 micro-sd card into their galaxy note ?

how is the performance ? does it become slower since it has to sift through the micro-sd ?