DSLR or ILC?

Ssbcc

Its US$6,800 speculated...so if you compare it to the previous 1DS Mk3...its actually cheaper & better leh... [:)]

if i strike 1M toto, i buy 1DX + 16-24 + 24-70 + 70-200 :wub::wub:

now back my old crop sensor, back to reality [bigcry]

Edited by Mustank

Thanks for all the pointers.

For me, portability is important as I tend to shoot mostly when I go travelling. That was why i was attracted to ILC initially.

But now I notice that some DSLRs are relatively small as well and I do see a lot of people travelling with SLRs.

One question for those who have SLRs, which lenses do you bring with you when you travel?

17-55mm...Cheap & Good...17mm for Landscape & 55mm for "Chio Bu"s... [laugh]

@ f2.8 & ISO 6400...the "Chio Bu"s cannot hide in the dark... [laugh]

Edited by Chowyunfatt

Just buy the cheapest in the market and wait for the next generation camera "The Lytro" .... -_-

Latest technology, 'Shoot first, Focus later' ... [sly]

I have one Nikon D70 and will be waiting for this camera on sale .... [smash]

post-21853-1331085801_thumb.jpg

17-55mm...Cheap & Good...17mm for Landscape & 55mm for "Chio Bu"s... [laugh]

hmmmm............... so far how your 600mm telephoto len. any picture of couples at West Coast Park to show ... [sly]

[:p][:p]

if i strike 1M toto, i buy 1DX + 16-24 + 24-70 + 70-200 :wub::wub:

now back my old crop sensor, back to reality [bigcry]

nothing can compare to a 600mm one ... [:p]

For me, portability is important as I tend to shoot mostly when I go travelling. That was why i was attracted to ILC initially.

But now I notice that some DSLRs are relatively small as well and I do see a lot of people travelling with SLRs.

One question for those who have SLRs, which lenses do you bring with you when you travel?

I only have kit lens. Can do for beginner.

If you take more under bright light then ILC is a better choice.

But if you like to take pictures indoor like inside the museum where flash is prohibited, then you need DSLR.

I only have kit lens. Can do for beginner.

If you take more under bright light then ILC is a better choice.

But if you like to take pictures indoor like inside the museum where flash is prohibited, then you need DSLR.

I've been told that the low light performance of these ILCs are comparable to, if not better than entry level SLRs.

Is that true?

When i brought my kids to hk disneyland, i was loaded with the following:

1) One bagpack containing various kids stuff

2) One top load camera bag containing 40D + 17-55 lens

3) one top load anyhow bag contaiing 2 flash

SIONG ARH!!!!!!! :ph34r: But the pictures [inlove]

I like this one Nikkor 600mm........... but cost 10K+

next year, I will get it with my CPF money ... [bounce2]

post-21853-1331086423_thumb.png

Edited by Picnic06

I've been told that the low light performance of these ILCs are comparable to, if not better than entry level SLRs.

Is that true?

You see arh, ILC uses crop sensor. entry level and semi pro also uses crop sensor. but is the iso performance (ie same iso but not as noisy) the same? that one i dont know. you have to reaserch.

but one thing is for sure. jokers who reviewed the 5dmk2 and 5dmk3 are saying that although both usesw the full frame sensor, 5dmk3 has better iso performance, at a price [:p]

I like this one Nikkor 600mm........... but cost 10K+

next year, I will get it with my CPF money ... [bounce2]

Wah piang eh! you want so zoom for what? [sly]

I have one of the smallest DSLR (mirrorless and double mirriors) and it's not fun back packing it overseas for two weeks [laugh] . However DSLRs are much faster.

ILCs although slower can be very useful when you need portability and less weight. Trust me, you wouldn't even want to bring your cam out if it's heavy, not to mention taking shooting [;)]

Is that true?

it mostly depends on the len and i believe ILC is fine is not shooting for competition :D

Otherwise get a used DSLR ($500+) for play play and see if you like it. ILC also not cheap.

When i brought my kids to hk disneyland, i was loaded with the following:

1) One bagpack containing various kids stuff

2) One top load camera bag containing 40D + 17-55 lens

3) one top load anyhow bag contaiing 2 flash

SIONG ARH!!!!!!! :ph34r: But the pictures [inlove]

Oh NO! You forgot to bring the memory cards!!!!!

hmmmm............... so far how your 600mm telephoto len. any picture of couples at West Coast Park to show ... [sly]

[:p][:p]

I use that for my work lar...*Basket*... [laugh]

Wah piang eh! you want so zoom for what? [sly]

Now on semi retirement, going to Europe, USA, China & Taiwan to take photos of mountains sceneries.... :wub:

I like beatiful sceneries.... [:)]