inlinesix Hypersonic March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 Depends on how much you love photography. Bec your love for it will translate into a willingness to lug all the gear around. I thought I wanted a DSLR until my photobug friend asked me to accompany him for half a day. He made me lug his gear. After 3 hours, I told him I gg for ILC. I have always been SLR buff until i found Fuji X100. Sold off my D70s and only use Fuji X100. I might buy a DSLR in future when D300s replacement is out. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 I have 70-300mm lens. Took this in 2009 hmmmm......... taken during F1, If use 600mm, maybe can see Hamilton digging his nose ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 i get the point. but ususally senery shots are taken when there is sunlight, and the senery dont move around, why need f2.8 Agree to a certain extend. F2.8 is good for panning and candid portaits. But to take a shot of a landscape at night, when you don't have a tripod and flash will not help in anything, F2.8 will come in very handy (together wth a higher ISO setting). Also, quality of the lens is very important. Try a EF and EF-S lens with the same settings and you will know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 (edited) very hard.......even in bright sunlight, i am using flash Fill flash? Wont it over expose most of the times if the background is bright? Usually have to use manual settings to compensate. Edited March 7, 2012 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 Fill flash? Wont it over expose most of the times if the background is bright? Usually have to use manual settings to compensate. confirm wont. Just dial down the exposure compensation. in fact i get flash gun to blast forward directly at subject. for eg, in bird park, background too sunny. by dailing down exp comp, effect becomes everything including the kid becomes "darker". Then chut direct forward flash. the flash only light up the subject and cannot light up the surronding one. viola, the subject and the surrounding got the same level of light. my firend lagi expert. he meter for the sky or meter for the subject. chim stuff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 Agree to a certain extend. F2.8 is good for panning and candid portaits. But to take a shot of a landscape at night, when you don't have a tripod and flash will not help in anything, F2.8 will come in very handy (together wth a higher ISO setting). Also, quality of the lens is very important. Try a EF and EF-S lens with the same settings and you will know. Options: 1) tripod + lens with lousy f 2) no tripod + lens with superb f If only scenery, i rather option 1 because cheaper and can do HDR Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 confirm wont. Just dial down the exposure compensation. in fact i get flash gun to blast forward directly at subject. for eg, in bird park, background too sunny. by dailing down exp comp, effect becomes everything including the kid becomes "darker". Then chut direct forward flash. the flash only light up the subject and cannot light up the surronding one. viola, the subject and the surrounding got the same level of light. my firend lagi expert. he meter for the sky or meter for the subject. chim stuff usually i avoid direct flash.. cos it will make the subject's face look "flat".. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 I travelled with my old trusty Canon 17-40L.. good enough for general shooting.. 17-40L is a good lens, provided it's a sharp copy . You play with primes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 17-40L is a good lens, provided it's a sharp copy . You play with primes? Nope.. so far i only have this lens.. thinking of buying a 12-24 to play with.. but, replacing my aging 20D comes as top priority.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 it mostly depends on the len and i believe ILC is fine is not shooting for competition Otherwise get a used DSLR ($500+) for play play and see if you like it. ILC also not cheap. i beg to differ. in this aspect, the sensor should be the key distinguishing parameter. 1. size of sensor? afaik, most ILC are APS-C at most. 2. size of individual light sensing pixel. the larger the better. 3. quality of sensor. not all sensors are made to be the same in performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 Nope.. so far i only have this lens.. thinking of buying a 12-24 to play with.. but, replacing my aging 20D comes as top priority.. Change to 5D la, rest no need to consider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 i beg to differ. in this aspect, the sensor should be the key distinguishing parameter. 1. size of sensor? afaik, most ILC are APS-C at most. 2. size of individual light sensing pixel. the larger the better. 3. quality of sensor. not all sensors are made to be the same in performance. but i always see Compact camera and ILC has better shot in low light, maybe for those few brands. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 usually i avoid direct flash.. cos it will make the subject's face look "flat".. i tried to copy this guy: http://neilvn.com/tangents/2009/10/27/favo...om-the-weekend/ he use off camera flash with soft box. i use full frontal. i think ok leh...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 i tried to copy this guy: http://neilvn.com/tangents/2009/10/27/favo...om-the-weekend/ he use off camera flash with soft box. i use full frontal. i think ok leh...... with some photoshop, can lah. Next time please use a xmm as model [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 I have always been SLR buff until i found Fuji X100. Sold off my D70s and only use Fuji X100. I might buy a DSLR in future when D300s replacement is out. That's why I'm relating to the TS that you must really like photography. Otherwise, it will be a white elephant. I want something I'm happy to bring along for a simple lunch gathering but still perform better than the typical P&S but without the bulk. I'm using the NEX-5N and I feel it will suit most casual users. Unless the need for speed is the only criterion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 with some photoshop, can lah. Next time please use a xmm as model [laugh] hard lah...... expert got: 70-200 f2.8. this one the boekh damm creamy i got: 17-55 f2.8 bokeh not creamy expert got: assistant to bring around off camera flash tripod, soft box...... i got: one man operation expert got: kid to pose. Can keep taking until song. i got: uncooperative kid. do the best with what i have Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 Additional strength of DSLR... The info LCD. It shows the current settings. Direct access to frequently use setting by pressing a button and turn the dial. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 7, 2012 Share March 7, 2012 but i always see Compact camera and ILC has better shot in low light, maybe for those few brands. i feel that point and shoots digital cameras have come a long way since the first digital camera appeared with a 1MP sensor using a 3.5" floppy diskette. Today's point and shoots are highly augmented by very powerful processing chips onboard e.g. Canon's proprietary DIGIC processor. Therefore, low light performance and low light colour reproduction are now much better than before. However if i take a photo using a Canon point and shoot as well as a Canon DSLR, both augmented by the same generation of DIGIC processor, i believe you can see a difference in terms of light performance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...