Shull Turbocharged March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 You can adjust the angle so it shoots at the ceiling (for indoors) or other objects so that the light won't be so harsh on the subject's face. If you don't want to spent $$$ on a freaking flash, you can improvise the one on your camera by putting a few pieces of paper in front to disperse the light. Pointing up is not direct flash liao mah.. [laugh] I have a diffuser on my external flash.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bullterrier Clutched March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 I have a Fuji X100 which gives me sharp pictures and beautiful colours and skin tones. I love that camera. But I also wanted something with a good zoom. I looked at the ILCs and DSLRs for quite a while. Read up all the reviews on dpreview.com and clubsnap.com.sg. The thing abt ILCs is that you end up with expensive lens and a small camera body attached to a big lens. Especially if you want zoom. The whole contraption is unwieldy and unbalanced if you ask me. Some ILCs dont even have a EVF much less a OVF which I feel is important. DSLRs are best but one end up easily lugging kgs of gear around when travelling. Most people keep their DSLRs as white elephants as a result of that and uses a 2nd camera which could be a good PnS like the Canon G series. In the end, I settled for a fixed super zoom lens bridge camera the Fuji XS-1. It has a 24-624mm f2.8-5.6 lens. The sensor is not as big as DSLR ones but about twice the size of those PnS so I can live with it. Its one camera, one thing to carry and no need to buy expensive lenses so it works for me. That said, this morning I took my X100 when we went for a nice stroll at the park near Esplanade. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 I have a Fuji X100 which gives me sharp pictures and beautiful colours and skin tones. I love that camera. But I also wanted something with a good zoom. I looked at the ILCs and DSLRs for quite a while. Read up all the reviews on dpreview.com and clubsnap.com.sg. The thing abt ILCs is that you end up with expensive lens and a small camera body attached to a big lens. Especially if you want zoom. The whole contraption is unwieldy and unbalanced if you ask me. Some ILCs dont even have a EVF much less a OVF which I feel is important. DSLRs are best but one end up easily lugging kgs of gear around when travelling. Most people keep their DSLRs as white elephants as a result of that and uses a 2nd camera which could be a good PnS like the Canon G series. In the end, I settled for a fixed super zoom lens bridge camera the Fuji XS-1. It has a 24-624mm f2.8-5.6 lens. The sensor is not as big as DSLR ones but about twice the size of those PnS so I can live with it. Its one camera, one thing to carry and no need to buy expensive lenses so it works for me. That said, this morning I took my X100 when we went for a nice stroll at the park near Esplanade. I am looking at the bridge Fuji HS30EXR. Do you have any comments for that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 I have a Fuji X100 which gives me sharp pictures and beautiful colours and skin tones. I love that camera. But I also wanted something with a good zoom. I looked at the ILCs and DSLRs for quite a while. Read up all the reviews on dpreview.com and clubsnap.com.sg. The thing abt ILCs is that you end up with expensive lens and a small camera body attached to a big lens. Especially if you want zoom. The whole contraption is unwieldy and unbalanced if you ask me. Some ILCs dont even have a EVF much less a OVF which I feel is important. DSLRs are best but one end up easily lugging kgs of gear around when travelling. Most people keep their DSLRs as white elephants as a result of that and uses a 2nd camera which could be a good PnS like the Canon G series. In the end, I settled for a fixed super zoom lens bridge camera the Fuji XS-1. It has a 24-624mm f2.8-5.6 lens. The sensor is not as big as DSLR ones but about twice the size of those PnS so I can live with it. Its one camera, one thing to carry and no need to buy expensive lenses so it works for me. That said, this morning I took my X100 when we went for a nice stroll at the park near Esplanade. Since u r used to X100, why not DSLR with prime lens? I moved from D70s to X100 because X100 is a newer sensor. I am waiting for D300 replacement to go back to DSLR. Since i m used to prime lens now, i will buy D300 replacement with 35mm DX lens. I also have a 50mm FX lens. With both lens, it will be good & light enough to travel. I also got an 70-300mm FX lens. What's the point of carrying such a long lens? Unless shoot bird. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 (edited) This is a question to all the photography buffs out there. I'm new to photography, but I would like to upgrade from a point and shoot camera to something better, but I have difficulty deciding between a ILC (the Sony NEX series) or a full sized DSLR (either the Canon EOS series or the Sony Alpha series). Can anyone share about the difference in shooting these 2 groups of cameras? Thanks. i never use ILC before and not sure what is missing inside compare to a DSLR. but i believe DSLR should give u more control on what u want to shoot and also it comes with bigger sensor which can produce a nicer bokeh and noise control during night shoot or shooting high ISO. and also not to forget that DSLR has got a wide variety of lenses to choose from especially Canon. invest in a good lens is also important as it can affect the photos greatly from detail,bokeh,contrast..etc and lastly,it boils down to individual's budget and what type of photos u intend to shoot,is weight an issue to you..etc before u make your decision to buy. Edited March 11, 2012 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 no necessarily.. a lens with a low f value will do.. f1.2 or 1.4 will be enough to maintain high shutter speed even at low lighting condition.. i had never use F1.2 before but yes F1.4 and this also need to depend on how low the lighting is. and also some lens do not perform sharpest wide open. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 cannot lah becasue of the following reasons: 1) f1.2-1.4 dont have USM. I am using ai servo to continously re-focusing on the kids because they move damm fast. I need a lens with USM to conplement the ai servo in order to get the correct focus instantly. 2) flash, though troublesome, have some advantage: (1) lights up the hair (2) allows you some leeway in the ISO (3) can give some creative lighting effect 3) f1.2-1.4 depth of view is way too narrow. if out of focus, picture chui..... F1.2-1.4 don't have USM? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 i'm looking at 2nd hand 5DII or the new 5DIII.. upgrade from my old 20D... bro,jump straight to 5D3. no point getting the older model. 5D2 focus pretty slow. and 5D3 has specs very close to 1D/Ds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 I like this one Nikkor 600mm........... but cost 10K+ next year, I will get it with my CPF money ... Canon used to make 1200mm with special order. but now the most is the 800mm still in production. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 confirm wont. Just dial down the exposure compensation. in fact i get flash gun to blast forward directly at subject. for eg, in bird park, background too sunny. by dailing down exp comp, effect becomes everything including the kid becomes "darker". Then chut direct forward flash. the flash only light up the subject and cannot light up the surronding one. viola, the subject and the surrounding got the same level of light. my firend lagi expert. he meter for the sky or meter for the subject. chim stuff usually this type u need a light metering to get a balance exposure between the sky and the subject. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 if u r using 1.8, you can adjust the aperture to about f5.6 or 6.3 to get the photo all sharp.......... ILC is reputable for its low light capability, especially using NEX system or X100. Their sensors are same as DSLR. sensor same as DSLR? u must be kidding? i had read that they are even smaller than the 1.6x crop sensor iirc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 sensor same as DSLR? u must be kidding? i had read that they are even smaller than the 1.6x crop sensor iirc. iirc, Sony's ILC are using APS-C sensor size. not all DSLRs are using full frame especially those that are entry range and incidentally, Canon's mid range DSLR are also not full frame as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 donno want lah......hope to upgrade to 5dmk3 + 70-200 f2.8 IS USM mk2.....but i need the marnie to quickly pay off housing loan i swear by this lens,u won't regret getting it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 iirc, Sony's ILC are using APS-C sensor size. not all DSLRs are using full frame especially those that are entry range and incidentally, Canon's mid range DSLR are also not full frame as well. ok,iam not very sure with ILC. as iam using DSLR,i had never looked back.lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 Care to share a picture taken indoor with ILC with high ISO? My kit lens is f/3.5. This was taken at ISO800 (should have set to 1600). 1/10s, a bit too long on my shaky hands. If use 1.8, the 4 corners will be less sharp right? Not suppose to take pic, only suppose to admire...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 TS, get a DSLR. Brand doesn't matter. Composition of the photos is the most important. Must visualise the end result before you take any shot. Only when you visualise the shot, then you know what is the best focal length, aperture and shutter speed to use to present the 'look' you want others to see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 ok,iam not very sure with ILC. as iam using DSLR,i had never looked back.lol i salute you guys for being so game to carry so much gear. I mean i am still hesitant to jettison my bridge and the bridge category because i would like an all round performer which will imply me lugging helluva of gear most of time. I am just bitter with Canon not giving me at least a APS-C sensor in the bridge camera category. Why does Canon have to give me either a prosumer category with large sensor and virtually non existent zoom i.e. G series or a megazoom category with tiny sensors i.e. SX series. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear March 11, 2012 Share March 11, 2012 (edited) i salute you guys for being so game to carry so much gear. I mean i am still hesitant to jettison my bridge and the bridge category because i would like an all round performer which will imply me lugging helluva of gear most of time. I am just bitter with Canon not giving me at least a APS-C sensor in the bridge camera category. Why does Canon have to give me either a prosumer category with large sensor and virtually non existent zoom i.e. G series or a megazoom category with tiny sensors i.e. SX series. Hmm,for casual outings i only bring the 16-35mm lens attached to my camera(probably about 1.6kg) and carry it with blackrapid across my shoulder is not too aching. i only bring extra lens for special shootings or events like the recent Airshow,Birding,F1..etc you should jump into DSLR. if you are on budget,can start off with the full frame 5D classic or 5D2(alot of people are dumping it at about $2-2.2k) which is good enough to give u nice photos. but ofcourse if you can match it with the 24-70mm or 24-105mm as a general purpose lens it will be better imo and u will never look back. Edited March 11, 2012 by Turbonetics ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...