Jazziegirl Clutched January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 yeah, good fun! i was suggesting to hubbie to go back every quarter at least then i can drive both ways till i'm familiar familiar familiar! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yttrium Neutral Newbie January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 26 - 28 March... I may start a thread nearer the date lah.. now cannot confirm yet. Coz my boss wants to go too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 oki dok, will try to keep that weekend free! maybe i'll drive up north with hubbie and drop him off at his hometown and join u guys. talk about killing 2 birds with one stone! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yttrium Neutral Newbie January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 Meanwhile.. you might wanna join in here: http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...iew&post=451781 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 I was posted to Batam back in '95 and stayed there for 3 months. The drivers there uses the hazard light when approaching a X-road junction, indicating going striaght. Coming back to the topic posted here, yes! I agree that the practice is dangerous. Here we have been tuned to react when seeing a hazard light is to avoid(siam) it. During the recent wet weather, I have seen almost all the driver 1)failure to switch on their headlights 2)failure to give signal. The worst act against their family and themselves is failure to have the child in any babyseat at all. Children were found on the mother's lap(of all person) in the front passenger seat(of all places) eventhough the back seat is empty or near empty, and children at the back were standing/jumping. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 my collegue places his childseat on the front where the airbag is. told him it's the wrong place as it's dangerous but insists it's still safer than the back "coz front got airbag mah"...... btw, noticed more ppl are oso not using handsfree kits when driving?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 "...... oso not using handsfree kits when driving?? ....." Soooooooo many these days...spotted them yaya wid the handphone in one hand, the other steering... I tell u, think the TP given up or have had their fair share of quota al...hmmm..TP, mebbe u and I, sign on liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 dun wan. skali given scooter onli and somemore potentially kena harass by uncle foo... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 ".....somemore potentially kena harass by uncle foo..." but u then shud ask for scoote-R Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 During the last few rainy days I've seen another category of nuisance drivers.. Those who drive with their high beam on... it's especially irritating when its raining! Dunno why need to switch on high beam in the rain? However, there is a group who has their low beam pointing high and not even aware of it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zolidlim Neutral Newbie January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 Driving with the Hazard lights on during heavy downpour is a NO-NO. As this may implicating that yr car is broken down. To me, and maybe the law, hazard lights are not suppose to be on unless yr car is broken down, not even if you are stopping to pick up someone. During heavy downpour, just on your headlights will do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cardinal Neutral Newbie January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 Agree with you totally. Just to add a real life example: I was driving in the heavy rain last Sat, in my wife's car, which is an 18 year old little hatchback. After splashing thru some big puddles near queensway area, the distributor got soaked and the engine misfired, spluttered and died a few km later. We were in the middle lane, just before a traffic light, which was just before the Queensway roundabout. My wife called her mechanic and he told her to wait till the distributor dried from the engine heat, and try to restart the car. Anyway, if you've been in that junction, you'd know that there is just no real safe place to push the car, since it's quite a messy junction. So I figured that we might as well just wait where we were, and I turned on the hazard lights. During that time, quite a lot of cars waited behind us at the traffic lights, unaware that the hazard light was on cos our car had broken down!!! They must have thought we turned on the hazard light cos of the poor visibility. So that's a real example for you why no driver should turn on hazard light when it's raining, besides, during heavy downpour, it's more likely to come across cars that break down and have to use their hazards. Just to complete the story, the engine started 5 mins later, and I drove from there to our destination at 4000 rpm all the way, even doing heel-toe while slowing down at traffic lights to keep the revs up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 "..started 5 mins later, and I drove from there to our destination at 4000 rpm all the way, even doing heel-toe while slowing down at traffic lights to keep the revs up " Think the ppl behind must have known it was u..and ur car NEVER breaks down... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cardinal Neutral Newbie January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 now I know to drive slowly in heavy rain when I'm driving an older car.... To think the first thing on our minds while driving her car through the rain was - "Free car wash!!!!!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 "..while driving her car through the rain was - "Free car wash!!!!!" .." Eh...dun bluff la...u PURPOSE-ly stalled ther car so u can put some SHAMPOO....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cardinal Neutral Newbie January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 Now where would I get shampoo from? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 26, 2004 Share January 26, 2004 "....get shampoo from? ......" dunno... but I do hear that if you have a bottle of REJOICE handy, it'll do just fine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Neutral Newbie January 26, 2004 Author Share January 26, 2004 that's exactly what i told me wife...but like Guyver said...the wife is ALWAYS right bopian.... ya ya agree that just turning on the headlights is sufficient (maybe fog lights too) sheesh really wonder where those ppl got thier "kopi" license from lah... (kekeke incl me wife hahahaha )...i'll show her this tread and hopfully that would end the dispute ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...