Alfisti168 1st Gear November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 (edited) er...a lot of kukus here nia..... I wanted to say that. LOL. Even when I cycling in carpark I also confused by those ppl. Imagine there's a right turn to more lots. At the same time there's also a lot at your right-hand-side. There was once a driver that signalled right and suddenly came to my path. Bloody hell, make me emergency brake. But sometimes if I heck care I just make sure their cars come 2 inches within my bike. Not less. Edited November 24, 2009 by Alfisti168 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 eh.. that's the problem.. people like to observe and analyse both lots before parking, so use hazard lights lor.. anyway, it's a culture thingy.. having a serious talk out of this is just going to make blood boil, similar to the overtaking lane issue.. so leave it and have a good laugh.. Think hor...we got cheated...the ppl learn one special use hazard lites...we all kena teach use signal indicator...I wan refund Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 I wanted to say that. LOL. Even when I cycling in carpark I also confused by those ppl. Bloody hell, make me emergency brake. But sometimes if I heck care I just make sure their cars come 2 inches within my bike. Not less. you are another joker.. if a car back up onto you, i wonder how many inches you will have less.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfisti168 1st Gear November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 you are another joker.. if a car back up onto you, i wonder how many inches you will have less.. Haha. Then MCF one idiot (me) less le lor. But anw...wad I mean is that sometimes I dun have enuf braking distance to let me stop. So there's no choice but to speed ahead to prevent collision. It conflicts with my previous comment I've made but sometimes there are really such scenarios. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 Think hor...we got cheated...the ppl learn one special use hazard lites...we all kena teach use signal indicator...I wan refund actually what the school teach and what is practical depends in situation.. the use of signal light is more apparent in overseas location where the lots are wider and in singapore, the road in between is narrower, so whether it's signal or hazard, the cars behind better take note and not come so close.. why bother so much about which type of blinker to use.. there's more impt things to be done, like whether to off aircon before parking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 actually what the school teach and what is practical depends in situation.. the use of signal light is more apparent in overseas location where the lots are wider and in singapore, the road in between is narrower, so whether it's signal or hazard, the cars behind better take note and not come so close.. why bother so much about which type of blinker to use.. there's more impt things to be done, like whether to off aircon before parking. Because many used what's taught in school and insist that its the only correct way. True. Then there are those who are more accustomed to practices that may allow them more safety comfort. Some practices evolved through observation and experiences. Understanding both aspect ie. taught on papers and pick up on street will allow greater understanding of the intention of other drivers. Of course there are those who insist on what learnt on paper is the only method. Trying to show them the reason why other people behaviour in certain ways will be refuted as rubbish and idiotic. It only shows how much those people are willing to accept diversity in practices. Knowing more on the different practices only allow more to be prepared on actions other maybe taking. Not practicing what other are doing does not mean one should not know what others intend to do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 So what is the common practices either by book or by preference for parallel parking along road side. 1) Signal light? or 2) Hazard light? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfisti168 1st Gear November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 So what is the common practices either by book or by preference for parallel parking along road side. 1) Signal light? or 2) Hazard light? IMO hazard. Imagine if the parallel-parking lot is at your left. In front of the lot is a left turn. If you use left signal uu'll confuse the driver behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 (edited) IMO hazard. Imagine if the parallel-parking lot is at your left. In front of the lot is a left turn. If you use left signal uu'll confuse the driver behind. IMHO hazard, car behind upon seeing hazard, should not come closer and anticipate something abnormal is going to happen such as a sudden change indirection(i.e. reverse). Alfisti168 example is very real, e.g along Simon road. There's a turn left right after the several parallel lots. Those behind may assume the parking car to be turning left, and may not leave adequate gap.. Edited November 24, 2009 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 (edited) What an animated discussion about a small issue! IMHO, when it comes to parking, both the pro-hazard and the pro-signal camp make reasonable points. The pro-hazard camp seems to believe that switching on hazards to deter following drivers from coming too close takes precedence. The pro-signal camp seems to believe that signalling the direction of the target lot takes precedence. How about this, then? Turn on the hazards initially when coming to a stop near the target lot. Then engage reverse (your reversing lights do work, right?), turn off the hazards and signal to indicate the target lot. Great system, and it's bound to confuse everyone. Personally, I don't get the insistence on following some dubious "universal" code from Wikipedia or wherever. Local norms matter, and take precedence over what happens in other places. For example, in more civilised Western countries, a quick flash of the hi-beams generally indicates a car that's conceding way to you. In Singapore, the same gesture generally means "Screw you, I'm coming at you anyway!!" Imagine the confusion some newcomers must feel with our "polite" gestures. Similarly, the right-signal on the fast lane to indicate a plea for the car in front to make way is well-understood up North, but just try it on the e'ways here. Neither should we get too hung up on purely the local meanings of the signals; for example, I'm seeing far more of the "flash-beams-to-give-way" usage nowadays. So the flashing of beams can either signify patience or impatience! Basically, I don't think it's smart to get hung up on the exact signals that another driver uses. Generally, their intentions should become clear from the context. If you can't pick up on another driver's intentions from contextual cues, you have bigger problems than can be solved by a slavish adherence to supposedly universal codes. Just my two cents' worth. Edited November 24, 2009 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 IMHO hazard, car behind upon seeing hazard, should not come closer and anticipate something abnormal is going to happen such as a sudden change indirection(i.e. reverse). Alfisti168 example is very real, e.g along Simon road. There's a turn left right after the several parallel lots. Those behind may assume the parking car to be turning left, and may not leave adequate gap.. Haha, Simon Rd both side also can parallel + illegal park so really a hazardous road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 (edited) Haha, Simon Rd both side also can parallel + illegal park so really a hazardous road. Can be a challenge there doing parallel, as cars behind always don't leave gap... Want a parallel lot there, have to on hazard light way ahead before reaching the lot, then the guy behind will understand. They don't teach that in driving school. But fret not to those who can't adjust from what was taught in school, just less than 20m ahead there's a proper lot for reverse and head in parking to use school taught technique. Edited November 24, 2009 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 (edited) Then engage reverse (your reversing lights do work, right?), turn off the hazards and signal to indicate the target lot. Great system, and it's bound to confuse everyone. This would require greater hand dexterity and coordination Personally, I don't get the insistence on following some dubious "universal" code from Wikipedia or wherever. Local norms matter, and take precedence over what happens in other places. For example, in more civilised Western countries, a quick flash of the hi-beams generally indicates a car that's conceding way to you. In Singapore, the same gesture generally means "Screw you, I'm coming at you anyway!!" Imagine the confusion some newcomers must feel with our "polite" gestures. True, heard of an incident in which a local driver in Aussie, highbeam a truck or some large vehicle coming from a minor road, (the local driver intention was hey you better remain stationary there, I'm not going to slow down) the vehicle just move off upon seeing the highbeam ( highbeam means : I'm giving way to you ). It was a fatal accident. That was not taught on book, but is a must-know when driving oversea. A simple mistake can be fatal. Murphy's Law: 'If anything wrong can happen, it will.' Edited November 24, 2009 by Atonchia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 IMHO hazard, car behind upon seeing hazard, should not come closer and anticipate something abnormal is going to happen such as a sudden change indirection(i.e. reverse). Alfisti168 example is very real, e.g along Simon road. There's a turn left right after the several parallel lots. Those behind may assume the parking car to be turning left, and may not leave adequate gap.. It just means you're a lousy driver (which explains the hazard lights usage). I have never needed to reverse for anyone so that they could park, regardless of hazard lights, signal lights or no lights. This is called situational awareness. Similarly, nobody has had to reverse or even brake hard so I can park. This is called proper driving /technique. Until your technique is up to scratch, I suggest you remember that there are people who practice the correct way of signaling intention so leave a gap while driving through parking areas so you won't need to reverse. To be perfectly honest, I've realised that parking lot "hazardlighters" are almost always the lousy drivers who complain about people who do signal their intentions to park correctly, while the people who signal their intentions correctly never complain about stopping to close and having to reverse when they don't know if a "hazardlighter" is stopping to alight someone because we practice proper driving techniques. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chiangauto Clutched November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 think ppl alr forgot their basic car driving theory Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 Can be a challenge there doing parallel, as cars behind always don't leave gap... Want a parallel lot there, have to on hazard light way ahead before reaching the lot, then the guy behind will understand. They don't teach that in driving school. But fret not to those who can't adjust from what was taught in school, just less than 20m ahead there's a proper lot for reverse and head in parking to use school taught technique. The PROPER way of doing it is to stop NEXT to the lot (after signaling of course) and let the cars behind pass (with your signal still on). If they are unable to, then move forward stop, and reverse in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 Seems good drivers like yourself (iyo) are becoming rarer. Signal light parking not common. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear November 24, 2009 Share November 24, 2009 True, heard of an incident in which a local driver in Aussie, highbeam a truck or some large vehicle coming from a minor road, (the local driver intention was hey you better remain stationary there, I'm not going to slow down) the vehicle just move off upon seeing the highbeam ( highbeam means : I'm giving way to you ). It was a fatal accident. That was not taught on book, but is a must-know when driving oversea. A simple mistake can be fatal. Murphy's Law: 'If anything wrong can happen, it will.' Never heard of this, but its a clear case of bad driving technique. If I see another vehicle coming out of a minor road, I slow and try to be able to stop just in-case its a lousy/inattentive/tired driver who didn't notice me. Assuming that someone else will stop/give-way just because you have the right of way is a sure way to get into an accident. In this case whats the point of being in the right if you're dead? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...