Gizmore Supercharged April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 It is: a) Fair Charge PR more for education b) Fair to give PR less priority for school balloting c) Fair to charge PR more for healthcare d) Fair to charge PR more for (enforced upon them) lift upgrading e) Unfair for Malaysia to charge Singapore cars more in tolls than local cars (according to Cedric Foo of PTC) Aiyah, you fall for the candies that Gov has been dangling to FTs and now you wanna kpkb fair or not fair? Deh... wake up lah. This is how our Gov works. We citizens has been farked left right center by our gov from day 1 with the same tactics. Nothing new. Citizens already used to it. Kpkb is pointless. The only way to exercise our rights is through elections. So.... don't come and ask fair or not fair. Bei song, well, you can always cross the bridge and go back to where you belong. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 most of the PR r not here to stay. If they stay in their motherland, they will say the same damn thing to the PR there too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 In smooth driving from your sg.home to skudai is about 35 minutes, can you drop by for some Yumm Sheng ? OIC, you moved a little bit North of Woodlands. Thanks for the kind invite, but I'm strict veggie, bit tough to makan outside. But thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 (edited) And why are you starting this trend for? You know dam well what kind of answers you be expecting....! As I said in another thread, our friend Darryn is just a slightly more atas version of the common forum troll. Edited April 2, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 As I said in another thread, our friend Darryn is just a slightly more atas version of the common forum troll. Don't care he atas or not, since he asked for an explanation, I also like him to "exprain to me please" of his intentions of starting this trend... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 2, 2012 Author Share April 2, 2012 Don't care he atas or not, since he asked for an explanation, I also like him to "exprain to me please" of his intentions of starting this trend... Point to be made. When Singapore does it, is natural and just. When another country does it, is unfair. Double standard much? As to the PR course, I was (pleasantly) surprised by how long peoPle had been here to convrt to citizen. and the stories And desires ran very much counter to the preconceptions you hear in forums. It was very good to see the attitudes I saw, and if it was seen by many here their oPinions might be a little different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 2, 2012 Author Share April 2, 2012 Also, drawing more and more distinctions between PR and citizen is a very populist mOve. Many see it as an incentive to become citizen. What I have seen is that it is not the distinctions that are the driver, but a desire to be Singaporean. What I fear is that the more "discriminatory" the govt is, the more mercenary PR will become and the more friction you will see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 2, 2012 Author Share April 2, 2012 Although I am neither a sociologist, nor an anthropologist, I rather suspect that the more divisions you create in a society, the more friction that society experiences. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanong11 Clutched April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 A to D is towards residents, E is toward tourists, fair comparison meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 (edited) But why is it OK for Singapore to give more to citizens, but if Malaysia gives more to citizens will provoke a response? And remember here - in Singapore's case is PR, people who have made a commitment to Singapore, but for Malaysia is "just: visitors - who are there for a holiday. Please ... anyone who is a PR has only made a commitment to himself or herself. Please do no try to glorfiy personal reasons with such a term: commitment TO Singapore. That's a plain lie Edited April 2, 2012 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civicblade 2nd Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 (edited) All workers on full time employment by a company registered in Singapore pay the same tax rate regardless of nationality. With this, it is only logical that all employees in Singapore pay the same rate for market priced goods and services and this is true. Education, public housing and healthcare are "subsidised" by the state and it is up to the state to decide how to price such service to PRs and foreigners. As Singapore is a democratic country with an elected government, we can then infer from this that it is by popular vote that we have the pricing system in place right now as the pricing system was put in place by the elected government. NOOB question... what sort of tax structure are PRs paying? or same as citizen? Edited April 2, 2012 by Civicblade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 (edited) It is: a) Fair Charge PR more for education - If the PR wants to use this particular resource, vying with the citizens, yes. No ine is forcing they to study here. b) Fair to give PR less priority for school balloting - If the PR wants to use this particular resource, vying with the citizens, yes. No ine is forcing they to study here. c) Fair to charge PR more for healthcare - If the PR wants to use this particular resource, vying with the citizens, yes. No one is forcing them for seeking healthcare here. Else they can refer to whatever healthcare elfare their home country d) Fair to charge PR more for (enforced upon them) lift upgrading - 50-50. They chose to buy the resale flat so at the very least, they benefit along with the upgrading. And don't forget, they had a chance to vote 'Nay' to the upgrading. If it's considered unfair to make them pay (more) for upgrading, it's just as unfair for them to be making a (bigger, relative to their homecountry's housing situation) profit from buying into public housing in Singapore e) Unfair for Malaysia to charge Singapore cars more in tolls than local cars (according to Cedric Foo of PTC) - No. And here it's making the foreigner (Singaporeans (only?)) pay for something which they did not even chose to use. Hence it's even more unfair than the above question about upgrading. However, I will also state: the foreigners can also choose not to go into Malaysia. Edited April 2, 2012 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 Although I am neither a sociologist, nor an anthropologist, I rather suspect that the more divisions you create in a society, the more friction that society experiences. I'm seeing your thread as some sort of rubbing friction among Mcfers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 I'm seeing your thread as some sort of rubbing friction among Mcfers or uniting all singaporean against one cause Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 (edited) Point to be made. When Singapore does it, is natural and just. When another country does it, is unfair. Double standard much? As to the PR course, I was (pleasantly) surprised by how long peoPle had been here to convrt to citizen. and the stories And desires ran very much counter to the preconceptions you hear in forums. It was very good to see the attitudes I saw, and if it was seen by many here their oPinions might be a little different. Clearly your intention to create 'fairess' for yourself has clouded your ability to reason. 1. Whatever distinctions Singaporeis setting up is to set Singaporeans apart from PR of ANY nationality. Malaysia is targetting one particular nationality 2. Singapore's area of distinction is on essential elements of society (housing, education, healthcare..) Malaysia is targetting Singapore registered cars to fund a development project If you still equate the treatment between Singapores' policies and Malaysia's as being equal, then we really should increase the charge for internet service for New Zealanders to be 5 times that of current and an additional food tax on New Zealanders dinning out in Singapore .... afterall, it's only 'fair' Edited April 2, 2012 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 or uniting all singaporean against one cause Not obvious enough with a single noble word, I'm doubtful and sorry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civicblade 2nd Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 The government of Singapore is one of the most pragmatic and practical government in the world. Being populist will help with vote counts and the PAP desperately needs to halt the slide in vote count in the next general election. Citizens get to vote, PR doesn't. We need labour to drive our industries, we need people who may stay on and breed to overcome our birth rate shortfall.. this is the reason for PR system. Not some altruistic goodwill to help PR get a "fair" deal in Singapore. PRs are citizens of another country. As long as you are not a citizen of Singapore, your loyalty does not lie here. The only way for PRs to prove their loyalty and commitment to the country is to become citizens. PRs are mercenaries by the fact that they choose to remain PRs after spending years in Singapore. Most foreigner/PRs and citizen knows the limitation and the threat of security Singapore faces. Things may look rosy now but this seemingly period of peace and security may not last forever. A small island country without natural reserves and located in such a geograhic location isn't lying on a bed of roses. Singaporean males do not serve 2.5 years of full time national service for guarding against some fairy tale threat. The lack of local produce and land constrain also means high prices for almost anything compared to countries within 2000km radius (with the exception of Hong Kong and Japan). It is exactly due to this fact that PRs are reluctant to commit and convert to being Singaporean. PRs should just admit this fact and move on. Singaporeans are intelligent people, we know your concerns when you do not want to be Singaporeans. Most of us do not mind at all, to each his/her own. Just quit asking for equal treatment when it comes to subsidised services providing by the state. You know it is never going to happen because all Singaporeans wield this powerful piece of paper that can change policy maker's direction. Unless PRs become Singaporeans, there is no way the government is going to pay much heed to your request, because you are just an economic digit and tool. Also, drawing more and more distinctions between PR and citizen is a very populist mOve. Many see it as an incentive to become citizen. What I have seen is that it is not the distinctions that are the driver, but a desire to be Singaporean. What I fear is that the more "discriminatory" the govt is, the more mercenary PR will become and the more friction you will see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MX5NC2 1st Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 There is a reason why a citizen is a citizen and a PR is a permanent resident ... unless you tell me a citizen is just a son/daugther born on the land , and is purely academic? Do you treat and provide more for your kids better or your nephews/niece better? Simple as that imo. Nothing against the PRs btw In the country where I live there's very little difference in how PRs and citizens are treated, especially in the context of the points presented by the OP. At the heart of the problem/issue lies the mentality of KIASUISM. Singaporeans are way too afraid to lose out to others and this includes foreigners, thus the call to impose restrictions and unfair 'penalties' on those who are not true sons of the land. On this tiny island of Singapore there is also a inherent problem with so-called democracy and human rights which are contributive, associative factors to the problem, which is neither economic nor financial. It is a national, social malaise. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...