Ronleech 2nd Gear September 24, 2012 Share September 24, 2012 Wah..I blur liao....Now on this scenario.....I sold my 4 rm flat ( no subsidy hor ) long time ago and also I did not pay any levy. Went to pte. and now I want to buy 3 rm flat ( from open market ) So in this scenario of downgrading, do I have to pay any levy ? How do I know the 3 rm flat is subsidized or not. Dun have to pay levy so long you buy from open market. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear September 24, 2012 Share September 24, 2012 your 4 room is from HDB or from open market?? if from HDB then its still consider subsidy flat. as for 3 Room. open market not subsidized, but question is, are you allow to buy so fast?? cannot remember clearly, but remember there is a 6 month rule on pte convert to HDB. 4 rm from HDB. Heard can buy from open market immediately but must rid of pte property within 6 mths. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear September 24, 2012 Share September 24, 2012 Dun have to pay levy so long you buy from open market. That's a relief ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 24, 2012 Share September 24, 2012 Open Market -> No Waiting Time Direct HDB -> Need to wait 30 months Resale or New -> As long buy HDB, within 6 months upon completion of HDB purchase, have to sell private RESIDENTIAL properties, hope this clarifies thanks. btw new one mean direct from HDB right?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 24, 2012 Share September 24, 2012 4 rm from HDB. Heard can buy from open market immediately but must rid of pte property within 6 mths. from hdb mean subsidise liao. but no worry, like one bro say, from open market, as long as dont take HDB loan you should be safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear September 24, 2012 Share September 24, 2012 4 rm from HDB. Heard can buy from open market immediately but must rid of pte property within 6 mths. Yup Must get rid within 6 months of completing sale (i.e. Completion Date-> Get Keys) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear September 24, 2012 Share September 24, 2012 (edited) thanks. btw new one mean direct from HDB right?? Joseph, paisei, this would be better explanation, i think my explanation for the NEW Flat (I.e. Direct From HDB) is incorrect. Meaning want to get NEW Flats, cannot have Private in first place. Sincere apologies. (Source: HDB Web Page) You, your spouse, any occupiers listed in the Application Form or their spouses must not own or dispose or have an estate or interest in any other flat, house, building or land* Within 30 months before the date of application, and Between the application date and the date of taking possession of the flat * includes but not limited to: HUDC flats (Privatised and Non-Privatised) Properties acquired by gift Properties inherited as beneficiaries under a will or as a result of the Intestate Succession Act Private properties Properties owned/acquired/disposed through nominees regardless of properties location Edited September 24, 2012 by Sorrow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 24, 2012 Share September 24, 2012 No issue bro. The problem was with the website itself. too confusing liao. and one rule dont explan the otherl. and the other rule?? hidden somewhere else. Joseph, paisei, this would be better explanation, i think my explanation for the NEW Flat (I.e. Direct From HDB) is incorrect. Meaning want to get NEW Flats, cannot have Private RESI in first place. Sincere apologies. (Source: HDB Web Page) You, your spouse, any occupiers listed in the Application Form or their spouses must not own or dispose or have an estate or interest in any other flat, house, building or land* Within 30 months before the date of application, and Between the application date and the date of taking possession of the flat * includes but not limited to: HUDC flats (Privatised and Non-Privatised) Properties acquired by gift Properties inherited as beneficiaries under a will or as a result of the Intestate Succession Act Private properties Properties owned/acquired/disposed through nominees regardless of properties location Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear September 24, 2012 Share September 24, 2012 No issue bro. The problem was with the website itself. too confusing liao. and one rule dont explan the otherl. and the other rule?? hidden somewhere else. Lol....no worries, any queries just PM me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear September 24, 2012 Share September 24, 2012 Make thing simple :- Buy from open market without any grant - No levy If got private property - have to sell within 6 month after taking possession of the flat You wont be know as a 2nd timer if you buy from open market, but will not get your HDB Loan if you take loan from HDB more then twice Buy from HDB direct (not necessary NEW), the word is "direct" - Sold off private property at least 30 months, As a 2nd timer - levy is applicable, unless DBSS or EC whereby levy is not applicable for 2nd time buyer as those are premium unit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JimmyMcG1978 Neutral Newbie October 3, 2012 Share October 3, 2012 Can we include the levy amount together with the main loan sum? Say if applying for $450k loan and the levy is $35k, can I apply for a $485k loan from the bank? I went to posb home loan page, but doesn't say anything about this..any thoughts on this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear October 3, 2012 Share October 3, 2012 Can we include the levy amount together with the main loan sum? Say if applying for $450k loan and the levy is $35k, can I apply for a $485k loan from the bank? I went to posb home loan page, but doesn't say anything about this..any thoughts on this? For HDB flat loan, it's not up to you to decide how much you want to loan (up to 80% max). They will suck up all your CPF OA for downpayment and repayment, then balance you loan from HDB or bank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged October 3, 2012 Share October 3, 2012 Can we include the levy amount together with the main loan sum? Say if applying for $450k loan and the levy is $35k, can I apply for a $485k loan from the bank? I went to posb home loan page, but doesn't say anything about this..any thoughts on this? Levy must pay in cash hor. This is what I was told 2 days ago when I went to HDB office. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 3, 2012 Share October 3, 2012 Since we're on this topic of properties, I understand that within the MOP of buying a subsidised flat, I cannot buy a residential property. Does this rule applies to commercial or industrial properties too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged October 3, 2012 Share October 3, 2012 pls advise. or regardless as long buying smaller flat or equivalent of what i bot 1st time, u need to pay resale levey? Unless EC, if not all flat types need to pay resale levy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear October 3, 2012 Share October 3, 2012 Since we're on this topic of properties, I understand that within the MOP of buying a subsidised flat, I cannot buy a residential property. Does this rule applies to commercial or industrial properties too? can buy commercial/industrial property provided no residential element. e.g. Shophouses that may double as residential on upper floors. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 3, 2012 Share October 3, 2012 Someone do advise. Thanks. A couple (both 1st timer) plan to buy a SOB/BTO flat directly from HDB but they do not qualify for any CPF/housing grants so the unit conside "subsided" or "non subsidied"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged October 3, 2012 Share October 3, 2012 Someone do advise. Thanks. A couple (both 1st timer) plan to buy a SOB/BTO flat directly from HDB but they do not qualify for any CPF/housing grants so the unit conside "subsided" or "non subsidied"? as long direct from HDB it's subsidies flat no matter you qualify for grants or not ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...