Vega Turbocharged April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 I have the honour to meet 李大傻 when I was a kid. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 Saw the headlines today and my 1st reaction was...................................."Rediffusion still exist meh?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear April 9, 2012 Author Share April 9, 2012 Saw the headlines today and my 1st reaction was...................................."Rediffusion still exist meh?" at times...I still see their van on the road...that's when I noticed that they are still around... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 the next time maybe Ch 5, 8 and U and okto all give 2 paragraph letter to cease transmission... remember channel U............almost could not make it after like 2 or 3 years............Gov got to get TCS to adsorb it.........otherwise...........no U now!!!!........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 According to papers, their subscribers plunged in 1982 cos govt stop their dialect broadcast. So it is very ironic that they talk about it as a important part of our history when its their policy that helped kill it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 According to papers, their subscribers plunged in 1982 cos govt stop their dialect broadcast. So it is very ironic that they talk about it as a important part of our history when its their policy that helped kill it. Give it afew more generations and no true blue singaporean will be able to speak dialects. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 Give it afew more generations and no true blue singaporean will be able to speak dialects. I think the only dialect left for their generations are....Hor Lan Kan / Chow Poo Bor / Tew Cow Lay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RediffusionSG Neutral Newbie April 10, 2012 Share April 10, 2012 Thanks all for the fond memories and support of Rediffusion. Rediffusion will stop broadcasting on the 30th April 2012. Although that is the official statement, but we still keep our spirits up and have not given up hope. We, the staff of Rediffusion will strive our best and help preserve Redigold to carry on through the generations! Meanwhile, we are collecting all memories, photos and videos on our official Redigold facebook group at www.facebook.com/rdfGOLD Please share all your memories there and don't let Rediffusion fade away! We have produced an Audio Boxset of our famous storyteller Li Dai Sor Selling at $28 per set of 6 CDs We will not be selling any of our real Rediffusion Radio Boxes or any of our productions or music library. This is the only way that you can own a piece of Rediffusion. :) Please contact us if you wish to purchase them! Download Press Release: http://www.rediffusion.com.sg/pdf/Redif ... ves_On.pdf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear April 10, 2012 Author Share April 10, 2012 Wow...never know our thread actually got someone from rediffusion to comment on... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic April 10, 2012 Share April 10, 2012 Wow...never know our thread actually got someone from rediffusion to comment on... You Asked For It He or She came in lor I believe Rediffusions personnels shall be very glad to finds and reads our Mcfer's nostalgic comments and postings with regard of our deep feelings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged April 10, 2012 Share April 10, 2012 (edited) Malaysia made their Chinese learn Malay Singapore eliminated the Chinese dialects Indonesia was the worst, totally killed the Chinese language and their surname/names Edited April 10, 2012 by Scion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear April 10, 2012 Author Share April 10, 2012 Malaysia made their Chinese learn Malay Singapore eliminated the Chinese dialects Indonesia was the worst, totally killed the Chinese language and their surname/names Rediffusion is stopping due to low subscription...not that government is trying to eliminate dialect .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 Rediffusion is stopping due to low subscription...not that government is trying to eliminate dialect .. Not true.. the low subscription was a result of the ban in use of dialects in mass media... they are not mutually exclusive. Rediffusion listerners are mostly the older folks who are more dialect speaking and so with the elimination of dialect broadcasts, then what is there left for them to tune into? Mandarin broadcasts already have for free in 93.3 FM or 88.3 liao ma... So, no need subscribe to Redi liao lo.... I am willing to wager that sooner or later, some MIW will lament that we are losing our dialect roots and wished that we could all still speak some... It'll then be a case of short sightedness in their policies again.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 My family subscribed to them for >20years as my granny likes to listen to their dialect news. I remember is 金色电台 mainly in Mandarin and 银色电台 in English. I remember 10+ years back Redi try to apply for on-air license from MDA/MICA but was not approved due to unknown reasons...anyone can dig out the news? Rumour that someone is coming out with the 1mil to try to save them from extinction. Hope they can fulfill their wish of finally going on-air. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
8oo8 Neutral Newbie April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 Redifussion make me sleep while I am young!!! Lee Big Fool tells very good stories! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 Rediffusion is stopping due to low subscription...not that government is trying to eliminate dialect .. The NIW policies on dialects "killed" the subscription!!! Every saturdays listen to "American Top 40"... Whole HDB block could heard the 4D results... Those were the days...so sad.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear April 12, 2012 Share April 12, 2012 maybe they should consider broadcasting thru internet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 12, 2012 Share April 12, 2012 The NIW policies on dialects "killed" the subscription!!! Every saturdays listen to "American Top 40"... Whole HDB block could heard the 4D results... Those were the days...so sad.. Casey Kasem Roger Kool Bumped into Roger at Cortina, dunno whether he was doing a "live" broadcast at that time but he played one of his favourite song "Stray Cat Strut" by Stray Cats. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...