Mysportwish 1st Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 wanted to do alighment at riverview but got a long wait. so went over to kenny... and did mine this afternoon. $70. they increase so fast or just chopped me carrot? mine is without camber nut.... probably that why cheaper ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Personally experienced gd + attentive service for my previous ride. Vincent came across as an earnest, knowledgeable, very tech-savy type of guy. He is one of e very assured, confident fellow who can troubleshoot car problems quite well. But he is a businessman afterall and must hv profits to keep business going. His equipment dun look cheap + frankly, I tink one need only to clarify all charges/rates b4 proceeding with servicing/repairs. U know, open mouth and ask instead of keeping quiet + hope that he will not charge too much. I always ask and go thru e charges before anything or anyone touch my ride.....anywhere, not just at Riverview. In fact, i will go to him for more serious/major servicing and elsewhere for e 10k km routine cos it is cheaper at many other WSs. But if it is a nagging or more serious problem where I want peace of mind after repairs/work done, I will go to Vincent and yes, I will haggle over e prices + he usually good to discuss + close an eye. Just want to share my own experiences with Riverview and becos I feel that everyone have e right to chose the WS that best suit their preference, whether in pricing, brand of EO, face of e boss, extra charges, whatever ride he now has etc etc. To b fair, he always looked me in e eyes and I am comfortable with him. Just my tots, frm own experience and I am in no way related to him or enjoy any specials....each time I need a quote, he will do so and if I find it too high, I either grumble for it to b lowered or go elsewhere lah. Safe ride Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 How workshop make money? Labour and spare parts.If every body start to bring thier own parts, how is the workshop going to make money?Let say for example,a workshop charge $20 labour for a customer with own engine oil and plugs.If the whole day only got 10 customer and all of them hv thier own oil and plugs. They will only hv $200. How to cover rental, 2-4 mechanics 1-2 admin girl,PUB bills and many more. we are not in the interested whether he is making $$ or not. look at his car and you know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Torque6 Neutral Newbie April 24, 2012 Author Share April 24, 2012 I admit, the first time I drop by Riverview, I was pretty impressed by Vincent's entrepreur skill sets. This included process workflow which most Ws did not have. Customer service were also good. I have to agree, now he talks to me like I owe him money. Dun noe why. It's a shame though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soran 1st Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 btw anyone know which other workshop has this computerized wheel alignment? RV is charging $50 @. I went to CK Auto in AMK. Also $50. I think for computer alignment it's more or less the same price in most places (Except for Kenny but he's special...LOL) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Torque6 Neutral Newbie April 24, 2012 Author Share April 24, 2012 (edited) Bring your own parts and oil to workshop are like bringing your tea bag to coffee shop and ask for hot water. Every workshop has XX amount of profit target when they service a car and a significant part of it come from the oil and parts. Their operation cost like rental and labour are the same even when you bring your own stuff. Your car will occupy a hoist and use the same labour. It is only fair when they charge you extra to make up for their losses in profit from parts. Their service is not cheap so if cheap is your priority, I think they are not suitable for you. I don't think Every workshop relies on oil and parts to make profit. Some WS do not have readliy available parts and had encourage drivers to bring theirs in from relevant stockist. A simple headlight from stockist cost around $350, whereas if you were to get it from RV, it cost close to $600 excluding labour charge, that's why some of us prefer the cheaper option. Besides, ordering parts helps owners remember whats parts had been replaced. I for one keep records of these, so at least next time sell my car, got log and transactions. It helps. The issue is even after paying a 10% "bring your own parts" fee, Vincent was not still happy and actually grudge me. For 2 years, i had done 3 servicing with him. Only on 2 occasions did I bring my parts, one is during maintenance and another to replace a head light, even so, these 2 occassions weren't entirely all my parts, stuff like Auto transmission oil, vacuum pump, air filters, brake fluid were all supplied by RV. The last straw was he remembered clearly that I brought my own parts 9 months ago and told me off (straight away) when I called him informing my car had broken down and would like to make an appointment with him the next day. I didn't even mentioned bring my own parts or my intention to do so, I kena whacked like nobody business, even my gf could hear him shouting at me...... I guess people do change. For him, it's for the worst. To think I respected him so much. Edited April 24, 2012 by Torque6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pitbull Clutched April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 I went to CK Auto in AMK. Also $50. I think for computer alignment it's more or less the same price in most places (Except for Kenny but he's special...LOL) Kenny charges $50 for rides with rear torsion beam, about $80( not too sure ) for rides with rear independent suspension Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joe73 Neutral Newbie April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 (edited) IMHO...Looking at their setup, investment on equipments and manpower, the operating cost is rather substantial. I guess every business owner has the right to implement any policy he deems fitting to his goal and customers can also exercise his own choice. Its a tripartite situation whereby a business owner need to strike a balance to ensure customers getting the best service possible and the company makes enough to continue to invest for all kinds of upgrading and most importantly, sufficient profits for workers and partners get their pay and bonuses. For this case, it was unfortunate but sometime to move a business to greater heights, there will be decisions that may cause some customers to be unhappy. If the workshop is unable to agree to what you want, go somewhere else where you feel it's more worthy to spend your bucks. Edited April 24, 2012 by Joe73 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alg 5th Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Used to be a customer at RV too.....Vincent used to be friendly. He is very knowledgable on cars. Always see young men go their to service their cars. But maybe for some people, when business getting better and better, they might be a bit yaya. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 i kick them out 2yrs ago. charges damn high even though parts are from them. original brake pad + installation = about S$260-S$280 I went to stockist to buy the original pad and ask ws to install = less than S$130. Wah........must Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itnato Neutral Newbie April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 I don't think Every workshop relies on oil and parts to make profit. Some WS do not have readliy available parts and had encourage drivers to bring theirs in from relevant stockist. A simple headlight from stockist cost around $350, whereas if you were to get it from RV, it cost close to $600 excluding labour charge, that's why some of us prefer the cheaper option. Besides, ordering parts helps owners remember whats parts had been replaced. I for one keep records of these, so at least next time sell my car, got log and transactions. It helps. The issue is even after paying a 10% "bring your own parts" fee, Vincent was not still happy and actually grudge me. For 2 years, i had done 3 servicing with him. Only on 2 occasions did I bring my parts, one is during maintenance and another to replace a head light, even so, these 2 occassions weren't entirely all my parts, stuff like Auto transmission oil, vacuum pump, air filters, brake fluid were all supplied by RV. The last straw was he remembered clearly that I brought my own parts 9 months ago and told me off (straight away) when I called him informing my car had broken down and would like to make an appointment with him the next day. I didn't even mentioned bring my own parts or my intention to do so, I kena whacked like nobody business, even my gf could hear him shouting at me...... I guess people do change. For him, it's for the worst. To think I respected him so much. Oic, so thats the whole story. Pardon me if i sound like siding him. Yes agree that he has very gd memory and he can be quite LOUD. in fact i can visualise how he sound when he tell u that over the phone, my guess is that he is kind of joking with u for not using the parts supplied by RV? abit like suan u frm a fren pov, thats my guess based on my impression of him. fyi, i dun go to RV anymore after i got my chevy 2yrs ago cos rdy is more into for chevy major prob and after Ah Chin left, i also went over for norm servicing. i only went to RV once after that when i dropby Kenny place. And its just to talk c--k w Vincent and im definitely not a big customer (my old car was a COE CB lancer) and he nvr give me the feel that he see me no up so i believe it might be some misunderstanding here. actually choosing a wkshop that we are comfortable w is more impt than anything i guess cos if u feel happy at the end of it, u will somehow find that its money well spent. But hor, Vincent if some of the prices quoted in this thread are true, i thk its really abit high leh so u better make sure its value for $... haha :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ckchong8 1st Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 wanted to do alighment at riverview but got a long wait. so went over to kenny... and did mine this afternoon. $70. they increase so fast or just chopped me carrot? There is ws (traction)that I usually go at ubi one 3rd level using the hunter equipment to do alignment charge at $40 if I not wrong. Result so far in my ride for 5 years he the better one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 bro, whats the company name of the ex-partner ws? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 How workshop make money? Labour and spare parts.If every body start to bring thier own parts, how is the workshop going to make money?Let say for example,a workshop charge $20 labour for a customer with own engine oil and plugs.If the whole day only got 10 customer and all of them hv thier own oil and plugs. They will only hv $200. How to cover rental, 2-4 mechanics 1-2 admin girl,PUB bills and many more. then how stockist earn and as long as parts are not too ex thenmost customers wun bother running around just to save 10 20 bucks or even 50 bucks if so hard to earn why so many got luxury cars n stay private property Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helbreath 1st Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 riverview is fully entitled to charge whatever they feel is fair, the high charges that turn people away might be good thing for them, coz then only the willing car owners will keep going back, without having to wait too long for their car to be attended to. i find their charges too high, and luckily for me, i found a workshop that is competent with my make and model. so i'm happy. Can share what other workshop familiar with mercs? For a oil/oil filter change i am usually charged ~$300. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 confirmed. coz i read it off my own bill. the $75 is labour for oil change plus dunno-how-many-point check. $25 is penalty for bringing own oil. So you paid a total of $100 excluding the cost of your own oil for what i assume is a basic servicing (10K) ? Minus the how many points check, the market rate outside just for an oil change will NOT even exceed $30. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 So you paid a total of $100 excluding the cost of your own oil for what i assume is a basic servicing (10K) ? Minus the how many points check, the market rate outside just for an oil change will NOT even exceed $30. yes. i went there to change my accessory belt. and do an oil change. i brought my own oil and filter. i used their accessory belt and labour. i usually only bring the stuff i want to use on the car which i know they dun carry, else, i will usually use whatever the wksp carries... i usually only use my own oil, brake fluid and spark plugs which most wksp dun have what i want... other stuff like MTF, coolant, belts, etc...i'll let the wksp earn. i bring my own stuff not to save money, but more because i want specific fluids in my ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_2008 Clutched April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Personally experienced gd + attentive service for my previous ride. Vincent came across as an earnest, knowledgeable, very tech-savy type of guy. He is one of e very assured, confident fellow who can troubleshoot car problems quite well. But he is a businessman afterall and must hv profits to keep business going. His equipment dun look cheap + frankly, I tink one need only to clarify all charges/rates b4 proceeding with servicing/repairs. U know, open mouth and ask instead of keeping quiet + hope that he will not charge too much. I always ask and go thru e charges before anything or anyone touch my ride.....anywhere, not just at Riverview. In fact, i will go to him for more serious/major servicing and elsewhere for e 10k km routine cos it is cheaper at many other WSs. But if it is a nagging or more serious problem where I want peace of mind after repairs/work done, I will go to Vincent and yes, I will haggle over e prices + he usually good to discuss + close an eye. Just want to share my own experiences with Riverview and becos I feel that everyone have e right to chose the WS that best suit their preference, whether in pricing, brand of EO, face of e boss, extra charges, whatever ride he now has etc etc. To b fair, he always looked me in e eyes and I am comfortable with him. Just my tots, frm own experience and I am in no way related to him or enjoy any specials....each time I need a quote, he will do so and if I find it too high, I either grumble for it to b lowered or go elsewhere lah. Safe ride Cheers I second this as well. Been with them since 2006, the prices have increased no doubt. Have i mentioned that my ride has been serving me well for the last 6++yrs? If you are not comfortable with the prices, you can always look elsewhere. Vincent is still the same old boss whom I knew 6 years ago. One thing for sure, his workshop is getting more and more popular and crowded. What's the reason behind it? I am sure the answer is obvious. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...