U can no longer user your parts for RiverView Auto

Torque6

yes.

i went there to change my accessory belt. and do an oil change.

i brought my own oil and filter.

i used their accessory belt and labour.

i usually only bring the stuff i want to use on the car which i know they dun carry, else, i will usually use whatever the wksp carries...

i usually only use my own oil, brake fluid and spark plugs which most wksp dun have what i want...

other stuff like MTF, coolant, belts, etc...i'll let the wksp earn.

i bring my own stuff not to save money, but more because i want specific fluids in my ride.

Same here bro. I bring my own oil, ATE brake fluid etc because not many workshop carry them.

Thought of going to them for major servicing until I saw the clause that additional charge will be imposed if bring own oil and the limited(premium) range of engine oil they have. [mad]

Oic, so thats the whole story. Pardon me if i sound like siding him.

Yes agree that he has very gd memory and he can be quite LOUD. in fact i can visualise how he sound when he tell u that over the phone, my guess is that he is kind of joking with u for not using the parts supplied by RV? abit like suan u frm a fren pov, thats my guess based on my impression of him.

fyi, i dun go to RV anymore after i got my chevy 2yrs ago cos rdy is more into for chevy major prob and after Ah Chin left, i also went over for norm servicing. i only went to RV once after that when i dropby Kenny place. And its just to talk c--k w Vincent and im definitely not a big customer (my old car was a COE CB lancer) and he nvr give me the feel that he see me no up so i believe it might be some misunderstanding here.

actually choosing a wkshop that we are comfortable w is more impt than anything i guess cos if u feel happy at the end of it, u will somehow find that its money well spent.

But hor, Vincent if some of the prices quoted in this thread are true, i thk its really abit high leh so u better make sure its value for $... haha :)

Actually to add on, my last servicing was done elsewhere as I had won a free servicing through Bosch carnival. Thanks to MCF.

The other car workshop diagnosed that I have a leaking shaft cover. Remedy is to change the assembly into a recon one. Cost $190+ Thankfully, that workshop did not have ready stock on hand.

I went back to RV, gotten a second opinion. It was a case of shaft cover hardening and showing signs of breaking up. It was still intact. In the end, I changed the cover and did throttle cleaning (servicing) and etc. I still had change left.

Very satisfied with their services. Better dun say too much, else you all will think that I am siding with them. Just stating the facts.

To each of his own.

no joke man, $75 service fee even before anyone opens the bonnet, if u bring your own oil.

add another $25 penalty on top of that because u didn't use their oil.

$100 total.

just checked my last bill.

(yes, Riverview, that is my last bill ever with you.)

wow more expensive than pml? labour plus filter $55 only if bring own oil

hearing good reviews about RV, i called them up about bring my own oil for servicing.

Quoted 60+ for labour charge on top of their package by the woman on phone.

Nv try again, go yew tee ws change $12 labour only, but no comfortable lounge to sit in lol

I second this as well. Been with them since 2006, the prices have increased no doubt. Have i mentioned that my ride has been serving me well for the last 6++yrs?

If you are not comfortable with the prices, you can always look elsewhere. Vincent is still the same old boss whom I knew 6 years ago.

One thing for sure, his workshop is getting more and more popular and crowded. What's the reason behind it? I am sure the answer is obvious.

All workshops are getting more crowded because of high COE, people are keeping their car more than 5yes. Before COE price escalate, most owner will sell car befor 5yrs. There is not much older car on thw road.

hearing good reviews about RV, i called them up about bring my own oil for servicing.

Nv try again, go yew tee ws change $12 labour only, but no comfortable lounge to sit in lol

$12 sounds good. which WS is that?

All workshops are getting more crowded because of high COE, people are keeping their car more than 5yes. Before COE price escalate, most owner will sell car befor 5yrs. There is not much older car on thw road.

i dun wish to rebute lah.. but 6 years ago, Vincent didn't have as many workshops that he had today on level 4.. :D

aiya, the price doesn't suit, then can always look elsewhere. Give the workshop a break.

i agree they are a bit ex, but aft tat time when they really took the effort to help me wif my "sound" problem i still find tat they are professional to a certain degree... any ws oso can do change of EO, change of oil filter etc but does these ws really put pride in their work? at least to me, i find this particular guy who solved my issue did put pride in his work...

Want cheap ? Bring your parts to JB workshop and they will gladly service your car.

Over here, as many has explained, the overheads are high, rentals, utilities, salaries; all have to be covered.

Workshops make from both supply and sale of parts, as well as labour.

If you take away that part sales from them, you can be sure you're not welcome.

i agree they are a bit ex, but aft tat time when they really took the effort to help me wif my "sound" problem i still find tat they are professional to a certain degree... any ws oso can do change of EO, change of oil filter etc but does these ws really put pride in their work? at least to me, i find this particular guy who solved my issue did put pride in his work...

to add on to what Zniper had mentioned, Vincent even came up to me and small chatted with me. He told me its okay that I visited another workshop (free servicing won from MCF Bosch Carnival). Then, I can also compare mah. I was like wow...

Vincent still the friendly boss man.. Their prices are not the cheapest. For my ride to be working in good condition after 6 years close to 150k, there must be a reason lah...

okay lah, shan't say anymore. Good night.

Want cheap ? Bring your parts to JB workshop and they will gladly service your car.

Over here, as many has explained, the overheads are high, rentals, utilities, salaries; all have to be covered.

Workshops make from both supply and sale of parts, as well as labour.

If you take away that part sales from them, you can be sure you're not welcome.

thats why they can afford to drive luxury cars

good reviews heard from who?

to add on to what Zniper had mentioned, Vincent even came up to me and small chatted with me. He told me its okay that I visited another workshop (free servicing won from MCF Bosch Carnival). Then, I can also compare mah. I was like wow...

Vincent still the friendly boss man.. Their prices are not the cheapest. For my ride to be working in good condition after 6 years close to 150k, there must be a reason lah...

okay lah, shan't say anymore. Good night.

haha like that I must be a good mech too

Servicing only?? Any workshops also can do one lah. Why so special die die must go to this particular workshop?? It's like you wanna drink a simple cup of coffee, so many kopitiams don't go must go this one ah??

Its really funny that, out of sudden, alot of 'newbies' start writing something abt RV........... [laugh] [laugh]

took everyone so long to realize........

many years ago, people were singing praise about them, so i went.

upon reaching there, he brother here brother there until i buay tahan. That was the 1st and last i heard of him............... <_<