Scion Turbocharged May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 certainly there are changes taking place, but it doesn't deny the fact that our own govt has been treating us like sheep all these years... just look at the pathetic difference between a citizen and a PR: in education... eg P1 intake criteria in healthcare... eg almost same subsidy in B/C-class ward in scholarship... eg 36m spent on 1200 PRC students annually in housing... eg how many PRs sublet their flats? now they say Singaporeans should be placed first, but the changes are too slow, too little... thus our citizens are getting disheartened ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 (edited) My thought is that the system had worked best without the opposition. So we should go back to a 100% PAP govt to reset the system. What has the opposition done for us thus far, in real terms? No, wayang in parliament no count hor. Punching into the air and shouting slogans during election rallies also no count. What have they contributed materially, in their arguably-constrained role to help the man in the street? You just name me 3, any 3, and I will enter into a decent and meaningful conversation with you. Cut out the dramatics and theatrics please. I would have agreed to your 100% PAP theory if those old guard was still in parliament...for the last few batches of our elites, i feel they are totally either out of touch with the citizen plight and problems or they are simply greedy for the money the makes them enter into politic. Just look at after GE2011 our quality of PAP members..... I donno about you, but i am already disguested by a handful of them... when one is couple against the majority...what do you expected them to do? During voting in parliament, how many hands you will get? when LHL rise his hand, do you think his fellow members will leave their hands down? Simple question. Edited May 8, 2012 by Ronleech Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 My thought is that the system had worked best without the opposition. So we should go back to a 100% PAP govt to reset the system. What has the opposition done for us thus far, in real terms? No, wayang in parliament no count hor. Punching into the air and shouting slogans during election rallies also no count. What have they contributed materially, in their arguably-constrained role to help the man in the street? You just name me 3, any 3, and I will enter into a decent and meaningful conversation with you. Cut out the dramatics and theatrics please. I don't agree that there should be no opposition. As I said, problems we face now and back in 70s are way different. I'm sure if you bring back the same PAP team in the 70s to now, they wouldn't be able to solve it all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 I would say that life in Singapore was much better in the 70's to 80's when the govt was 100% PAP. Even in the 90's life was still relatively good for Singaporeans. - low inflation rate - low unemployment - less congested roads, no jams - no COE/ERP in the 70-80's - low cost of cars, HDB, private property and basic necessities ... food - low FT count, by numbers - many of our children got into local universities, based on 100% meritocracy (no quota to foreign scholars) - more local food / coffee shops in Geylang and even food courts (now infested with chinanese!) - even our prostitutes were locals or Malaysians (now got china, vietnamese, pinoy, thai, indon etc.) But into the new millennia, with opposition parties and one-upmanship, it seem that our current woes started from then on! Perhaps we should go back to a 100% PAP govt by GE2016? Food for thought to the 39.9%! GST Hike: Helping the Sandwich Class by Ms Seet Cher Lui Stephanie Sengkang West Division of Ang Mo Kio GRC Assistant Secretary, Young PAP Dated : 14-02-2007 PAP - News & Stories Economic Climate on the Middle Class While the elderly and lower income groups will be better off with the GST offset package, recent economic restructuring appears to affect the middle income class the most. Given the climate of economic reforms, the impact of the GST hike on this group should not be evaluated in isolation. The economy appears to have fully recovered from the 1997 Asian financial crisis, with 2006 registering a better-than-expected 7.6% growth. The government has also announced plans to restore CPF cuts. There are, however, indicators of leaner times ahead, with the growing income divide being magnified with the emergence of a dual economy. Reports of middle class wage stagnation over the past ten years hardly suggest that the bullish economy benefits the majority of income-earners.( Problem of wage stagnation already started in 1997). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 My thought is that the system had worked best without the opposition. So we should go back to a 100% PAP govt to reset the system. What has the opposition done for us thus far, in real terms? No, wayang in parliament no count hor. Punching into the air and shouting slogans during election rallies also no count. What have they contributed materially, in their arguably-constrained role to help the man in the street? You just name me 3, any 3, and I will enter into a decent and meaningful conversation with you. Cut out the dramatics and theatrics please. Punching into the air and shouting YOUR OWN NAME AND OTHERS' NAMES during election rallies IS RETARDED. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 Punching into the air and shouting YOUR OWN NAME AND OTHERS' NAMES during election rallies IS RETARDED. SUPER lo... . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 The world is moving so fast that no matter which side we choose, the policies can only be reactionary in nature lah. Life is generally better in the 70s and 80s because the effects of globalisation has not reached critical mass yet, and the old guards are able to take their time to consider and properly put forth their policies. Economic cycles in those days are also longer and more predictable, whereas nowadays, cycles become shorter and unfathomable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 (edited) Well, a simple fact that population almost doubled from 3.6 billion in 70s to just over 7 billion now. You may say that SG population didn't grow what. However, every thing you buy is from outside singapore and we have to vie for it. hOooooo, chill, heng you are not the talent recuriting minister in SG. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore 7billion would be sardines complaining. i hope its more of an english error over math Edited May 8, 2012 by Sk65 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damien22 1st Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 Next GE? the same ppl that kpkb now will go vote PAP... then when ask them why, they will say, "my opposition not good enough"... so how liddat? ko themselves Spot on! I agree totally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 (edited) Cannot be helped. The bottom 30% pay has not had any REAL increase (only nominal increase) in the last few years. Their belts already auto-tightened for them without any action on their part or maybe without them knowing as well... This country is like that one. You cannot make it, there is no empathy one. When you qualify to be taxed, they know how much you earn. When you qualify for subsidies, they may not know how much you earn. Edited May 8, 2012 by Sabian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 GST Hike: Helping the Sandwich Class by Ms Seet Cher Lui Stephanie Sengkang West Division of Ang Mo Kio GRC Assistant Secretary, Young PAP Dated : 14-02-2007 PAP - News & Stories Economic Climate on the Middle Class While the elderly and lower income groups will be better off with the GST offset package, recent economic restructuring appears to affect the middle income class the most. Given the climate of economic reforms, the impact of the GST hike on this group should not be evaluated in isolation. The economy appears to have fully recovered from the 1997 Asian financial crisis, with 2006 registering a better-than-expected 7.6% growth. The government has also announced plans to restore CPF cuts. There are, however, indicators of leaner times ahead, with the growing income divide being magnified with the emergence of a dual economy. Reports of middle class wage stagnation over the past ten years hardly suggest that the bullish economy benefits the majority of income-earners.( Problem of wage stagnation already started in 1997). Maybe now some numbnuts will understand why GDP/ GNP increase does not equate to higher salaries all round. And even if salaries did go up, it does not mean the growth is equally distributed. Maybe the same numbnuts will also understand what the GINI coefficient is about. Always easier to understand if you are at the receiving end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 hOooooo, chill, heng you are not the talent recuriting minister in SG. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore 7billion would be sardines complaining. i hope its more of an english error over math Lol.....ya...likely HDB flat will all reach 100 floor in height..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 60.1% think is better, the rest are repenting can i report you? much as i like your posts on jap car shows.... i getting sick of what you are saying without basis..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 I would say that life in Singapore was much better in the 70's to 80's when the govt was 100% PAP. Even in the 90's life was still relatively good for Singaporeans. - low inflation rate - low unemployment - less congested roads, no jams - no COE/ERP in the 70-80's - low cost of cars, HDB, private property and basic necessities ... food - low FT count, by numbers - many of our children got into local universities, based on 100% meritocracy (no quota to foreign scholars) - more local food / coffee shops in Geylang and even food courts (now infested with chinanese!) - even our prostitutes were locals or Malaysians (now got china, vietnamese, pinoy, thai, indon etc.) But into the new millennia, with opposition parties and one-upmanship, it seem that our current woes started from then on! Perhaps we should go back to a 100% PAP govt by GE2016? Food for thought to the 39.9%! I highlighted those in red and appreciate if you will honestly answer the following questions: 1) Are they the result of opposition being in Parliament 2) Is it not because of the gahmen's policy which caused those in red? - Yes or No? Like many will concur with you, PAP is ok IF you can get those with PASSION to serve rather than those who serve for glory, glamor and percuniary interests. Matter of fact, not every opposition stands the chance of WP A Team as in Aljunied which reflects the PASSION of PAP members in the 60s - 70s. The new generation of PAP members leaves much to be desired albeit a few. Have a nice day! Majulah Singapura!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 Lol.....ya...likely HDB flat will all reach 100 floor in height..... Storey basement 18..... too too too.... doors closing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 can i report you? much as i like your posts on jap car shows.... i getting sick of what you are saying without basis..... repork lo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 Storey basement 18..... too too too.... doors closing.... Serioulsy, this is one option they are considering (i heard) when they are planning further development to build HDB....good hor, now even got under water view in future..... Instead of expand up, they wanna expand downwards cos highrise is obstructing out fighter jet land aircraft landing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 Hell no.................for our gov elites (after the salary cut). I think everyone (including Ms Disgraceful) agrees Previously go holdiays 4 times a year. Now go 3 times a year Peviously eat fine dining 6 times a week. Now eat 4 times a week. Previously drives Lexus. Now drives Toyota So yah life has gotten 'worse' for them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...