LoverofCar 6th Gear February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 (edited) my earlier post mentioned the latest dua sim phone usually come with 2 LTE slots, if both sim card are LTE, why can't they both access to 4G network unless the telco restrict the signal? Yes. this is the current situation with dual sim card phone. No phone can do LTE/3G standby at the same time. One slot will be LTE/3G. The other slot will be 2G. Just go to selatar mall and you will understand what I mean., The slot on 2G network is useless there. I'm despo to find one that can do LTE/3G at the same time but don't seem to be able to find one. Edited February 29, 2016 by LoverofCar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darky8888 4th Gear February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 Where do u get this? I don't think it is LTE/3G standby for both slots at the same time. At any one time, only one slot is LTE/3G. The other slot will go to 2G automatically. Can you confirm it? Much appreciated. only one slot will be active while the other will be on standby mode on Data, however SMS and dialing still function for both SIM card. You can switch between SIM card as to which you prefer to be on 4G via Setting. Hope i have answered your query. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 Yes. this is the current situation with dual sim card phone. No phone can do LTE/3G standby at the same time. One slot will be LTE/3G. The other slot will be 2G. Just go to selatar mall and you will understand what I mean., The slot on 2G network is useless there. I'm despo to find one that can do LTE/3G at the same time but don't seem to be able to find one. dun quite understand the highlight in red. what specifically network that seletar mall cannot access? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 I just now went waterway point. 2G singtel network cannot access at all. It is in my xiaomi mii4 2nd simcard slot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 dun quite understand the highlight in red. what specifically network that seletar mall cannot access? If what this guy said is true, IDA is going to bang wall next year. When a phone is on Wi-fi, the data (3G or 4G) will be cut and and stay in 2G only. So, when we are at home, our phone will not ring come July 2017 as there is no more 2G network! Hi Zhulee Oops, I somewhat misunderstood your requirements. I thought all what you want is just to set one SIM for voice and the other for data. If your requirements is to have either one of these pairs : 3G/3G, 3G/4G, 4G/3G, 4G/4G to work concurrently, it is not possible. You are right. Theoretically, it is also not logical. This is because, based on my understanding, once you set one of the SIMs to 4G-LTE, the other will be defaulted to 2G. The reason is that you already define where you are going to have your data coming from. The other SIM set to 2G is just for the voice. Voice does not use data. It does not need 3G or 4G. If the phone gets connected to a WiFi network, both SIMs will now be automatically defaulted to 2G. The data will be drawn from WiFi network and voice will go through SIM1 and SIM2. It is commonsense to have a design like this. Wifi has the priority. Summary : 1). For data traffic, you need 3G or 4G 2). For voice traffic, you just need 2G Therefore, OPERATIONALLY you can only have either one of the following pairs : SIM1(2G) / SIM2(3G) http://c.mi.com/sg/thread-759-1-1.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 (edited) You need to carry portable car battery if both 4G are made accessible simultaneously. Or the phone will look like telephone directory/yellow pages book. It is a battery challenge for juice sucking LTE. Think there's safety issue also pertaining to radiation. Not fun having your balls cooked. Probably exceeded SAR limitation, and probably need to wait till telecom/radio engineers come out with solutions. my earlier post mentioned the latest dua sim phone usually come with 2 LTE slots, if both sim card are LTE, why can't they both access to 4G network unless the telco restrict the signal? Edited February 29, 2016 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 (edited) dun quite understand the highlight in red. what specifically network that seletar mall cannot access? If slot 1 is on LTE/3G. Slot 2 will be 2G network automatically. If 2G network is going to phase out by Apr 2017. Only a single slot of the dual sim phone with LTE/3G network.....in selatar mall.....the slot with 2G network is dead.....can't use data and voice call at all.......Aiyo. ,,,,my english so bad is it? If what this guy said is true, IDA is going to bang wall next year. When a phone is on Wi-fi, the data (3G or 4G) will be cut and and stay in 2G only. So, when we are at home, our phone will not ring come July 2017 as there is no more 2G network! Hi Zhulee Oops, I somewhat misunderstood your requirements. I thought all what you want is just to set one SIM for voice and the other for data. If your requirements is to have either one of these pairs : 3G/3G, 3G/4G, 4G/3G, 4G/4G to work concurrently, it is not possible. You are right. Theoretically, it is also not logical. This is because, based on my understanding, once you set one of the SIMs to 4G-LTE, the other will be defaulted to 2G. The reason is that you already define where you are going to have your data coming from. The other SIM set to 2G is just for the voice. Voice does not use data. It does not need 3G or 4G. If the phone gets connected to a WiFi network, both SIMs will now be automatically defaulted to 2G. The data will be drawn from WiFi network and voice will go through SIM1 and SIM2. It is commonsense to have a design like this. Wifi has the priority. Summary : 1). For data traffic, you need 3G or 4G 2). For voice traffic, you just need 2G Therefore, OPERATIONALLY you can only have either one of the following pairs : SIM1(2G) / SIM2(3G) http://c.mi.com/sg/thread-759-1-1.html When the slot is on 2G network....once it phased out. Not only the data...the voice function will be gone too. Go to selatar mall and some shopping mall that don't support anymore 2G network....you can't use data or voice call at all for the card with 2G network. I just now went waterway point. 2G singtel network cannot access at all. It is in my xiaomi mii4 2nd simcard slot. Yes, that's what i mean. The 2G network is gone....both data and voice cannot be used at all. Edited February 29, 2016 by LoverofCar 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 (edited) @jman888 Xiaomi Redmi Note 1 has 2 SIM slots. 1st slot: 3G. 2nd slot 2G Seems SingTel has removed 2G support at some locations. So whatever SIM in the 2nd slot will not be able to connect to a base station as that slot only supports 2G voice/ data thus rendering the extra SIM slot useless for the Redmi Note 1. As for phones with dual 4G SIM slots, no issue. But while both SIMs are on standby to receive any incoming calls, once you take a call on one of the SIM and while conversing, the other SIM will not be on standby until you hang up. As for data usage, 1 SIM will be designated as the default SIM for 3G/ 4G data connection and usage. Edited February 29, 2016 by Sabian 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 @jman888 Xiaomi Redmi Note 1 has 2 SIM slots. 1st slot: 3G. 2nd slot 2G Seems SingTel has removed 2G support at some locations. So whatever SIM in the 2nd slot will not be able to connect to a base station as that slot only supports 2G voice/ data thus rendering the extra SIM slot useless for the Redmi Note 1. As for phones with dual 4G SIM slots, no issue. But while both SIMs are on standby to receive any incoming calls, once you take a call on one of the SIM and while conversing, the other SIM will not be on standby until you hang up. As for data usage, 1 SIM will be designated as the default SIM for 3G/ 4G data connection and usage. But I don't think there is a phone with both slots connected to 4G or 3G at the same time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 aiyo, end last year bought this Huawei P8 phone, still in box just checked the manual, 2nd sim card 2G only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 But I don't think there is a phone with both slots connected to 4G or 3G at the same time. from we gather in this thread, technically only one sim can access to 4G and the other automatically connect to 2G at the setting. The advantage of having the dual sim 4G on both slot, is the selection is done via phone setting. The other phone with one slot specifically for 2G mean you have to manually swap the sim card. latest dual sim phone with both slot can connect to 4G. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wildfaye29 Turbocharged February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 And which latest phone models can 4G/3G concurrently? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 from we gather in this thread, technically only one sim can access to 4G and the other automatically connect to 2G at the setting. The advantage of having the dual sim 4G on both slot, is the selection is done via phone setting. The other phone with one slot specifically for 2G mean you have to manually swap the sim card. latest dual sim phone with both slot can connect to 4G. You still don't get his concern (he already knows everything you just said). If the 2nd one automatically connects to 2G then you won't be able to use the 2nd sim card slot come 2017 since there will not be any 2G signal at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 aiyo, end last year bought this Huawei P8 phone, still in box just checked the manual, 2nd sim card 2G only IMG_1586.JPG IMG_1589.JPG IMG_1587.JPG IMG_1142.JPG Come 2017. This phone is just like a single sim card. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 You still don't get his concern (he already knows everything you just said). If the 2nd one automatically connects to 2G then you won't be able to use the 2nd sim card slot come 2017 since there will not be any 2G signal at all. i understand his concern but i dun think the user can do anything. The telco have to provide a network once the 2G is no longer in use, perhaps by then 3G is for calling and data speed will be on 5G liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 (edited) You still don't get his concern (he already knows everything you just said). If the 2nd one automatically connects to 2G then you won't be able to use the 2nd sim card slot come 2017 since there will not be any 2G signal at all. Glad you understand what I'm trying to say.i understand his concern but i dun think the user can do anything. The telco have to provide a network once the 2G is no longer in use, perhaps by then 3G is for calling and data speed will be on 5G liao.yes bro. That's why I'm asking any dual sim phone can have both slot connected to minimum 3G now. So in those shopping malls that don't have 2G network any more....I can still get two slots working. In fact, not even 2017, we have malls stopped having 2G now. Edited February 29, 2016 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 (edited) Nothing to do with telco, it's the phone! Telco can provide new network, be it 5G or G strings, but due to the fact that for dual SIM phone, only one SIM can have access to 3G/4G at one time, rendering it becomes a single SIM-use phone come 2017 'cos the other SIM cannot access 2G network anymore 'cos no 2G network. i understand his concern but i dun think the user can do anything. The telco have to provide a network once the 2G is no longer in use, perhaps by then 3G is for calling and data speed will be on 5G liao. Edited February 29, 2016 by Kangadrool 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 29, 2016 Share February 29, 2016 Glad you understand what I'm trying to say. yes bro. That's why I'm asking any dual sim phone can have both slot connected to minimum 3G now. So in those shopping malls that don't have 2G network any more....I can still get two slots working. In fact, not even 2017, we have malls stopped having 2G now. My advice is not to think about it till 2017 unless you really need to get a phone now..... BTW, I just tried to check if my Asus laser zenfone can connect to 3/4G on the 2nd sim (while first sim is working) but it doesn't show anywhere. Guess I have to find a place where 2G isn't working and try it there. i understand his concern but i dun think the user can do anything. The telco have to provide a network once the 2G is no longer in use, perhaps by then 3G is for calling and data speed will be on 5G liao. You don't understand leh. His worry is with the phone not the Telco. Telco is supporting him just fine for 3G and 4G networks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...