Watwheels Supersonic June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 With so many ppl using smartphones, tablet & laptops, the mobile data is really slow lor. With the recent hiccup it's evident they have to upgrade to faster connection speeds. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 I for once, agree with their decision... in some locations, the data speed crawls til my whatsapp message also cannot send out.. My only qualms is whether to go for 2GB or 4GB data cap.. My monthly usage usually hovers around 1.5 - 2.5GB. Singtel earns from my roaming usage mostly.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rezorn86 3rd Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 just wondering y they cut so much on data plan for 4g n increase so much sms for wat??? might as well local data cap at 5gb n sms remind @ 500, but give us a discounted price like range between $30-$32 instead of $39.90... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 I think everyone have to remember that when data plan first started out. its only 1G. its because M1 come out with a 12 G that become a game changer. anyway lets hope M1 hold on the font. then we can let ST bleed like hell and revert back to old price plan Actually i am quite heng that i am on the 1GB plan. Sometimes needs are born out of habit and for those who are used to colossal data availability, good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 Actually i am quite heng that i am on the 1GB plan. Sometimes needs are born out of habit and for those who are used to colossal data availability, good luck. problem is the allow multi-sim then they realise their mobile Broadband without mobile line plan become kuku Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 problem is the allow multi-sim then they realise their mobile Broadband without mobile line plan become kuku mobile broadband without mobile line plan? referring to mobile broadband plan to be used with HSDPA dongle one huh? I still using that leh. Probably fewer people using notebooks or netbook on the go liao. i was allowed to recontract my 1Mbps plan with unlimited data cap recently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear June 4, 2012 Author Share June 4, 2012 just wondering y they cut so much on data plan for 4g n increase so much sms for wat??? might as well local data cap at 5gb n sms remind @ 500, but give us a discounted price like range between $30-$32 instead of $39.90... remember the article in the newspaper recently of falling sms rates? they trying to "encourage" more sms Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 remember the article in the newspaper recently of falling sms rates? they trying to "encourage" more sms It is a fact that they are running a business and not a charity. It is a fact that data usage plus apps such as whatsapp, kakao talk as well as VOIP apps are eroding the traditional source of income for telcos. What did you expect them to do? Sit by idly and do nothing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 Hi Bros, Was reading the source, it states "will replace existing 3G Flexi and iFlexi plans" Does that mean they will convert all current data plans to this new scheme from 1st July? I am on the old plan, no more contract & do not intend to re-contract Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 I don't mind IF THEY REDUCE the subscription fees. Frankly, 12GB per month is too much. I tried very hard also cannot achieve 1GB monthly for my mobile phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 I don't mind IF THEY REDUCE the subscription fees. Frankly, 12GB per month is too much. I tried very hard also cannot achieve 1GB monthly for my mobile phone. 1 GB can be busted easily lah and thats not talking about all out siao video chat or streaming video hor. Just browsing as well as downloading stuff can more than effortlessly reach 1GB. 2GB is more reasonable imo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 I think I'll suffer -> Clock at least 5Gb/ month. And with the reduced data cap, that means no more weather apps, instant email notification, news, etc.... Just using them, good enough for almost 2Gb/ month liao. That doesn't include surfing youtube, or internet on the move. Sian. But true lah. 3G data speed is really slow, but still faster than my house's outdated 3mbps DSL internet from ST. It's being used by 4 or more devices, so end up my phone's tethering is faster for me. But it seems that in future, can't use tethering anymore. See, even with such technologies, no point as the infra-structure don't support it. Sign up for 4G plans also no use, as we'll tend to surf more with faster speeds isn't it? And now they wanna charge us kao kao for overusing. WTH!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 I think I'll suffer -> Clock at least 5Gb/ month. And with the reduced data cap, that means no more weather apps, instant email notification, news, etc.... Just using them, good enough for almost 2Gb/ month liao. That doesn't include surfing youtube, or internet on the move. Sian. But true lah. 3G data speed is really slow, but still faster than my house's outdated 3mbps DSL internet from ST. It's being used by 4 or more devices, so end up my phone's tethering is faster for me. But it seems that in future, can't use tethering anymore. See, even with such technologies, no point as the infra-structure don't support it. Sign up for 4G plans also no use, as we'll tend to surf more with faster speeds isn't it? And now they wanna charge us kao kao for overusing. WTH!!!! Dunno about ST plan but for SH, it will be 5 bucks per 1GB, cap at 30 bucks. So for your case, need to pay 25 or max 30 only.... Ever since I have a tablet on multi-sim, I've been using over 2 GB too.... Why can't use tethering? These are features built into the phone OS, not a telco feature, so I don't see why tethering would be cut off..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 1 GB can be busted easily lah and thats not talking about all out siao video chat or streaming video hor. Just browsing as well as downloading stuff can more than effortlessly reach 1GB. 2GB is more reasonable imo. If ONLY they can allow carry forward of unused bandwidth would be great. 24 months contract get 48GB.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 normal email, notifications and internet surfing will nit exceed 2GB lah, constantly watching YouTube and download tv drama ccould be crazy without control. with more iPad and tablets, can imagine how much people can actually use I think I'll suffer -> Clock at least 5Gb/ month. And with the reduced data cap, that means no more weather apps, instant email notification, news, etc.... Just using them, good enough for almost 2Gb/ month liao. That doesn't include surfing youtube, or internet on the move. Sian. But true lah. 3G data speed is really slow, but still faster than my house's outdated 3mbps DSL internet from ST. It's being used by 4 or more devices, so end up my phone's tethering is faster for me. But it seems that in future, can't use tethering anymore. See, even with such technologies, no point as the infra-structure don't support it. Sign up for 4G plans also no use, as we'll tend to surf more with faster speeds isn't it? And now they wanna charge us kao kao for overusing. WTH!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 4, 2012 Share June 4, 2012 Actually i am quite heng that i am on the 1GB plan. Sometimes needs are born out of habit and for those who are used to colossal data availability, good luck. you are right, last time only 1 GB when they first launch, i surf mcf everyday on iPhone also never exceed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 (edited) Let me check".... since 1st jun, already clocked 1.1.gb... it's due tho just change new phone, download map alone more than 700mb already .... . Anyway, my ave is around 3-4.gb max.... Edited June 5, 2012 by Blackyv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged June 5, 2012 Share June 5, 2012 my avg for past 6 months rather close to 2GB except last two months at about 2.5GB. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...