Deckbuild 6th Gear June 30, 2012 Share June 30, 2012 Not sure also...some even said they are assembled in PRC. Dunno whether it's true or not....one thing I know for sure...when I used to stationed in Dalian and ShenYang (North East China) .....everywhere is VW. Those sold in china are assemble in china, just like malaysia honda civic assemble in malaysia, but ultimately it's still vw problem, assemble in Germany also so many problem. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 30, 2012 Share June 30, 2012 So how lemon is consider lemon? Car breakdown within 1 week you have collected your car? Or parts replacement starts to surface after 3 years? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 30, 2012 Share June 30, 2012 (edited) So how lemon is consider lemon? Car breakdown within 1 week you have collected your car? Or parts replacement starts to surface after 3 years? I think the worst would be those that breakdown on the day of collection. 2 years ago when I was looking for a car, I was at a showroom and saw someone collecting his new car only to go walk out without getting the car cuz the car can't start. lol. Edited June 30, 2012 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerrcik 1st Gear June 30, 2012 Share June 30, 2012 While the Volks reliability is in question, but the sales rocket upwards. It shows that many of the buyers did not conduct research prior to purchase.... On the other hand, my Chery T11 SUV (2 yrs old) 1.6M has practically no issues except for the tires (old liao). My friend T11 has been 5 years old and hit 165000km and had changed only those that are required on the manual. (timing belt, shocks, bearings and etc). His clutch till today had not been changed at all.... Chery reliability has surprised many, but dun get QQ or J1.....lol the T11 is the best budget SUV...btw a brand new 1.6M T11 costs about 75K. Yup 75k.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear June 30, 2012 Share June 30, 2012 (edited) Don't buy lor! You have a choice what why so worked up? just a comment only. chill la bro. i never say i want to buy VW cars also and also wont be buying it also la. [laugh] Edited June 30, 2012 by MkMan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis80 1st Gear June 30, 2012 Share June 30, 2012 Side track a bit. Just attended the Lemon Law talk by CASE & SVTA yesterday. The lemon law will come into effect on 1 Sept 2012. When you purchase a car (used or otherwise) which subsequently comes with defects, the retailer will have to either refund you, replace or repair your car within 6 months from purchase date. More about the lemon law here: http://www.case.org.sg/cpfta.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear June 30, 2012 Share June 30, 2012 Mine comes 2nd hand. Replaced tires, brakes including rotors, shocks. Mountings both engine and shocks as well for 4 sides Now engine oils leaking suspect gasket gone. Bumper cracked both fron and rear. Gear box groans while revs are low. Flushed twice with mineral ATF. Replacement gb coming soon Interior cushion all gone. Going to replace with new foam. Radio hu busted. Changed to new pioneer unit. Only thing still functioning is the vtec Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear June 30, 2012 Share June 30, 2012 Mine comes 2nd hand. Replaced tires, brakes including rotors, shocks. Mountings both engine and shocks as well for 4 sides Now engine oils leaking suspect gasket gone. Bumper cracked both fron and rear. Gear box groans while revs are low. Flushed twice with mineral ATF. Replacement gb coming soon Interior cushion all gone. Going to replace with new foam. Radio hu busted. Changed to new pioneer unit. Only thing still functioning is the vtec Wow.. What car is this if don't mind sharing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis80 1st Gear June 30, 2012 Share June 30, 2012 Mine comes 2nd hand. Replaced tires, brakes including rotors, shocks. Mountings both engine and shocks as well for 4 sides Now engine oils leaking suspect gasket gone. Bumper cracked both fron and rear. Gear box groans while revs are low. Flushed twice with mineral ATF. Replacement gb coming soon Interior cushion all gone. Going to replace with new foam. Radio hu busted. Changed to new pioneer unit. Only thing still functioning is the vtec How old is the car when you bought it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged June 30, 2012 Share June 30, 2012 Mine comes 2nd hand. Replaced tires, brakes including rotors, shocks. Mountings both engine and shocks as well for 4 sides Now engine oils leaking suspect gasket gone. Bumper cracked both fron and rear. Gear box groans while revs are low. Flushed twice with mineral ATF. Replacement gb coming soon Interior cushion all gone. Going to replace with new foam. Radio hu busted. Changed to new pioneer unit. Only thing still functioning is the vtec You were the one who started a separate topic on "tracking down the previous owner", right ? But the way you say is like you didn't even test drive the car at all, before buying it. If you had, you could have noticed at least the cushion problem, the busted HU, gearbox groaning and bumper cracked....! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear July 1, 2012 Share July 1, 2012 yup.. i know about the dented bumper, so i brought down the price of the car. others, dont knwo. busted HU is when the CD got stuck, fair...could happen to any car. cushion was fine at the front seats, but not the rear.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear July 1, 2012 Share July 1, 2012 4.5 yrs..on a tight budget. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear July 1, 2012 Share July 1, 2012 honda civic... i think the worst if over... now the car is running like new. was needing to buy a new car because of daily travel (70KM) and personal changes in life so that i have to let go of previous well-kept car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear July 1, 2012 Share July 1, 2012 funny thing is that i brought to kah motor, the SE said that the GB groan is normal. for all honda and mazda cars when the revs are low.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavver 4th Gear July 1, 2012 Share July 1, 2012 Not sure also...some even said they are assembled in PRC. Dunno whether it's true or not....one thing I know for sure...when I used to stationed in Dalian and ShenYang (North East China) .....everywhere is VW. To me PRC VW more robust then VW here loh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arixlim Clutched July 1, 2012 Share July 1, 2012 wow...vw...so lemon, then what else? any good car? low on maintenance..? i.e. good car design inside and outside...and i thought more expensive more sweet...how abt the lexus 250...i always like..its seems got aircon cooling on the car seats...other country got seat warmer in cold countries... i want to say is ..they dismantle the heating stuff...but i want... so nissan technology behind it also ..? early morning make love then too cold can heater abit..haha.. mosquito no detect...and confused..then dried them up..hahaha..night time meet midnight...maybe too much ktv too cold can use mah....or watch movie in theater or those musicals..etc...seems like nobody say lexus bad...? erm..same toyota brakes? prius internal or the gs300..? make a hot cb..haha dunno eh..any other car to highlight too? vw paintwork seems after 3 years sucks... audi after 1.5 yrs...sucks...new ones seem after 3 yrs.....then sucks... why no paintwork review..? and can i start a thread already..? cos i got soo much questions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear July 1, 2012 Share July 1, 2012 Pls don't start new thread, your post very hard to read. Gam xia. wow...vw...so lemon, then what else? any good car? low on maintenance..? i.e. good car design inside and outside...and i thought more expensive more sweet...how abt the lexus 250...i always like..its seems got aircon cooling on the car seats...other country got seat warmer in cold countries... i want to say is ..they dismantle the heating stuff...but i want... so nissan technology behind it also ..? early morning make love then too cold can heater abit..haha.. mosquito no detect...and confused..then dried them up..hahaha..night time meet midnight...maybe too much ktv too cold can use mah....or watch movie in theater or those musicals..etc...seems like nobody say lexus bad...? erm..same toyota brakes? prius internal or the gs300..? make a hot cb..haha dunno eh..any other car to highlight too? vw paintwork seems after 3 years sucks... audi after 1.5 yrs...sucks...new ones seem after 3 yrs.....then sucks... why no paintwork review..? and can i start a thread already..? cos i got soo much questions. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...