Yuan 6th Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 wat col is dat piece of junk? black? lol nb.. lucky u nv buy. u know wat is the happiest moment when ur in the car? not when the boost comes in. not when ur frens admire ur car coz most of them cant identify it. not when u out run bigger boys. it's when the fooking car manage to START in the morning!! dis one is the ultimate happiness when u owned something like dis. hahahahaha.. This is quite true. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 wat col is dat piece of junk? black? lol nb.. lucky u nv buy. u know wat is the happiest moment when ur in the car? not when the boost comes in. not when ur frens admire ur car coz most of them cant identify it. not when u out run bigger boys. it's when the fooking car manage to START in the morning!! dis one is the ultimate happiness when u owned something like dis. hahahahaha.. YES! if i recall correctly, it was black. did yours have a sibei noisy BOV as well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Heard owners who owned tucson, not much problems but think the only problem should be this car FC very very bad! I have 2 friends drove this car before, one sold off after 4 years and another sold off less than 2 years! Petrol consumption was reasonable to me. Did about 9km/l . Maybe because of the refalhed ECU, maybe because of my travelling pattern ( 90% HW / 10% urban ) . Was able to do 500+km on a full tank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 YES! if i recall correctly, it was black. did yours have a sibei noisy BOV as well? there wasnt many Puntos ard and black units were rare at dat time. it came wif a Apexi bov bigger than a grenade. car plate was 6665. sold by Cartimes at AML Ubi. when i collected my car dat time it stalled once at ubi oso. tmd! dun tell me so zhun hor.. if it was really the case, im gonna hate u for lifr for not buying it and cause my dream car to become a night mare! lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 there wasnt many Puntos ard and black units were rare at dat time. it came wif a Apexi bov bigger than a grenade. car plate was 6665. sold by Cartimes at AML Ubi. when i collected my car dat time it stalled once at ubi oso. tmd! dun tell me so zhun hor.. if it was really the case, im gonna hate u for lifr for not buying it and cause my dream car to become a night mare! lol wahahaha.....sibei zhun! sure sounds like the same car. walau eh, first time i had to walk back after a test drive and wondered who the hell would buy that blardy piece of turd. guess i found him..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 wahahaha.....sibei zhun! sure sounds like the same car. walau eh, first time i had to walk back after a test drive and wondered who the hell would buy that blardy piece of turd. guess i found him..... and u found the moron who did.. the stalling issue was only the tip of the iceberg. it was a pc of turd and i hv to agree. lol.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Tahan 3 years cos got budget problem, how-lian when young, first car has to be new car, so buy hyundai. I think I may know why your friend no confidence in hyundai despite having no problems, the car also wears down slowly, rattling here and there and things dropped out, doesnt feel reliable anymore. thats why no confidence as time passes.....me too i guess, dont know what will happen next. Dont think I will try hyundai for the time being, no worries, I think my current car can last ten years. I sold off Matrix at 60 k KM at 3 years, now my toyota has passed 150 k km, still confident it can last till 10 years. this is the difference. I am sure Hyundai cars have improved much after 10 years. But still not sure it can last 10 years should I cannot change car with the present COE. But selling off the ride only about 3 years a bit fast la. I believe hyundai cars should be able to last 10 years, as you can still find many hyundai cars which have passed 6-7 years mark running on the road now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 This is my story. Happened to the previous 2 cars which I had owned... First was a Honda Civic, the famous EK3 series, aka Ah beng car... Bought it in 2000...around 2004, Kah Motor brought in the EK3 replacement which was ES8, also 1.5 litres engine (CVT gearbox) but with a new look. At that time, always read up on the Singapore Honda Club (SHC) forum. There were many pple reporting of sudden power lost in their civic, the EK3 as well as the ES8. It seemed like the problem will accelerate if the owner liked to wack the VTI engine.. my friend who also bought an EK3 who liked to cheong ..went back to Kah Motor and complained abt the problem..... they didnt know what was the cause... and ended up just flushing the gearbox and when the problem persisted, they changed the gearbox....the occurence in the ES8 was even higher as reported by owners in the SHC forum...I experienced the problem almost toward the end my warranty.... the sympton was the power will only come in few seconds after u stepped on the accelator.. by then Kah Motor realised the problem was due to the start clutch....IIRC , it was a faulty switch.. So those who complained before me...either had their gearbox flushed numerously time....or had the gearbox changed FOC !! When I went to Kah Motor to highlight the same issue, they acknowledged it and changed it willingly... one of the supervisors said the occurence in the ES8 was very high.... and mysteriously Kah Motor stopped selling the ES8 few mths later..( IIRC was towards end of 2004 or early 2005)... it was replaced by the ES5, the 1.6 litres enginer with the normal torque convertor I sold off my civic, due to butts itch, and bought a chevrolet optra in 2005..and this is what had happened in the first 6 mths !! Within a few days after I gotten the car After I had started the car, the tachometer will stay ard 1500 to almost 2000 rpm !!! It will only drop when I engaged first gear ( it was a manual car) This incident happened almost 60% of the time.....went to Starauto to highlight....they said faulty fuel solenoid... they replaced it and it was good for only a few weeks.. Next issue came up, when the aircon was on.. .can hear a "cricket like" sound from the aircon blower which was near the glove box...it had a "click click" sound ,, not very loud..but quite irritating... it was like rubbing of some bushing in the blower.....again went to Starauto... they took out the blower and serviced it...it was Ok for awhile.. But these problems still came back before the end of the first month....went down to Starauto... they replaced the blower as well as what they callled a ECM module which controlled the fuel... and they said if still happened , can activate their 24 hrs service.. which I did 2x for the same problem by the 2nd month !!! I suspected the problem for the high rev was due to the ECU.. the brain of the engine electronic which is quite expensive to replace....but the Starauto claimed it was not the case... For the clicking sound created by the aircon blower....I realised that if I were to switched the fan speed to the max and back to low...the sound would go off.. and I managed to get it done successfully a few time...So there was one night,, I was driving home with my family members in the car....again the clicking sound came out... I switched the fan speed to max...and guess what.... a pop sound was heard and SMOKE came out from the aircon vent !!! LOL wife and kids were screaming wondering what had happened !! Once reached home...called their 24hrs service...( they were so familiar with my car's numerous problem..that the mentioned of the carplate...they would say" Orrh,,, that car plate...we know the address") The final straw was into the fifth mth.....was driving to work...when I came out of the carpark....the engine malfunction indicator lighted up....but I dun find anything strange except the car was abit sluggish....so still drove to work and back home ....Called their 24 hrs service again...they came down and checked......and the staff said ...."Sir,, one of the fuel injector is spoilt"...then he added....first time he had seen a fuel injector spoilt !! say cant replace as no spare part with him...need to tow the vehicle back to Starauto at Ubi.. So the truck came and tow my 5 mth old car away to Ubi....after that ,,,beri pissed off.... called the salesman and scolded him for selling me a junk car.... then search high and low at General Motor to send a mail to the Chairman to show my displeasure....but couldnot locate it...instead managed to find the President of the Thailand Plant where the Optra was assembled..... So drop him a mail...complaining of my displeasure !!!... Next day, went back to office to "pour my sorrow"...all my colleagues were joking at my misfortune....one of my colleagues claimed to know a senior staff at GM Oversea Distribution Centre (ODC)....said would drop him a message about my problem. next day went to starauto to ask how long it will take for the repair.... The floor manager said the boss of Starauto wanted to talk to me...I was thinking maybe all the emails were taking effect.... In the meeting room were the boss of Starauto, representatives from GM ODC asking what were my issues and how I wanted the problem to be solved..... I said repaire, replace or refund. They said will access the problem by a thorough check and get back to me... So I was given a courtesy car and drove home..... 4 days later....they drove my car back to my place....and showed me the list of parts replaced....and true enough the ECU module was one of the replaced items... I reckon the parts involved amounted to almost 10K !! and they gave me free servicing (parts and labor) for 5 years..... After this major overhaul... the car managed to give me an incident free ride for the next 3 yrs before I changed to my current ride due to extra member in my family.. It was an unforgetable experience....which I still had a good laugh when I reflected upon it from time to time...It was a real lemon experience during those 5 mths !! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 ppl wun wana admit bcoz they wan to justify their purchase. oso dun wana lose face by letting other ppl know they kena lemon-ed. there are so many ppl in the forum always sing praises abt their purchases here whether good or bad wat.. it's always the i-am-smart thus i-nv-go-wrong type of mentality. lol. Ya oredi realized that. I'm trying not to be lidat wahaha... Actually I got carroted many yrs back wen buyin cars. Luckily now more cool n less hasty... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 Ya oredi realized that. I'm trying not to be lidat wahaha... Actually I got carroted many yrs back wen buyin cars. Luckily now more cool n less hasty... we have to use our hard earn money to buy lessons when we were much younger, dun we? hee hee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 It was an unforgetable experience....which I still had a good laugh when I reflected upon it from time to time...It was a real lemon experience during those 5 mths !! [laugh] well, at least u got warranty to cover u and u only wasted some time. i got nothing and paying out from my own pockets. was made a mockery to top it off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged July 5, 2012 Share July 5, 2012 (edited) we have to use our hard earn money to buy lessons when we were much younger, dun we? hee hee Ya, young, clueless, impulsive. Silly us (still a bit now wahaha). Think the accumulated amount roberted could let me pay for "aftermarket" degree course liao... Edited July 5, 2012 by Fuelsaver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShellVpower 4th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 (edited) Update the problems here: 1. Within 1 day, rear speaker burst and need to replace. 2. Within 2 days, oil pump leaked and petrol pissed out at Petrol station. How dangerous! 3. Within 3 days, realised the front right bulb always blown and need to change a module. 4. Within 4th day, realized front left electric seat cannot move all the way to the rear, only driver electric seat can do that. 5. Within a few days, tyre burst, luckily not much cars on the road. 6. Within 1 week, oil return hose for both front suspension broke and one of them, I still cant find the part. 7. With 1.5 week, when going to AD to check oil, checked that front 2 caliper faulty, engine mounting and etc need to change. Also realized underbody windshield cover is torn and haven't replace yet. 8. Within 2 weeks, cars towed twice. One for gear selector came loose and one for faulty fuse box. 9. With 2.5 weeks, change wiper but the right side always disco up and down. Suspect right arm got problem, haven't fixed yet. 10. Within 3rd week, went for NSHW sprint and realized gearbox stuck at 4.5k rpm. The error is "invalid data from gear shift control". 11. Within 1 month, rear boot keep producing piak piak sound don't know from where? 12. Within 2 months, interior roof farbic cover started to drop. 13. Within 2.5 months, rear speaker also burst and need to replace. There are other minor things like side mirror closing got sound, creaking sound from doors (resolved by putting sound proof pads) and etc. I guess enough to send someone go crazy . Otherwise, this car still drives like a car. Regards, I am surprised that people run into lemons. None of the 8 bikes I bought over period of 10 years were lemons. My 2 cars which I owned separately were both from europe and none of them gave me problems although they have quite a reputation. I never had to call a tow truck, never had to worry if the car does not start the next morning, never had to worry if I will get stranded on the Malaysian North South Highway etc etc. My secret? Never ever send my car back to the agent. DIY or go to somewhere you trust and you can see and ask questions while the technician works on your car. Source your spare parts yourself and be adequately equipped in terms of technical knowledge on what to do and what not to do. It helps to keep cost down and very evidently it worked for me for the past 5 years on cars and 10 years on motorcycles. European models tend to be more lemon not due to poorer technology, but believe it or not, it is their obssession with a 'people oriented' culture that kills the brand. If you get one that was made during the right period, be observant and respond technically correctly, your ownership will be a breeze. Edited July 11, 2012 by ShellVpower Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear July 16, 2012 Share July 16, 2012 But selling off the ride only about 3 years a bit fast la. I believe hyundai cars should be able to last 10 years, as you can still find many hyundai cars which have passed 6-7 years mark running on the road now. Sure you can find many 2003 hyundai running but gearbox is lagging and jerking at 3rd year? mechanic says have to change or re-con and we are talking about 60,000 km only. Of course can last if I carry on, change gearbox or more pinhole leak, I decided to suffer the loss. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear July 18, 2012 Author Share July 18, 2012 I am surprised that people run into lemons. None of the 8 bikes I bought over period of 10 years were lemons. My 2 cars which I owned separately were both from europe and none of them gave me problems although they have quite a reputation. I never had to call a tow truck, never had to worry if the car does not start the next morning, never had to worry if I will get stranded on the Malaysian North South Highway etc etc. My secret? Never ever send my car back to the agent. DIY or go to somewhere you trust and you can see and ask questions while the technician works on your car. Source your spare parts yourself and be adequately equipped in terms of technical knowledge on what to do and what not to do. It helps to keep cost down and very evidently it worked for me for the past 5 years on cars and 10 years on motorcycles. European models tend to be more lemon not due to poorer technology, but believe it or not, it is their obssession with a 'people oriented' culture that kills the brand. If you get one that was made during the right period, be observant and respond technically correctly, your ownership will be a breeze. I used to say the same thing like you , until I personally run into a lemon. I guess the problem could have been worse if i didn't equip with the basic knowledge and DIY experience from my previous car. I believe a lemon can be turned into an apple but it is the extra time and vitamin M that one will need to get the car to run more reliably for the next 5 years or so. If knowing you have to spend extra, the money could have been utilized somewhere and save the hair from falling further . About the agent....I don't rely on agent alone. For the same problem and involve high repair cos, I will consult both agent and outside workshop which is experienced in dealing with a particular car brand. Visit agent does have its own merits, most of the time they are better equipped to diagnose tricky problems. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Sure you can find many 2003 hyundai running but gearbox is lagging and jerking at 3rd year? mechanic says have to change or re-con and we are talking about 60,000 km only. Of course can last if I carry on, change gearbox or more pinhole leak, I decided to suffer the loss. You refering to all korea cars or isloated case? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Honda is still the BEST, based on my own experience. I know I know, i'm starting a flaming war........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dfx16 6th Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 (edited) Honda is still the BEST, based on my own experience. I know I know, i'm starting a flaming war........ I suppose so.. my relative had kept his EG9 for 20 yrs and frequent Penang with it My coming 10 ys old Accord also problem and rattle free Now i'm headache should i extend her life for another 10 yrs The freaking COE now is 90k + The new Accord cost a whopping 200k Certain point of my life i own a COE Benz E240 Very good and also problem free car But the regular servicing cost I suppose Accord is a good alternative for me "Poor man luxury car" Another old reliable car is Toyota G9 There's still many well kept running around I encounter many S'pore G9 along NSHW as well Edited July 19, 2012 by Dfx16 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...