PR cannot sublet HDB liao

Mockngbrd

now another question is if PR+PR allow to buy HDB and rent out 1-2 rooms instead of whole unit.... if tis is still do-able dan basically i tink tis clause is still a crap... like wat many of us tink, y shld we let PR+PR to buy HDB? HDB initially is meant for citizens to enjoy lower/subsidizedhousing, but now we as citizens are machiam subsidizing PR for them to buy HDB...

i think not possible to enforce the situation of PR letting out rooms when themsleves are staying in the HDB flat. imagine the spot check officer come, the PR can claim the other occupants are relatives, friends and on short stay etc.

http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthrea...4245&page=8

just called HDB hot line, their response is extremely fast. Much better than the banks, M1, or SingTel hotlines.

For 1 SC + 1 PR, the renting out HDB follows SC rules:

a) 3 years for each approval,

b) and not capped at total 5 years.

I know many will say this is "unfair".

Maybe a "fair" rule for 1 SC + 1 PR would be:

a) 2 years for each approval.

b) 10 years cap.

Just to recap for 2 PRs, the rule is:

a) 1 year for each approval;

b) capped at total 5 years

Thanks,

Richard

That's pretty fair.

actually no use one....see:

http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthrea...4245&page=5

As of April this year, HDB said 2,142 PR owners currently sublet their flats.

They form about five per cent of the total approved sublet cases.

Key Executive Officer of ERA, Eugene Lim, said: "If you are a PR, why are you renting out your flat? You are here to stay, to work. If you have ability to buy another house, then you actually don't need a public flat and you should not be owning one."

=> the 2,142 SPR owners must now be SWEATING ... especially if they already sublet for 5y, that means no more rental is possible

2000 units not going to make much difference.....

I think when they were formulating the rules, they would already have checked the figures to assess the impact and deemed to have minimal disruption to the market.

What is unknown (and potentially scary) is the number of illegal subletting cases (both SC and PR) that could potentially be unearthed thru this stepped-up enforcement exercise.

i think not possible to enforce the situation of PR letting out rooms when themsleves are staying in the HDB flat. imagine the spot check officer come, the PR can claim the other occupants are relatives, friends and on short stay etc.

They have a way to monitor for this case. Pretty simple. Is their routine to to revisit. This case is very common. My relative's one floor down, neighbor's 4 room flat was taken back by HDB last month due to similar case. Many are doing that to avoid being detect. So HDB have their way to catch these practice.

We have ICA linked. Cannot run away in Singapore. :D

Edited by HP_Lee

fair rule ar? PR cannot buy Gahmen housing.

Allowing PR to buy HDB is the root of the problem.

I think when they were formulating the rules, they would already have checked the figures to assess the impact and deemed to have minimal disruption to the market.

What is unknown (and potentially scary) is the number of illegal subletting cases (both SC and PR) that could potentially be unearthed thru this stepped-up enforcement exercise.

Especially those both who have bought 2nd property and not staying in their HDB. HDB start targeting this group after they have clean up PR subletting. If HDB un-earth much larger numbers, than the mass market properties maybe affected? [smallcry]

eberybody know but gahmen wun care

Treat them so good and now look at how angry PRs are criticizing the policy now.

早知今日、何必当初

Especially those both who have bought 2nd property and not staying in their HDB. HDB start targeting this group after they have clean up PR subletting. If HDB un-earth much larger numbers, than the mass market properties maybe affected? [smallcry]

It's spring cleaning time to level the playing field now!

Whatever rules and policies are only as useful as its enforcement.

please la ... how to enforce.... ? whistle blowing? do they even have the resources to police such a rule ?

create another coe for subletting flat lo... those who rent fr owner without coe will also b fined... workable?

Edited by Siemens60

try tinking... PR+PR meaning they only wan to buy hdb and get the best of both worlds... y not get citizenship if really hav the mind to stay in sg and contribute? problem is, most of these FTs/PRs treat sg as a jumping board... they will ultimately move on to US, aussie etc and juz take all cpf and run away... ppl are saying who cares abt the PR when they leech enuf of our island...

PS: foreign students come here to study under garment subsidize need to be bond rite? some of them went to ask MOM and guess wat MOM says... it says if wan to leave w/o working in sg oso can... but the one who sponsor their education is MOE and MOE says muz work in sg for N no of yrs...

so u tell me even they themselves are having problem sorting these out...

Dont understand why they are so unhappy about ? I wonder if give them citizenship will make them happy since they can then rent out their HDB ?

It is human nature that a privilege or incentive once given cannot be taken away.