PR cannot sublet HDB liao

Mockngbrd

Ya lar.... The intend then was good by Mah. But somehow abused by some.

But root of this mess is still Mah failure to build flat at the same pace of ecomomic growth.

Mah does not have good intention.. he's just doing a job. that point in time. Resale prices is neg cov. NEw flat selling cheaper than resale flats, with renovation throw. He need to increase demand.. so he let PR buy along with other rules on sublet to "increase" the demand of hdb.

I loss 1/3 of the value at one point. I believe I am not alone. So, If he did nothing then, he will be out 5 years earlier... [laugh]

the root of the problem is

1. too many new citizen too fast -> eat into the new flat pie for citizen

2. not enough new flat -> double whammy to point 1

in the good old days

sporean buy 1st hand -> sell to pr -> upgrade to condo

pr buy 2nd hand -> rent out to another pr or sell to sporean (whom do not want to wait new flat or like the place)

win-win for all

Yes right direction. The question is how the authoirty is going to monitor and catch those who violet the rule?

should introduce "rewards" for ppl to pao toh. but that wld prob. breed distrust amongst neighbours

Edited by Mockngbrd

give gst voucher can? [laugh]

should introduce "rewards" for ppl to pao toh. but that wld prob. breed distrust amongst neighbours

This may not be a bad thing, considering that those who rent rooms and share them with a few others, are those entry-level PMETs, who are artificially depressing the wages of local PMETs. With such rising cost, foreign PMETs will demand higher wages, which in turn decreases their competitiveness, and employers will be more inclined to hire locals.

If less foreigners decide to work here, it may even relief the congested public transport infrastructure.

Of course, on the flip side, if large numbers of them leave, property prices will fall, those who bought at high prices will have the urge to jump off their apartments.

Overall, the market will find its equilibrium point, and I'm hopeful it will be a positive one.

it's ok let it fall so i can get a roof over my head for a more realistic price, i donwan to work as a cleaner after i retire to pay for my house.

new neighbors dun usually talk to each other like 15 years ago... who cares.. money talks

yes.. if you read records on how mr goh come up with the hdb idea. It's part of singaporean retirement planning. Instead of pension scheme. His idea to

Having a flat is our birthright. All citizen shld be allow to own a flat , regardless if he has a pte pty. I think that is more approriate.

support! with both hands and both feet [laugh]

Bua song also no choice.

Some of my PR colleagues bought HDB and rent out to earn $$. They either married with 1 kid or no kid so bought 4 rooms flat can rent out 2 rooms. Very good deal compare to rent room from others.

Most importantly, they can always sell at good profit if they wanna quit and go back to their country.

If I'm not wrong, PRs can still rent out rooms after this policy change since the restriction is on subletting the whole flat.

To me this is still a loophole as it was explained that the policy intent for PRs to buy HDB is to give them an alternative form of housing vs renting and not for investment or income generation.

In that case, they shouldn't be buying a bigger flat than they need so renting rooms should be abolished too.

asset enhancement bro, $$$

pr pool is needed to buy/sell resale in the open market ... like stock trading

If I'm not wrong, PRs can still rent out rooms after this policy change since the restriction is on subletting the whole flat.

To me this is still a loophole as it was explained that the policy intent for PRs to buy HDB is to give them an alternative form of housing vs renting and not for investment or income generation.

In that case, they shouldn't be buying a bigger flat than they need so renting rooms should be abolished too.

I also agree, at the end of day, the basic necessity need to be fufilled 1st. One of it is to have a roof over the head. It is when or government give wrong impression that housing value will keep rising and will not drop 1 mindset. That's when more

and more people realise how stupid that why they still don't want sell HDB early in 1st place and make profit after seeing so many does that and make profit out of it. Media also must play a very important role also. To constantly remind public that housing prices cannot be always go up forever.

There are still alot people who still have the mindset that housing value will goes up and never come down, even if come down is only temporary and will go up even higher after that. This mindset is really not healthy and why it started in 1st place?? sigh..

This mindset of " Housing prices will always go up " creates speculative buying. So media should 1st set a very good example to "STOP" reporting on news interviewing on people who make a profit out of selling property, on how people make profit out of selling HDB housing after 5 years .. etc. and concentrate on teaching the right value to people and constantly reminding them of consequences of speculative buying. Government must also do it's constant role of telling public that speculative buying is not healthy and will have it's consequences at later part of the stage.

HDB should be a form of "social safely net" for housing. Leave any form of speculation or investment activity to private properties, if they boom, let them make money, if they bust, let them get burnt.

All these asset enhancement is a b**s**t, it is like passing an inflating balloon around and hoping it will not burst in your hands. Even if you play the game well, your next generation will suffer.

asset enhancement bro, $$$

pr pool is needed to buy/sell resale in the open market ... like stock trading

I just said asset enhancement is a b**s**t above.

Letting PRs "trade" on our homes for investment gains is a disservice to citizens.

agree, asset enhancement is bullsh.it

definitely not in line with the word "public housing"

Letting PRs "trade" on our homes for investment gains is a disservice to citizens.

KBW can only pull the carpet slowly.. else everyone will die together.. Soon soon.. i see there is more hdb regulation to bring hdb back on track.

yes.. if you read records on how mr goh come up with the hdb idea. It's part of singaporean retirement planning. Instead of pension scheme. His idea to let citizen to acquired their own home which will hedge inflation in a long run , provide social safety net and also give our soldiers a reason to fight for.

to do that mr goh and emm lee actually spend alot of effort , offended alot of ppl. However, do not that in the early days. Non citizen is not allow to buy at all. And citizen is only allow to rent out after they pay off the loan.

Having a flat is our birthright. All citizen shld be allow to own a flat , regardless if he has a pte pty. I think that is more approriate.

I suggest you go and study the history and origins of HDB. The social situation at the time and what was going on. This might give you a better understanding than your post currently indicates.

i dun see anything wrong with what i posted.

To bring the idea further.. i think the government shld consider allowing only NS serving family i.e. 1 member of the family nucleus, to buy hdb. this will beat all the incentives or all the claw-backs introduced to stop new citizen and citizen alike for escaping NS. This will make NS more relevnant to singaporean. Imagine, our men serve the nation using 2 yrs of his prime.. and the new citizen or PRs like yourself , just hop in and enjoy the fruit of our labour.

Edited by Jrage