Quirky 3rd Gear July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 Could be any other device that requires you to look down for long periods of time. Do some simple stretching to see whether it relieves the stiffness? e.g. Push your shoulders upwards towards your ears, and hold it there for around 10 seconds. Do a few reps. Stop if there's pain. Nope. Don't have an ipad to start with. Suspect my sleeping posture while in deep snooze if off... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Author Share July 13, 2012 Could be any other device that requires you to look down for long periods of time. Do some simple stretching to see whether it relieves the stiffness? e.g. Push your shoulders upwards towards your ears, and hold it there for around 10 seconds. Do a few reps. Stop if there's pain. Nowadays, the only activity that requires me to look down is peeing ok, will try but kinda hard.. quite painful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky 3rd Gear July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 If it's so bad, just go and see a western doc. Do some checks, and get some painkillers/anti-inflammation pills. Nowadays, the only activity that requires me to look down is peeing ok, will try but kinda hard.. quite painful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 There is acupuncate point at the back of your neck. Its a cave-in part nearer to the head. press that , you shld find some relieve. The other thing is sun your pillow. Stiff neck could also be due to "feng". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunny76 Clutched July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 Have you tried to go see chiropractor? I have stiff neck and backache problem too, although probably it's not as bad as yours. For me, it does help to realign and straighten spine, thus preventing pinched nerves and inflame twisted muscles around the spine. But of course you also need to help yourself by making sure you sit down with proper posture. Crossing legs is bad for your spine. For now, you probably need to go see GP and ask for anti-inflamation medication, plus some muscle relaxor so it doesn't hinder your daily activities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Author Share July 13, 2012 There is acupuncate point at the back of your neck. Its a cave-in part nearer to the head. press that , you shld find some relieve. The other thing is sun your pillow. Stiff neck could also be due to "feng". this is where the pain is. where got sunlight these days. Everyday groomy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Author Share July 13, 2012 Have you tried to go see chiropractor? I have stiff neck and backache problem too, although probably it's not as bad as yours. For me, it does help to realign and straighten spine, thus preventing pinched nerves and inflame twisted muscles around the spine. But of course you also need to help yourself by making sure you sit down with proper posture. Crossing legs is bad for your spine. For now, you probably need to go see GP and ask for anti-inflamation medication, plus some muscle relaxor so it doesn't hinder your daily activities. Nope. have not consult any medical expert yet. But shd be going tmr. Read about chiropratic method. Dun mind if can share what's the damage like? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 i got cervical spondylosis.... perm pain in the neck... i find tcm helps... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 this is where the pain is. where got sunlight these days. Everyday groomy... yeah.. was abt to say that no sun..but do be careful when you go for massage . If the person is not well-train, it will just make things worse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greddy82 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 got a severe neck strain a few weeks back... took a week to heal . visited tcm massage and also acupunture, it helps. other than that got to ride it out.. good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 Nope. have not consult any medical expert yet. But shd be going tmr. Read about chiropratic method. Dun mind if can share what's the damage like? try deep heat rub..... the brand Counterpain quite good... even the HK immigration officer say so and ask where i buy it..... and then proceed to confiscate my heatrub... because packaging states 120ml..... then sleep wise....try sleep on less pillow.. height has to be just nice.... sleep on the side that is pain...... so the muscle will be relaxed instead of stretched.... that's how i cure my stiff neck usually... about a few days Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 Been having it for 1 week plus. Tried every known home remedies but none works. Gotten worst today. My new nick name in office is Robocop.. Anyone got good solutions? 2 options 1) Acupuncture <--- recommended. 2) Let me bite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Author Share July 13, 2012 Seems like have to go visit an expert soon. But like what Jrage mentioned, quite not safe to go TCM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Author Share July 13, 2012 try deep heat rub..... the brand Counterpain quite good... even the HK immigration officer say so and ask where i buy it..... and then proceed to confiscate my heatrub... because packaging states 120ml..... then sleep wise....try sleep on less pillow.. height has to be just nice.... sleep on the side that is pain...... so the muscle will be relaxed instead of stretched.... that's how i cure my stiff neck usually... about a few days I'm using yoko yoko now. Just found out that there is a no smell type. Smell like a walking ko yo. Funny thing is my pillow is memory pillow form seahorse. Supposed to be good... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Author Share July 13, 2012 2 options 1) Acupuncture <--- recommended. 2) Let me bite erm..wow.. U can even eat me up if u r Kate Beckinsale. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 i just learned from TCM that, during sleeping, its good to put a roll-up thick towel or something similiar, and placed it under your neck when u lie down on your pillow. our neck is curved, even when we lie down. this curved part is not supported at all, even with pillow. By using a rolled-up thick towel or something similiar, it will support that curved part and thus, preventing stiff neck or stiff shoulder. I got a friend who is suffering from stiff neck and some back problems, and she been using this method for some time. it does relieve the pain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 13, 2012 Share July 13, 2012 (edited) There is acupuncate point at the back of your neck. Its a cave-in part nearer to the head. press that , you shld find some relieve. The other thing is sun your pillow. Stiff neck could also be due to "feng". some time back i was also suffering from regular stiff neck issues.. and most of the time i just bochap cos i was hoping the problem will go away.. but it didn't. then real buay tahan i went to a tcm tui-na physician, he massaged the pressure points as well as cracking some bones, after the session he told me to go home press on the pressure point on both my shoulder blade..somewhere in the middle. and it was fixed. now i diy.. when i had the stiff neck, these points are damn painful when i massaged on it. bochap it and keep on massaging for like 10-15 minutes for a few days, the stiff neck was fixed. actually there is another location that the tcm pressed which on the hand.. but i cannot recall which point already. anyway, massaging the shoulder blade points worked for far. edit: ts, the above works for my situation.. probably not yours. better try the qualified tcm first, and learn a trick or two from him (while he is doing you).. then if it works, you can diy next time. good luck. Edited July 13, 2012 by Solar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh83 1st Gear July 13, 2012 Author Share July 13, 2012 Thanks.. Shd be going to either a western doc or tcm tmr. Getting more retard by the minute. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...