Altivo 3rd Gear August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 I don't think a kick scooter is practical as a mode of transport. A dedicated cycling lane is not to solve the conflict but more of a guide so that drivers do not overtake cyclists too closely. I don't see any danger in letting the different races take the same cabins. They all have the same bodies as us right? Name me a race that have a different body from the rest of the races? I don't think you get into situations where people will push someone of another race out of the cabin just because they are of a different race right? Whereas on the roads, some cars overtake so closely that the cyclist does not even have space at all. U have no sense of humour. Go chill please. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 I'm all for improving safety. But at the moment, it seems like the cycling enthusiasts are asking for changes to suit them but at the expense of inconvenience to others. The most recent petition is IMHO a knee jerk reaction. Cycling lanes at most main cycling routes for this cycling sub-group is IMHO useless. Traffic on these routes are free flowing most of the time, with drivers being easily able to give a wide berth. Also no cycling lane would help in any of the recent scenarios involving a sleepy driver. The older one from the commuting cyclists IMHO is a valid asking point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtbike Clutched August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 Just a simple scenario....on Hari Raya morning, my friends and i were cycling in a single file on the left most lane....while approaching a junction this van just have to speed up and cut right in front of us to go into the filter lane. Ass Hole? I duno....maybe he is rushing home to clear his bowels.... Lolz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 Same thing happen to me a few weeks back, he can jolly way go filter behind me but he must speed up to filter in front of me which I am already half way clearing the filter point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 Just a simple scenario....on Hari Raya morning, my friends and i were cycling in a single file on the left most lane....while approaching a junction this van just have to speed up and cut right in front of us to go into the filter lane. Ass Hole? I duno....maybe he is rushing home to clear his bowels.... Lolz... Don't even need to be on a bicycle for that to happen..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 Same thing happen to me a few weeks back, he can jolly way go filter behind me but he must speed up to filter in front of me which I am already half way clearing the filter point. I always get this kind of treatment along SLE filtering lane on Mandai road. The best part is the moment these vehicles overtake me, it cross double continuous white line. What is the penalty for this offense? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 I always get this kind of treatment along SLE filtering lane on Mandai road. The best part is the moment these vehicles overtake me, it cross double continuous white line. What is the penalty for this offense? I think its 4 demerit points + fine for cutting over double white lines or chevrons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Submarine 1st Gear August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 Well, i guess some other forummers have already replied you on the minimum age. I am perfectly fine for cyclists to attend courses and theory test or even proficiency riding tests before they are allowed on the roads. And i do believe quite a number of cyclists in this forum also agree with this point. Why are cyclists on those roads a nusiance? Cause they are travelling at a slower speed than the cars/bikes/trucks/buses? Base on my understanding, we have maximum speed limit, but no minimum speed limit. So if we see them as a vehicle that is suppose to be on the road, will we still see them as a nusiance? Unless its about the, damn, those cyclists are delaying my schedule by 5mins!!! Than where is all the garciousness? I can understand why some cyclists are asking for a cycling lane, its cause alot of motorists arent willing to accept them. Some even try to play punk with them, giving them a horn right behind them, trying to startle them. If everyone is able to co-exist, i am 80% sure we wont be reading all this arguments now. Totally agree with you. If everybody thinks like you, there will be world peace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtbike Clutched August 23, 2012 Share August 23, 2012 And that is only one instance of idiotic drivers....need me to say more? I can only try to make my life safer and better by paying more attention on the roads. But my safety will be so much better if drivers dont be an ass hole. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chpeck Clutched August 23, 2012 Share August 23, 2012 http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg..._red_light.html Good example why cyclist must ban from the road. I would be more inclined to see cyclist banned from cycling on the pedestrian walk way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 I would be more inclined to see cyclist banned from cycling on the pedestrian walk way. I have a viewpoint on this, but I'm not going to agree or disagree with you. I would like to know your rational behind it though. Could you explain why you feel this way? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Accidents happen. That is why there is the 1.5m that many cyclists are asking for. So there is more margin for error. Chances of an accident will be much lower as compared to when people overtaking just centimeters from your handlebars. Singapore roads are not cyclist friendly because all drivers have the mindset that the cyclists shouldn't be on the road. You don't see cars trying to overtake other cars with a small gap between them only right? They always move out to the next lane before overtaking isn't it? Drivers just need to adapt to sharing the road. Based on your statements all small cars and light goods vehicles should be banned from the road. As a lapse of concentration on the driver of a much larger heavy vehicle can be life changing to other drivers. I totally agree to your reply. Based on moron's logic that you are referring to, the moron is definitely trying to promote whoever is deem or seem "lower" should kowtow and get out of its way. Based on the moron's logic, any slow pedestrian or handicap persons in front of it should not be sharing walkways. The moron is definitely suffering from some ego problem or low self esteem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Again, I can presume to pay more road tax than most by nature of having a car that has 3l of displacement. So since I pay more, I should be able to use more without due regard for those driving cars with smaller displacement right? Elfenstar, don't waste your precious time reasoning with a moron. Look at the moron's past comments and post and you know where it's coming from. The moron has even threatened to tailgate or overtake and jam brakes on anyone who practices safe driving on the roads (mind you, even on lane 2 or 3). Go read his past comments. some may be deleted. By the way the moron belongs to a suzuki swift illegal race group. Mark that name with a distorted face ""Tonyng"". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 If my car is bigger than yours and I pay more road tax and I crash into you. You are asking for it right? Cuz you pay less road tax than me. I just want those who pay less road tax than me to stay home and don't jam up the road. Is that what you are saying? If you really hate paying road tax that much then just don't drive and take public transport or cycle? I do have a car also. I don't see any problem with getting stuck behind cyclists. How long will it take to overtake them even if they are slow? 10 seconds? Road tax is based on engine size. How do you calculate the size of the engine on the bicycle? Who should pay road tax for bicycles? Those that cycle on the roads only? How do you determine who are the cyclists who cycle on the roads and who are those who go to the parks only? Or do you have to pay road tax every year as long as you have a bicycle? That'll be practically the whole Singapore. Quite rare to see a household that doesn't even have a single bicycle at home. Then there'll be people complaining that they do not cycle on the roads. Nzy, Don't waste your effort reasoning to a moron. Go read the moron's past comments and post and you will understand where it's intelligence level lies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Hello, he just cycle off while I did offer to call the Police or Ambulance for him. Can I report a hit and run? He hit my car and run away? I got hit twice by cyclists before. They fell, pick up their bicycle, and rode off without an apology while i m left with dents and scratches. I always believe in karma. Today they hit and run away, someday, they may not live to see the next minute. I m not anti-cyclist just because I drive. I ride my bicycle on the main roads too. My personal observation is, most of the cyclist whether it be recreational or commuting, they do not observe and obey traffic rules and they do not know how to use hand signals to indicate their intent. Many of them are traffic rule illiterate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 (edited) Elfenstar, don't waste your precious time reasoning with a moron. Look at the moron's past comments and post and you know where it's coming from. The moron has even threatened to tailgate or overtake and jam brakes on anyone who practices safe driving on the roads (mind you, even on lane 2 or 3). Go read his past comments. some may be deleted. By the way the moron belongs to a suzuki swift illegal race group. Mark that name with a distorted face ""Tonyng"". No worries. Thanks for the heads up. Out of curiosity, how do you know about him and this group? Edited August 24, 2012 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotfavourite Neutral Newbie August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 (edited) if pedestrian ask for 1.5m back face u, all TP tester say ok..shld give human right but nowadays who dare to walk..besides the cyclist also want to 1.5m.. pregnant or what? cannot handle the road..means the pedestrian must fight with cyclist, driver must also fight with cyclist or how is the situation.. or u think the cyclist is humble but actually not humble one..must fight all to win..cos winner attitude mah....and if u see biker gang 1 lane 2 biker got 1.5? its 0.3m or 0.2m or shoulder length x 3 or x2..1.5m..tsk..means u bery welcome?? then we give u red carpet.. i give mothers only hor,give chance to them only not to some kbkb or 38 or 13 points..why so fierce? Edited August 24, 2012 by Hotfavourite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear August 25, 2012 Share August 25, 2012 (edited) Bicycles want to ride on the road? No problem, I am both hand up to support them. Don't need pay coe or road tax BUT MUST HAVE: 1. Cycling license. Maybe class 0? 2. Demerit points. Cycling license must have demerit point tagged to your driving license. Means any traffic offenses are equally chargable. Beat the traffic light on bicycle or car or bike or lorry, still the same 12 demerit points. 3. Number plate and insurance. Bicycles that want to ride on road MUST HAVE NUMBER PLATE AND 1ST PARTY COVERAGE INSURANCE. This is to protect all, cyclist, pedestrians, bikers and drivers. 4. Safety vest. Cyclist MUST wear those road sweeper safety vest with reflective tapes. This is for their own safety when cycling at night. I honestly don't know why some cyclist cyling at lim chu kang at 5am in the morning want to wear dark coloured gears with a dark colour bicycle. Your rear strobe light goes off without you knowing means you are going to die liao. 5. Minimum speed. If I am taking a TP test and start driving at 20km/hr, tester will give me demerit point for insufficient acceleration and holding up traffic. MAKE A MINIMUM SPEED FOR CYCLIST. Slower than 40km/hr=go PCN or tio demerit points when spotted by tp. Well since they say pcn's 25km/hr limit is too slow, I am sure 40km/hr is still too slow for these hell riders. 6. PLEASE DON'T CYCLE AT 7.30AM ON A WEEKDAY MORNING WHEN THE WHOLE WORLD IS GOING TO WORK. As it is, the road is congested enough. I know you guys are rich ah sia kia who don't have to work. We poor peasants have to arrive at office by 8am/8.30am, otherwise we might not get to keep our job. There are good cyclist, those who will really turn their head around to check traffic, then wave their arm out before changing lane. Then there are also mother farker cyclist who beat red lights and stop in the middle of a slip road. Edited August 25, 2012 by Zyklon ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...