Cyclist Problem

Lsflsf

Totally agree with you. If everybody thinks like you, there will be world peace.

imo world peace is not necessary

in the first place, world peace also not possible

Bicycles want to ride on the road? No problem, I am both hand up to support them. Don't need pay coe or road tax BUT MUST HAVE:

1. Cycling license. Maybe class 0?

2. Demerit points. Cycling license must have demerit point tagged to your driving license. Means any traffic offenses are equally chargable. Beat the traffic light on bicycle or car or bike or lorry, still the same 12 demerit points.

3. Number plate and insurance. Bicycles that want to ride on road MUST HAVE NUMBER PLATE AND 1ST PARTY COVERAGE INSURANCE. This is to protect all, cyclist, pedestrians, bikers and drivers.

4. Safety vest. Cyclist MUST wear those road sweeper safety vest with reflective tapes. This is for their own safety when cycling at night. I honestly don't know why some cyclist cyling at lim chu kang at 5am in the morning want to wear dark coloured gears with a dark colour bicycle. Your rear strobe light goes off without you knowing means you are going to die liao.

5. Minimum speed. If I am taking a TP test and start driving at 20km/hr, tester will give me demerit point for insufficient acceleration and holding up traffic. MAKE A MINIMUM SPEED FOR CYCLIST. Slower than 40km/hr=go PCN or tio demerit points when spotted by tp. Well since they say pcn's 25km/hr limit is too slow, I am sure 40km/hr is still too slow for these hell riders.

6. PLEASE DON'T CYCLE AT 7.30AM ON A WEEKDAY MORNING WHEN THE WHOLE WORLD IS GOING TO WORK. As it is, the road is congested enough. I know you guys are rich ah sia kia who don't have to work. We poor peasants have to arrive at office by 8am/8.30am, otherwise we might not get to keep our job.

There are good cyclist, those who will really turn their head around to check traffic, then wave their arm out before changing lane. Then there are also mother farker cyclist who beat red lights and stop in the middle of a slip road.

Only problem I can see with having cycling license is how are they going to conduct the lessons or the test? It is probably going to be very hard to enforce as well. If a cyclist with no license sees a TP he can just quickly dismount, go onto the pedestrian path and push his bicycle till the TP is gone.

I always cycle at around 7.30am to 8am in the mornings. I don't think cyclists cycling at that timing will hold up traffic. Cuz usually the traffic is moving so slowly and the bicycles are going even faster than the cars. So it isn't going to affect the cars much.

Edited by Nzy

No worries. Thanks for the heads up. Out of curiosity, how do you know about him and this group?

that moron is part of a swift street race group. One of it's buddies crashed into the guard rail at the tight bend at SLE end where CTE begins.

There was an online argument about the way "these" people who frequently raced and crashed there. That moron got heated and personal with the critics about the way "THE Racer wannabes" drive. The moron got ultra defensive and "reasoned" why the crash took place and directed the fault on commuting drivers blocking their way. The moron challenged and threatened the safe driving suggestions and wanted to revenge anyone who practices safe driving in front of its car.

Self pawned. Revealed it's own identity because it couldn't contain its vengeful emotions.

Only problem I can see with having cycling license is how are they going to conduct the lessons or the test? It is probably going to be very hard to enforce as well. If a cyclist with no license sees a TP he can just quickly dismount, go onto the pedestrian path and push his bicycle till the TP is gone.

I always cycle at around 7.30am to 8am in the mornings. I don't think cyclists cycling at that timing will hold up traffic. Cuz usually the traffic is moving so slowly and the bicycles are going even faster than the cars. So it isn't going to affect the cars much.

It WAS practised in the past. Cyclists in the past had to take highway code test. Cyclists had to register their bikes and have the numbered red disc on their bikes before they are allowed on main roads. There was law enforcement and police frequently stopped riders who rode recklessly, had no license, or no safety warning devices installed on their bikes.

Our clever authority decided to remove all that one day. Resulting in your grandfather grandmother uncle auntie children foreign worker.... flouting traffic laws flagrantly.

It may seem like a problem probably because you were not here then when such laws were present and law enforcement were common everyday events. It wasn't a problem then.

It is better to have the regulations and restrictions than to allow people to CREATE their own traffic laws at their own convenience at the expense of other people's safety.

It WAS practised in the past. Cyclists in the past had to take highway code test. Cyclists had to register their bikes and have the numbered red disc on their bikes before they are allowed on main roads. There was law enforcement and police frequently stopped riders who rode recklessly, had no license, or no safety warning devices installed on their bikes.

Our clever authority decided to remove all that one day. Resulting in your grandfather grandmother uncle auntie children foreign worker.... flouting traffic laws flagrantly.

It may seem like a problem probably because you were not here then when such laws were present and law enforcement were common everyday events. It wasn't a problem then.

It is better to have the regulations and restrictions than to allow people to CREATE their own traffic laws at their own convenience at the expense of other people's safety.

I agree with the regulation part, rather than just say ban because of unsafe but if pay road tax,coe blah blah suddenly cycling will become safer. Going by the way our country goes, I think for cyclist a basic theory pass to let him/her be allowed to ride on the road is a start, another thing to be done might be for drivers to go for periodic refresher course, too many driver seems to justify they know the law which they don't.

I totally agree on the periodic refresher course for ALL classes of vehicles for all age groups and nationalities. The ability to retain info decreases with time. Refresher course could also include updates on vehicle/road/law related information. Only after attending and taking a simple test will the licence be renewed. It is inconvenient but it is better for the safety of everyone.

It depends on which part of the island you are living in.

More than a couple of times I have been held up by bicycles on the bukit batok road from jurong towards bukit panjang. Traffic was supposed to be light as most are going in the other direction from cck towards jurong. The problem is that once you have one or two slow cyclists taking up one lane at 20km/hr, then those on the 3rd lane will need to filter out. That slows the second lane. Then those on the second lane will want to filter to the first. Ends up a "fake congestion" is created by one bottleneck, kinda like how the whole traffic will slow down at one point when 1 out of 4 lanes on expressway is closed. After that, traffic start to speed up again.

The WORST experience on that road was once when a water bottle drop out of the bicycle into my lane right in front of me. Then the rider started to gan jiong and became unstable.

The best example of how bicycles can slow the traffic down is probably NTU. Single lane, two way traffic like how lim chu kang was. Have to follow the bicycle all the way if you are suay.

motorists chiong angteng tio okong

cyclists chiong angteng perfectly ok

I am sure cyclists also will get caught if a TP see them running the red light. Ever saw a cyclist being stopped by TP when he run red light just as a TP was passing by. Same for cars ma. If no red light camera or TP around, you beat red light the chances of getting caught also very low.

Same for cars ma. If no red light camera or TP around, you beat red light the chances of getting caught also very low.

wrong, many TP wannabes (those kepohs with DVR equipped) are ard nowadays. Dun try tat...

motorists chiong angteng tio okong

cyclists chiong angteng perfectly ok

If all motorised vehicles on the road has no number plate, I am sure many will join the cyclist to chiong angteng.

If I get $10 every time I spotted a cyclist chiong angteng, I can use the money to pay my road tax.

wrong, many TP wannabes (those kepohs with DVR equipped) are ard nowadays. Dun try tat...

How often will meet this kind of people... There is a group of cars near my area also always run red light. Those kind of pedestrian crossings. Once the pedestrian cross they'll just drive through even if its red. Using those cheap car cam so can't the license plate.

I won $10 this morning [nod]

While we were on the way to have breakfast, I overtook a tour de france wannabe and stopped at a red light.

While waiting for the lights, I placed a $10 bet challenging my wife the TDF wannabe will beat red light.

No picture no talk but I won $10.

My issue with cyclists is that, they disregard traffic rules most of the time.

Whether they are TDF or the heartland type cyclists, they have little regard for their own safety and the safety and consideration of others.

If i as a teenager in the past know how to apply my highway code knowledge and ride safely, if i know how to use hand signals to indicate my every intention on the road, if i know the concerns and install front and back lighting and bell, I cannot see why these so called current day INTELLIGENT people find it so difficult to do so.

I guess the more high tech and better quality the bicycle product is, and more educated the society is, the more complacent and careless they become. Their grey matter merely functions as a rudimentary organ.

So if these care less cyclist do not practise defensive and safety riding like i do always, they are only screwing their own life up. The road is a dangerous place to share(regardless of vehicle type) regardless of country you're in. They're in for a big surprise if they maintain a "The world revolves around me" attitude.

My issue with cyclists is that, they disregard traffic rules most of the time.

Whether they are TDF or the heartland type cyclists, they have little regard for their own safety and the safety and consideration of others.

If i as a teenager in the past know how to apply my highway code knowledge and ride safely, if i know how to use hand signals to indicate my every intention on the road, if i know the concerns and install front and back lighting and bell, I cannot see why these so called current day INTELLIGENT people find it so difficult to do so.

I guess the more high tech and better quality the bicycle product is, and more educated the society is, the more complacent and careless they become. Their grey matter merely functions as a rudimentary organ.

So if these care less cyclist do not practise defensive and safety riding like i do always, they are only screwing their own life up. The road is a dangerous place to share(regardless of vehicle type) regardless of country you're in. They're in for a big surprise if they maintain a "The world revolves around me" attitude.

Nice rant.

But are all drivers angels? Very common to have threads here about road hogging, queue-cutting, not indicating, not turning on lights at nighttime, and so on regularly.

Nice rant.

But are all drivers angels? Very common to have threads here about road hogging, queue-cutting, not indicating, not turning on lights at nighttime, and so on regularly.

Regardless of what drivers are made of. I practise defensive and safe riding. Do the other cyclist? So what's holding the others from doing so? Getting back at the drivers to teach them a lesson? In the event of a serious collision, who is at the losing end, even if the driver is charged in court? So what if the cyclist receives compensation from the insurance company? And who loses a limb or two or perhaps his/her life? Who bears the physical and emotional scars? Answer is clear and commonsense.

Cyclists do need to look hard at the whole picture. Not focus at their little own world and pleasures.

Cyclist can keep demanding for their "rights" the whole day until the cows come home, but they should realise that whenever there is a collision between them and another motorised vehicle, the outcome is always very certain, irrespective if they are in the right or wrong!

SINGAPORE: Police have arrested a 36-year-old truck driver for his alleged involvement in a fatal hit-and-run accident that resulted in the death of a 46-year-old cyclist.

The truck driver also had his licence suspended with immediate effect.

In a statement, police said on 17 November 2012, at about 6.45 pm, a man was cycling along the roundabout at Fort Road when he was hit by a vehicle. He died soon after.

Police said through extensive interviews and enquiries, the officers learned that a tipper truck was near the scene of the accident at that time.

They found the tipper truck at Sungei Kadut within four hours after the accident and arrested the driver.