Pureness Clutched November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 Yeah the slowing down and pacing them part is important, i usually just whistle or give a simple "Hello" when i'm about to pass because alot of people at ECP on weekends seem to be the non English speaking types and won't understand anything more than that. Also shouting at/startling people usually makes their head turn towards the source of the sound and if they're on bicycles this head-turning will also cause them to swerve in the direction their head goes, which would be towards the shouter. I've seen some roadies blasting through the crowds at ECP screaming "ON YER RIGHT! ON YER RIGHT!!" like as if everyone knows what it means and then getting all pissed that the crowd is not parting like the Red Sea for them, bringing the same lousy arrogant attitudes they show on the road into the parks as well. i was just 5m and turning into my carpark yesterday while eyeing a car that was coming out from the car park when all of a sudden an 'other' type of cyclist just rode infront of my car without stopping had to jam my brakes just seconds away from impact and blasted my horn while the other car was too stunned to react. the other simply continued cycling as if nothing had happened... i think we should outlaw cycling on the roads permanently because such people tend to think they have right of way no matter what the situation and it can be extremely dangerous not for the cyclist but for the drivers who might be forced to swerve into trees or poles to avoid hitting them ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 Witnessed another near miss encounter between a cyclist and a car just now at about 8pm at the Commonwealth - Ghim Moh junction. I have uploaded the car camera video and overlayed text to the video itself. Hope the text is self explanatory. If this link does not work, you can locate the video here: http://youtu.be/RGnsG1s28oY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 i was just 5m and turning into my carpark yesterday while eyeing a car that was coming out from the car park when all of a sudden an 'other' type of cyclist just rode infront of my car without stopping had to jam my brakes just seconds away from impact and blasted my horn while the other car was too stunned to react. the other simply continued cycling as if nothing had happened... i think we should outlaw cycling on the roads permanently because such people tend to think they have right of way no matter what the situation and it can be extremely dangerous not for the cyclist but for the drivers who might be forced to swerve into trees or poles to avoid hitting them The cycling pressure group will probably be saying it was your fault for not keeping a look out for cyclist. Next time just upload your car camera video as evidence of the antics of the cyclist in general, especially the ones with fancy bikes and corresponding twitchy middle finger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 Here you go... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 The cyclist got right of way leh? Traffic light still green, cyclist going straight. Perhaps he was not so wise squeezing between you and the kerb as you were turning left, if you never check or the timing is wrong you might have hit him or he hit your side. He should have done like his friend earlier and gotten between the lanes, but this also very subjective and depends on the situation and visible signal lights from drivers in left lane as you approach. Worst case just chill behind you first to allow you to complete your turn, i personally wouldn't have squeezed as you had already started moving. The hyundai is the type of a------e who cannot wait and want to cheong his right turn even though still got vehicles turning left (somemore into two lane road, no safety margin), basic highway code also forgotten. This type sooner or later will get into accident or knock down pedestrian. Btw that's not a near miss at all, cyclist still got space to siam if necessary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 The cyclist got right of way leh? Traffic light still green, cyclist going straight. Perhaps he was not so wise squeezing between you and the kerb as you were turning left, if you never check or the timing is wrong you might have hit him or he hit your side. He should have done like his friend earlier and gotten between the lanes, but this also very subjective and depends on the situation and visible signal lights from drivers in left lane as you approach. Worst case just chill behind you first to allow you to complete your turn, i personally wouldn't have squeezed as you had already started moving. The hyundai is the type of a------e who cannot wait and want to cheong his right turn even though still got vehicles turning left (somemore into two lane road, no safety margin), basic highway code also forgotten. This type sooner or later will get into accident or knock down pedestrian. Btw that's not a near miss at all, cyclist still got space to siam if necessary. the green light is for car, for cyclist, he should already stop like the people standing at the curb as the light already not in their favour for crossing the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged November 20, 2012 Share November 20, 2012 Cyclist is riding on the road, not using the pedestrian crossing or on pavement? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 Perhaps he was not so wise squeezing between you and the kerb as you were turning left, if you never check or the timing is wrong you might have hit him or he hit your side. Agree. If I did hit him or he hit me, chances are he will go kpkb to his MP demanding for that 1.5 meters from me, never mind that I was trying to turn left with blinkers indicating my intention. If this goes on too often, the motorist will just lose all traces of emphathy to arrogant cyclist (as a more vulnerable road user) and don't give a damn to them anymore. As one poster eloquently put it, he will just drive to a washing bay to wash the blood off his car body and move on as if nothing happened. Reading about the antics of the arrogant cycling lobby group, it is inevitable the roads will be a battle of the rights of motorist vs cyclist, and we jolly well know who will be on the loosing end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 i find it poser when i see cyclists riding on pavement or riding on foldable bike wearing full gear such as helmet and cycling suit. its laughable. lol. helmet is good to have but last time no helmet everyone also cycle like that. if road biker can wear bicycle helmet and ride on road, then why dont our motorcyclists use the same helmet as well right? Its lighter also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 Perhaps he was not so wise squeezing between you and the kerb as you were turning left, if you never check or the timing is wrong you might have hit him or he hit your side. Agree. If I did hit him or he hit me, chances are he will go kpkb to his MP demanding for that 1.5 meters from me, never mind that I was trying to turn left with blinkers indicating my intention. If this goes on too often, the motorist will just lose all traces of emphathy to arrogant cyclist (as a more vulnerable road user) and don't give a damn to them anymore. As one poster eloquently put it, he will just drive to a washing bay to wash the blood off his car body and move on as if nothing happened. Reading about the antics of the arrogant cycling lobby group, it is inevitable the roads will be a battle of the rights of motorist vs cyclist, and we jolly well know who will be on the loosing end. This morning, white color BMW F10 523 cut into my lane (left lane) at steep angle along Temasek Ave after Raffles Ave causing me to stop abruptly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 i find it poser when i see cyclists riding on pavement or riding on foldable bike wearing full gear such as helmet and cycling suit. its laughable. lol. helmet is good to have but last time no helmet everyone also cycle like that. if road biker can wear bicycle helmet and ride on road, then why dont our motorcyclists use the same helmet as well right? Its lighter also. Motorcycle carry a higher risk than bicycle le. Of course, that's cannot use bicycle helmet le. Since it is laughable, why do moto GP rider ride with full face helmet rather than open face helmet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 (edited) Actually, the greater risk pose from not regulating e-bike. Edited November 21, 2012 by Davidtch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topspin 2nd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 This morning, white color BMW F10 523 cut into my lane (left lane) at steep angle along Temasek Ave after Raffles Ave causing me to stop abruptly. Sorry to hear about your near miss, but I noticed public buses have to do that all the time to cyclist on the roads as they enter the bus stop bay. So who is right who is wrong here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 Sorry to hear about your near miss, but I noticed public buses have to do that all the time to cyclist on the roads as they enter the bus stop bay. So who is right who is wrong here? When i get near bus bay, i usually cycle in the middle of the lane. That's to prevent bus from all this stunt. If they do this stunt, i will juz complain lor. At least SMRT take it seriously & i see improvement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taipan49 3rd Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 When i get near bus bay, i usually cycle in the middle of the lane. That's to prevent bus from all this stunt. If they do this stunt, i will juz complain lor. At least SMRT take it seriously & i see improvement. Yeah, I do the same. They actually have been getting better at recognising this over the past few years. And the same for left lane that has exit on the left. I will move to the middle of the lane when approaching when there are cars behind and speed up so those who want to turn left can do so without having to speed up and try and overtake me then veer left quickly. Also if the car behind is close and hasn't indicated (as not everyone does), I will point straight so they know what direction I am going. Case of trying to be considerate and helping flow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunset73 5th Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 (edited) Hi Bro, I do agree with you that some cyclists are simply too much, refusing to keep to the left. That I agree with you something must be done to educate them. But as a cyclist, we also bo bian leh hahahaha Hi do anyone of you fell that the "Share the road 1.5m" is b-------t? Sick and tired of seeing cyclist cycling on the road and even expressway on nicholl highway before kpe entrance when they can use the pavement They simply cycle in the left lane forcing cars to drift out of the left lane to siam them, some even more funny in the middle of the freaking lane, and some simply cycle left to right without even checking safety, endangering themself and the cars that siam them. Why ah, why LTA approve these cyclist with no number plate, no road tax, no regard of safety? sometimes at night other places i can see cyclist in a group of maybe 10 occupying lane 2 and 3, forcing vehicle to drive on lane 1, their ah gong owns the road? TP bike ride past also bo chup maybe because they have helmets and cycling gears on... like that means can endanger themself and us??? Must really wait till someone get killed then take action? i can understand cycling as a hobby but can do it in a safe place so u can go home safely to your loved ones and we can also?? Edited November 21, 2012 by Sunset73 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 Yeah, I do the same. They actually have been getting better at recognising this over the past few years. And the same for left lane that has exit on the left. I will move to the middle of the lane when approaching when there are cars behind and speed up so those who want to turn left can do so without having to speed up and try and overtake me then veer left quickly. Also if the car behind is close and hasn't indicated (as not everyone does), I will point straight so they know what direction I am going. Case of trying to be considerate and helping flow. For exit on the left, i still face the same problem along Republic Avenue juz before the exit into AYE/ECP. Cars always like to overtake me at very steep angle w/o reallsing i need to e-brake. My only solution is switch on the brightest mode on my Exposure Maxx-D light juz before the exit. Anybody tries to do this stunt will get a rude shock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunset73 5th Gear November 21, 2012 Share November 21, 2012 For people who ask cyclist to cycle on pavements, have you ever thought what is going to happen to pedestrians? How wide is the pavement? What if people cycle in groups? Please be more sensitive to other road users. This type of comment is totally unacceptable, insensitive and dumb. I am both a driver and a cyclist. If you see cyclist at the left lane, just overtake them safely. Stop complaining and get a life. For people who didnt know, Nicoll Highway IS NOT AN expressway. 100% legal for bicycles to use the road. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...