12 weeks jail for Howard Shaw

Fcw75

The other 50 who are still waiting will be very disappointed by now n have to resign to fate Liao.

Sure to be preparing to take 3 months sabbatical off from work or plan the family finance and make arrangement for jail time.

This is truely SIANZ half.

But my colleague says.....think positively....go inside intensive 3 months physical exercise.

Come out super macho man muscles....can atrract many MILF and girls easily.

Come out macho? Inside kena poke backside until bleed...... Come out, can stand in change village liao

SINGAPORE: Former executive director of the Singapore Environment Council, Howard Shaw, has been sentenced to 12 weeks jail for having paid sex with an underage girl.

The 41-year-old grandson of the founder of Shaw Organisation admitted in June to paying a 17-year-old girl S$500 for sex in October 2010.

He didn't try to appeal?

Come out macho? Inside kena poke backside until bleed...... Come out, can stand in change village liao

if those 50 men are put together in same jail, they can everynite share their stories on how they poke the underage girl...what pattern they chut...or they can poke each other

and the worst part is the whore gets away scot free

The whore is underage mah. Young and innocent. How can we punish someone who is too young to know the right and wrong! [:p]

she is legal age now, she need to serve and is serving now -_-

principal got 9 weeks, shaw got 12 weeks

why there is 'extra' 3 weeks for same offence .... ?

Principal went only 6 weeks because of good behavior. He is really the man. He did a wrong and face it like a man.

This Shaw with money wants to appeal his 12 weeks. I hope appeal judge give him 15 weeks for wasting tax payer money. -_-

Really kowtow to the girl.

Not only did she destroy 50+ men, the system deems fit to protect her by keeping her identity a secret.

I always knew white horses were allowed some leeway. Now it seems white whores also can

the principal is the smartest of them all by admitting and going to jail earlier..the earlier one gets in..the earlier and lighter the sentence..such is the system..and the sooner one will be forgotten..the more one drags the more damage to psychological well-being and more damage done to one's reputation by the mass media :D

Landmark case for underage sex

i somehow find it not right that judges just want to follow what the judge in the first case set out. there was no regard of the difference in the circumstances of each case.

Well it's up to the laywer to argue (prove?) why the facts of this case are substianally (spelling FAIL) different from the previous cases - if he can establish that difference, then a different punishment is in order. If he fails - then the previous cases should be followed.

BTW - It's not that the judges CAN'T deviate from previous cases - they can, and then it can be sent to a higher court on appeal.

Landmark case for underage sex

i somehow find it not right that judges just want to follow what the judge in the first case set out. there was no regard of the difference in the circumstances of each case.

Well it's up to the laywer to argue (prove?) why the facts of this case are substianally (spelling FAIL) different from the previous cases - if he can establish that difference, then a different punishment is in order. If he fails - then the previous cases should be followed.

BTW - It's not that the judges CAN'T deviate from previous cases - they can, and then it can be sent to a higher court on appeal.

Really kowtow to the girl.

Not only did she destroy 50+ men, the system deems fit to protect her by keeping her identity a secret.

I always knew white horses were allowed some leeway. Now it seems white whores also can

Her identity ..... no secret lah ..... her photos can easily be found all over the web.....

Appeal .... not wise lah ..... likely to get more ..... just accept the sentence like a man (The school Principal). learnt the mistake and move on ....

Edited by Civic6228

principal got 9 weeks, shaw got 12 weeks

why there is 'extra' 3 weeks for same offence .... ?

as usual, must check bank account first... normally, the richer will have lesser stay... dont ask me why,the system here has been this way for many donkey years.... [:p]

After appeal maybe discount 3weeks loh.

But honestly deep down...I wished the appeal failed and gave him extra one month to make it 4months. Let him spend christmas and new year inside if the appeal is dragged for 1-2months.

i like how they did it in yesteryears.... u appeal and fail, double the stay and fine... [:p]

12 weeks minus good behaviour should be out in no time

why take the risk to appeal huh? the jailterm is almost 100% done deal

it's not like he is worry to find a job with criminal record

the principal is the smartest of them all by admitting and going to jail earlier..the earlier one gets in..the earlier and lighter the sentence..such is the system..and the sooner one will be forgotten..the more one drags the more damage to psychological well-being and more damage done to one's reputation by the mass media :D

I heard the teacher also want to admit fault and plead guilty right? But how come his case hasn't been mentioned yet hor.

yalor ...

i somewhat understand the concept but as time pass and society is also changing, quoting of previous cases who-vs-who and the outcome as set precedent is not 100% relevant liao leh

what say you?

i tell you, if i am the judge, i would resign if i know i have to only follow previous case to pass judgement. haha but some people will say that's precisely why I am not a judge [laugh]

but seriously, this is other people's future and freedom at stake. more effort is required from the judge rather than say "follow precedent case judge"

anyway all laws are enacted with certain assumption valid in some legal and social context during a particular period of time. judge input should also incldue assessing whether such context have changed with passage of time to warrant them to pass a differing judgement.

they can deviate, but are the judges willing to deviate?

for this case, did the judge deviate and consider for the fact the men were misled because the girl and website claimed she is above 18 ?

use senior counsel also get 12weeks. those use chap parang brand maybe get higher sentence.