Trusty

Help me decide  

17 members have voted

1. 1. kia

• rio
    • picanto
  2. 2. hyundai

• getz 1.4a

I think we have heard of ppl driving picanto up to genting............and what kind of slope are we talking about here????.............I have really not seen any cars goestan down a slope in MSCP or cannot clear a MSCP slope..............even a suzuki 800 can clear those slopes........... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

I have driven both a 660cc Daihatsu Hijet (manual S100RV) and a Daihatsu Charade 1.0CX (manual). Both are quite powerful for their small engine size.

Definitely no problem with normal slope in MSCP .

But I can't say the same for the even older Datsun 100A and 100A FII. In the older days, we kept on hearing folks that they have to get the passengers out at ground level, off the aircon and then chiong up with full throttle.

Used to drive a Nissan Pulasr 1.0DX, and was driving two heavy-weight relatives back from Redhill to Clementi. For the whole journey, I could only engage 3rd gear (max) as the 4th gear would have no power and the car would start to shake.

There are a few extremely steep man-made slopes which are challenging. The MSCP at Jurong East Central (somewhere near the Maybank, CPF, Citibank), MSCP at Liat Towers/Wheellock place, Thomson plaza and the expressway ramp entrance leading up to ECP from Temasek Boulevard. No joke if the car gets into a jam halfway up.

I drive a manual Picanto for 4 years already. MSCP up slope no problem. Don't bother with the auto version, very underpowered.

Getz? Forget about the 1.1 version. Same engine as Picanto, car heavier. The 1.4 one can consider but a bit hard to find.

Rio 1.4 should be OK. But really for these cars it's best to get manual. Auto versions are really slow.

what kind of car cannot climb slope in MSCP [laugh]

Maybe only cherry QQ but also a kind of urban myth.

Driving a picanto Auto right now, power is good after modding.

Just spend extra 1k will feel alot of diff from stock.

cheap to maintain, FC decent 13km/l

can seat 5 pax also, rear knock down seats to put stuff. buay pai lah

I have driven both a 660cc Daihatsu Hijet (manual S100RV) and a Daihatsu Charade 1.0CX (manual). Both are quite powerful for their small engine size.

Definitely no problem with normal slope in MSCP .

But I can't say the same for the even older Datsun 100A and 100A FII. In the older days, we kept on hearing folks that they have to get the passengers out at ground level, off the aircon and then chiong up with full throttle.

Used to drive a Nissan Pulasr 1.0DX, and was driving two heavy-weight relatives back from Redhill to Clementi. For the whole journey, I could only engage 3rd gear (max) as the 4th gear would have no power and the car would start to shake.

There are a few extremely steep man-made slopes which are challenging. The MSCP at Jurong East Central (somewhere near the Maybank, CPF, Citibank), MSCP at Liat Towers/Wheellock place, Thomson plaza and the expressway ramp entrance leading up to ECP from Temasek Boulevard. No joke if the car gets into a jam halfway up.

wah .............you talking about cars 20 years to 30 years ago ................ [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

What I am trying to say is, Getz and Picanto belong to the newer generation and technology would have improved significantly (compared to the small 1000cc vehicles I have driven many years ago).

I believe Getz and Picanto shouldn't have any problem climbing up slope, but they definitely need to come in manual transmission.

I had a friend who drove the Kia Rio manual version for 5 years and guess what? The clutch broke and repair cost $2000plus since no local parts, need to import from Korea. My friend then decide to scrap the car and get another 2nd hand car.

So manual doesn't mean no problem, it depends on luck too.

What I am trying to say is, Getz and Picanto belong to the newer generation and technology would have improved significantly (compared to the small 1000cc vehicles I have driven many years ago).

I believe Getz and Picanto shouldn't have any problem climbing up slope, but they definitely need to come in manual transmission.

yup agree with you on your points......... :D :D :D

I had a friend who drove the Kia Rio manual version for 5 years and guess what? The clutch broke and repair cost $2000plus since no local parts, need to import from Korea. My friend then decide to scrap the car and get another 2nd hand car.

So manual doesn't mean no problem, it depends on luck too.

Change the clutch so expensive? I think your friend got cheated already. I changed mine for less than 1k. Even the clutch cylinders also changed.

what kind of car cannot climb slope in MSCP [laugh]

Maybe only cherry QQ but also a kind of urban myth.

Driving a picanto Auto right now, power is good after modding.

Just spend extra 1k will feel alot of diff from stock.

cheap to maintain, FC decent 13km/l

can seat 5 pax also, rear knock down seats to put stuff. buay pai lah

it is not a myth.

few years back i did see a fully loaded car unable to climb out of Yishun 10 GV's carpark.

Can't remember was it a Getz, Picanto or Spark.

The passengers all got off halfway and wait at the roadside.

Thank you all for the recommendation.

But I'm working within budget less than 20k. And it seems Rio 2006 is beyond. So it means I can only considering Rio 2005 or pimento 1.1m and getz 1.3m. Reason behind.. I only need the car for 1-2 years then will sell it off.

im worried as im reading owners saying no power up slope and such. also i have no experience of driving small cars

Because using the wrong gear of cause no power.

it is not a myth.

few years back i did see a fully loaded car unable to climb out of Yishun 10 GV's carpark.

Can't remember was it a Getz, Picanto or Spark.

The passengers all got off halfway and wait at the roadside.

I can only say that is a lousy driver, not car lousy.

Must engaged the correct gear.