Canning in School

Alan9711

Heard from my friend that his son will have private canning in school this Friday. This is what happened. While walking out of the classroom during recess, his son was being pushed aside by his classsmate rushing towards the canteen nearly causing him to lose his balance. His son, being taller gave him a gentle push in the stomach. Nothing happen and later was told that his classmate has fallen due to feeling giddy and fallen with his spectacle damaged and his upper eye lid need stitch. Is the punishment too harsh and as there is no eye witness how he got fallen, his son was blamed for it and ask to pay for the spectacles by the other parents. His classmate did not get any punishment. When the teacher was asked if the student his classmate pushed is smaller size and got injured, then who should get punished, the.answrer is the.classmate. ????. Is this fair?

spare the rod and spoil the child...

Only hear one side of the story, hard to judge anything. "Canning" the student might be too harsh, though [laugh]

Sorry, I mean "caning"...

Seriously, if it's just a "you-shove-me, I-shove-you-back" incident and nobody got injured immediately, then caning is a bit too harsh. Just get the parties involved to come together, explain the situation, and shake hands - good enough.

But if caning is involved, sounds like there was some kind of fight until specs got broken, punch until giddy, etc?? Your story sounds a bit funny leh...

last time, whenever my sec school got public caning, the hero will walk up to stage in style with supporters quietly cheering [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

the hero will "lun" no matter what during the caning. after the caning, hero goes to somewhere where nobody can see and 'massage' the caned area.

I neber got the chance to get canned.......one time 30 of my classmates got canned 'cos all go play soccer after the oral test and I can't join them 'cos my turn for the test is coming.....

Then the Discipline Master asked me go to the office and get him a cane. I saw 2, one thick and the other thin. I quickly took the thin one.

End of caning, I proudly told them that I saved them from further pain by selecting the thin cane but was fug by everyone that I should get the thick one........ [:p][laugh]

Edited by WTF

It is like what you mentioned, you shove me and i shove you back and nothing happen immediately. After an hour or so, heard he fallen due to giddiness from the shoving and fallen breaking his spec.

to be able to give a gentle push in the stomach.............your friend's son must be alot shorter not taller.............if he is taller is more likely a punch in the stomach...........

spectacle damaged and his upper eye lid need stitch............what kind of fall will result in such...............more like a punch that broke the glasses and cut the eye lid............

and lucky is private caning...............last time my school will be public caning liao lor.........

I guess the friend's son must be some "famous" student in school ................ [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

It is like what you mentioned, you shove me and i shove you back and nothing happen immediately. After an hour or so, heard he fallen due to giddiness from the shoving and fallen breaking his spec.

Errr.. sg school still got public caning meh?... I though only my generation got..

he mention private leh............in the office i suppose.................

aiya, cane cane lah.

seriously, i got public caning during my primary and secondary schools. Oops! Heeheehee!

i remember during the caning, i was watching my classmate (him) standing besides me who also will get caned and he was crying, i was smiling (silent laugh) at him because of his reaction especially his worried but yet funny face expression. [laugh]

perhaps, caning will make you a better person? hahaha! [laugh]

The case is about the school, the kids and the teacher ........ What has to do with your friend .... The father of the kid to be punished ??????

Let the kid learn his lesson and it will help him when he grows up ... Why is the father getting involved ??????

Let the teacher do their job ...... Gentle mother lead to failure son ....