Canning in School

Alan9711

Why the canning come into the picture is becoz parents blow things out of proportions. You want fair? Make them put on boxing gloves and slug it out in the ring. Last boy standing is the winner. Last time we fight in school we keep it to ourselves. No parents and no teachers involved.

Gentle push can get spectacle broken and upper lip stitching. Buay pai seh, say it out loud who will believe it's just a gentle push? Come lah, I give you my version of my "gentle push" lah? LOL...I also want to demo my crouching kitty and hidden snake move call the "subtle kick".

You guys actually remember how many times you were caned? :huh:

Some of my school-mates even have "ranks".......eg today kena 'promoted' from Cpl to Sgt.......... [:p][laugh]

during my time in secondary school, I've seen people caned for some rather ridiculous things. School don't even bother to investigate and just cane.

I myself was given public caning for gambling; on stage, in-front of whole school. The truth is I did not gamble. I just happen to walk pass, saw a group of ppl crowding around, took a look and so coincidence less then a minute DM came and insist all around are gambling.

School doesn't means they are always right.

Heard from my friend that his son will have private canning in school this Friday. This is what happened. While walking out of the classroom during recess, his son was being pushed aside by his classsmate rushing towards the canteen nearly causing him to lose his balance. His son, being taller gave him a gentle push in the stomach. Nothing happen and later was told that his classmate has fallen due to feeling giddy and fallen with his spectacle damaged and his upper eye lid need stitch. Is the punishment too harsh and as there is no eye witness how he got fallen, his son was blamed for it and ask to pay for the spectacles by the other parents. His classmate did not get any punishment. When the teacher was asked if the student his classmate pushed is smaller size and got injured, then who should get punished, the.answrer is the.classmate. ????. Is this fair?

how old are these kids? classmate how come not friend friend one? why must complaint here complaint there?

Heard from my friend that his son will have private canning in school this Friday. This is what happened. While walking out of the classroom during recess, his son was being pushed aside by his classsmate rushing towards the canteen nearly causing him to lose his balance. His son, being taller gave him a gentle push in the stomach. Nothing happen and later was told that his classmate has fallen due to feeling giddy and fallen with his spectacle damaged and his upper eye lid need stitch. Is the punishment too harsh and as there is no eye witness how he got fallen, his son was blamed for it and ask to pay for the spectacles by the other parents. His classmate did not get any punishment. When the teacher was asked if the student his classmate pushed is smaller size and got injured, then who should get punished, the.answrer is the.classmate. ????. Is this fair?

The one thing I learnt in School when I always kena Caning was..."Its Never Fair"...Because you may not necessarily be the one at fault...

To this day, this is what I teach my children because this is the reality, nobody like it, but look ard... [;)]

The one thing I learnt in School when I always kena Caning was..."Its Never Fair"...Because you may not necessarily be the one at fault...

To this day, this is what I teach my children because this is the reality, nobody like it, but look ard... [;)]

after you know nothing is Fair, then you start cheating and became God of Gamble? :huh:

You guys actually remember how many times you were caned? :huh:

Close one eye...Smelly Smelly about close to 10 times... [laugh]

Edited by Chowyunfatt

after you know nothing is Fair, then you start cheating and became God of Gamble? :huh:

Ehh Hello, I don't Cheat...I just Rub Rub the cards & they change...Thats not cheating... [laugh]

yes. it wasnt fair. i still feel unhappy about the caning given to me.

teachers always 1 kind one. judgemental, dont reason with u just because u r a student.

thats why sometimes when i see parents protecting their kids nowadays, serve the teacher right also.

imo, punish both.

cos both have stories and no way to verify. but i can understand y the injured one didn't get punished. tats how pri scl works. injured one gets the sympathy cos scl must bear responsibility.

anyway, both are just kids. and some kids already know how to keng when not happy with the other guy. it's a small problem and the caning is done to 'show' they are serious about discipline. and 'evidence' points to the non-injured boy as the aggressor. silly imo but pri scl, kids are just like that. a lot of show and tell haha

Now still have corporal punishment meh?

Unlikely, no matter private or public, its still caning. Unless the parents have given permission otherwise can raise to MOE.

like this? is it fair for the fat and bigger sized victim to get punished?

aiya i kenna 2 strokes when im in sec sch....not painful one lah.

erm.. i tio before by principal during my primary school days...very painful leh... i recalled at that time, the cane very thick.. [bigcry]

imo public caning is towards humiliation so that the kid remembers it forever (whether this is morally right to hurt their esteem is another story)

Either... or... parents should be consulted.

I don't believe its a gentle push... are there witnesses?

The smaller kid also quite tofu. The bigger kid should have just grab and warn the smaller one for pushing others.

I cannot help but to LOL at ur post.

I mean, please define gentle push in the stomach? We all know that kids being kids will not gently push so nothing more than a nicely put "punch" to the kid's tummy otherwise how can a gentle push cause the boy to fall down?

For goodness sake, Singaporeans should stop treating our kids like a piece of treasure piece that cannot be touch. If the kid goes unpunished, he will have the idea that bully is condone and he can get away. In future, it will be crimes.