Requiemdk 1st Gear August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 Independent schools still have rules to follow. Anyway, the best gifts are words of appreciation written on cards, handmade or not. Easy to keep too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aventador 6th Gear August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 Read the letter in detail first Nothing wrong with asking for the gifts as it will be used for the lucky draw. (this is implied) I am sure anything at all is welcomed. The part that is FAIL is to say that the gift can be labelled with the students name and class. This allows for showing off whose father got more money. The gifts should be anonymous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 According to the CHS memo which was forwarded to TR Emeritus (TRE) by a parent, the event is organized by CHS Management Committee, CHS Alumni and the Parent Support Group (PSG). the event as rightfully written in the letter is a tripartite affair BUT it is not clear under which auspices the solicitation was called. It appears to me that the PSG Exco is the party that initiated the gift solicitation. PSG is a school-affiliated organisation to be sure but it certainly does not represent the school in its entirety. Best you clarify the matter on hand for you have put forth a rather serious allegation which has serious potential for serious ramifications. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Labixiaoxin Clutched August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 Can we notify MOE and minister for education? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sga54g 1st Gear August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 I like this... Very straightforward! body { background: #FFFFFF; margin: 0px; padding: 4px; font-family: Verdana, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 10pt; } Part of the Civil Service handbook Civil servants should not receive benefits of any kind from a third party which might reasonably be seen to compromise their personal judgement or integrity. The overriding concern is that the actions of civil servants be above suspicion and not give rise to any actual or potential conflict of interest, and that their dealings with commercial and other interests should bear the closest possible scrutiny. Cash, gift cheques or any vouchers that may be exchanged for cash may not be accepted regardless of the amount. Civil servants may not solicit gifts, directly or indirectly. Civil servants may not approach any business with which they have contact through their official duties seeking sponsorship or support for any club, charitable organisation, association, trade union or other organisation. Heads of Departments/Offices should apply discretion in the application of this rule to instances of very small patronage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 SPA vouchers ai mai? Mac Donald's and KFC vouchers I got a lot! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 http://www.tremeritus.com/2012/08/24/catho...s-from-parents/ The Catholic High School (CHS) is openly soliciting for "gifts and presents" from the parents of its students, to "touch the teacher's life", in its coming Teachers' Day Celebration. According to the CHS memo which was forwarded to TR Emeritus (TRE) by a parent, the event is organized by CHS Management Committee, CHS Alumni and the Parent Support Group (PSG). The memo wrote that the PSG Exco is appealing to parents who would like to show their heartfelt gratitute to contribute a present to this event, and listed the 'proposed' presents as "shopping vouchers, dining vouchers, current digital gadgets or home appliance, tour packages, etc". Parents are asked to deposit the gifts into a box at the Primary or Secondary School's General office by 27th August 2012. The memo also listed the contact person for parents with enquiries as Bee Yen (Primary) and Winy Quek (Secondary). Big deal lah, it is common at ACS, NYPS, SCGS, MGS, etc etc etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 I don't remember ever getting this letter before in all my years in that sch. lol. Or maybe I wasn't paying attention. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotfavourite Neutral Newbie August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 no gifts..last time..cos loan shark send pig head to school.....copy from .....in drama series.."zao ann lao shi" that chen liping actress got 1 from pig farmer..son's father....so after that they tried to say this and that....ai ya..dun wan la..... cannot!...but then...secretly... say.. i cannot refuse... since u so insistent.... ... ai ya...all human traits la.... where got people dun like sweets... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 can report cpib Oei.... you can also donate your discount vouchers for complete 'undertaker' services.... In the vouchers, states, single package or family package (covers from the oldest to the youngest) ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 Can we notify MOE and minister for education? errrrr............ write to his Facebook ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 My DD's Teachers personally go to the individual class that they teach & tell them not to buy gifts, only home-made card will be accepted. If what TS shared is true, then I am surprised. We have alot of students coming from affluent families but all this boils down to the management. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 "current digital gadgets or home appliance, tour packages" >>> woah their appetite very big hor? last time teacher day the most we give photo frame, 1 bunch of fake flower or choco can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 Anybody offering mooncakes presented in solid gold gift boxes, a la China style? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 lucky draw prize should come from the school business partners, since when the student become the business partner? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 "current digital gadgets or home appliance, tour packages" >>> woah their appetite very big hor? last time teacher day the most we give photo frame, 1 bunch of fake flower or choco can liao. aiya ... teachers nowadays very stress ... cut student hair also tio. our time if our teacher cut out hair, our parents will go extra step and make us write lines or some other punishment. now parents only want to coddle their kids ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 (edited) According to the CHS memo which was forwarded to TR Emeritus (TRE) by a parent, the event is organized by CHS Management Committee, CHS Alumni and the Parent Support Group (PSG). er.... why you BOLD? all 3 bodies are not any paid MOE staff! read up my friend. Go to any school website and you will see their management committee is made up of old uncles/ aunties/ businessman etc etc! not paid civil servants or teachers. go go.. read up. dun anyhow shoot.. wait malu... Edited August 28, 2012 by Simonsoh 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 (edited) body { background: #FFFFFF; margin: 0px; padding: 4px; font-family: Verdana, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 10pt; } Part of the Civil Service handbook Civil servants should not receive benefits of any kind from a third party which might reasonably be seen to compromise their personal judgement or integrity. The overriding concern is that the actions of civil servants be above suspicion and not give rise to any actual or potential conflict of interest, and that their dealings with commercial and other interests should bear the closest possible scrutiny. Cash, gift cheques or any vouchers that may be exchanged for cash may not be accepted regardless of the amount. Civil servants may not solicit gifts, directly or indirectly. Civil servants may not approach any business with which they have contact through their official duties seeking sponsorship or support for any club, charitable organisation, association, trade union or other organisation. Heads of Departments/Offices should apply discretion in the application of this rule to instances of very small patronage. bo lah... bo lah... dun any how quote lah... quote entire statues also no use... Civil Servants nv solicit why u quote civil servants cannot solicit... Edited August 28, 2012 by Simonsoh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...