Bride-to-be circulates Ang bao rates to guests

Ahtong

bridetobe_circulates_ang_pow_rates-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer WhyGetMarried felt it was inappropriate for this bride-to-be to circulate a list of 'ang pow' rates among the guests attending her wedding banquet.

In Singapore, it is customary among the Chinese for guests to present newlyweds with a small cash token in an 'ang pow' or red packet when attending their wedding banquet to help defray the cost.

The STOMPer wrote:

"This kiasu/cheapo bride-to-be posted a picture of 2012 hotel wedding banquet market rates on facebook to inform her guests on what to do for her wedding.

"Many couples think of holding banquets to earn an one-off fast money.

"Oh please! That's disgusting! If you don't have enough money, don't get married lah!

"The divorce rates here are so high.

"Society should establish a practice for couples who divorce within three years to return their 'ang pow' money with a premium."

on the other hand... guests no need so headache.. think must bao how much...

i am sure most of us have ask this question before... 'you bao how much ar'or 'how much should i/we bao ar'?

Don't flame me but I feel the local wedding culture for Chinese is not very healthy.

A lot of anti-social behaviour and not just hinting about ang bao rates

Look like we are going to see "rates" for attending funeral wake soon.

not so easy, for wedding dinner you can calculate breakeven, funeral you duno how many gatecrasher, of if there is any :D

on the other hand... guests no need so headache.. think must bao how much...

i am sure most of us have ask this question before... 'you bao how much ar'or 'how much should i/we bao ar'?

I feel one should live within their means. If couples want to have their wedding dinners at posh 5 star hotels, they should not expect the guests to help them cover the full costs. If they have problem dealing with the potential shortfall from ang pows collected from guests, then they should be prepared to foot the shortfall. If the concern is that the shortfall could be too much for them to handle, then they should choose a venue which is more economically viable for them. There should not be an automatic expectation that if I hold it in more expensive locations, the guests should be aware of the higher cost and adjust their ang pow accordingly.

Rates of ang pows at times also varies according to your relationship with the invitee. If it is your close buddy of 20 years inviting you, I am sure most such invitees will give a bigger than usual ang pow (if its within their means) instead of the "standard". If you have not met the invitee for 10 long years and he/she invited, then you can't really expect that he/she would adjust the ang pow sum according to the lavishness of the venue to help cover the full cost.

Edited by Damienic

I feel one should live within their means. If couples want to have their wedding dinners at posh 5 star hotels, they should not expect the guests to help them cover the full costs. If they have problem dealing with the potential shortfall from ang pows collected from guests, then they should be prepared to foot the shortfall. If the concern is that the shortfall could be too much for them to handle, then they should choose a venue which is more economically viable for them. There should not be an automatic expectation that if I hold it in more expensive locations, the guests should be aware of the higher cost and adjust their ang pow accordingly.

My friend had his dinner at one of the posh hotels and expected $0 return, because all ang pows will be given to the girl family as dowry.

So he basically don't quite care how much the guest are giving.

He just pay for the dinner banquet and no worries on the returns. Also no dispute with the girl family on how to "share" the ang pows. In the end, everyone happy and no complains.

Edited by Icedbs

My friend had his dinner at one of the posh hotels and expected $0 return, because all ang pows will be given to the girl family as dowry.

So he basically don't quite care how much the guest are giving.

He just pay for the dinner banquet and no worries on the returns. Also no dispute with the girl family on how to "share" the ang pows. In the end, everyone happy and no complains.

richie-rich-cartoon2.jpg

spotted [:p]

Rates of ang pows at times also varies according to your relationship with the invitee. If it is your close buddy of 20 years inviting you, I am sure most such invitees will give a bigger than usual ang pow (if its within their means) instead of the "standard". If you have not met the invitee for 10 long years and he/she invited, then you can't really expect that he/she would adjust the ang pow sum according to the lavishness of the venue to help cover the full cost.

yalor....last time my colleague ask me to go wedding dinner onli because they cant fill up some empty slots....some more high class hotel....that $150 i must well buy yongnuo flash triggers [;)]

yongnuo flash good or not? that day saw it at Comex, can't make myself buy one [laugh] [laugh]

this kind of people no money but want face so book expensive hotel then make sure everyone give the right ang bao amount so that they wont lose money .... disgusting ...

yongnuo flash good or not? that day saw it at Comex, can't make myself buy one [laugh] [laugh]

donno leh...i got 2 nissin flash, di866 version 1 and di622 version 2. now nissin coming out with MG8000. they say can blast 1000 times full power continous, wont overheat. i blash my di866 at 1/2 power, after 70-80 shots, overheat liao....

i asked the reddotphoto people but they say mg8000 only come in october.....

i bought their flash trigger YN622C from their ebay store but havent come yet......2 weeks liao [:(]