NightWind 4th Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 Pls see my reply to your comrade immediately above....which also applies equally to u... But i confess i am guilty of inciting and provoking that response from a grease monkey..so i guess its achieved its desired effect....:) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 The first Porsche car, the Porsche 64 of 1938, used many components from the Volkswagen Beetle. The 1948 Porsche 356 continued using many Volkswagen components, including a tuned engine, gearbox and suspension. So there is some truth to my statement and to be honest i intentionally made the statement figuratively with the hope that it would spark an infromed reply and discussion. Unfortunately your response confirms my worst fears and it appears your facination with the car does not extend beyond its metallic body and shell. Every car has a history, an origin, and to truly love the car beyond its metallic facade, we need to see its whole evolutionary process, to better appreciate how it finally became what it is today. And also to foresee and anticipate its next evolutionary leap forward. Did the Porsche evolve from a Beetle? This has also been a long debate between Jeremy and Richard Clarkson in TopGear....but oh well.... A goodone indeed....:) [laugh] good one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 Pls see my reply to your comrade immediately above....which also applies equally to u... But i confess i am guilty of inciting and provoking that response from a grease monkey..so i guess its achieved its desired effect....:) inciting and provoking might net u a yellow or straight ban if ur not careful. just saying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NightWind 4th Gear October 9, 2012 Share October 9, 2012 On what grounds pray tell? Look at the history of my posts? I did not resort to name calling. I really was hoping for an intelligent reply as I really thought the folks here who started the tread and also talked so much about the porker would also know something about the history of the car, its ancestory, origin, common heritage and bloodlines with VW. There were two possible ways to reply, either a) On a informed intellectual and intelligent basis; or b) Resort to shallow one liners and name calling. I dont need to make them look bad, the shallow nature of their replies is endoresement of this. HOW CAN YOU TRULY LOVE A CAR WHEN YOU DO NOT EVEN BOTHER TO LOOK AT ITS INNER SOUL AND ITS BEGININGS. If they overlook these, they are just paying respect to a pile of scrap metal..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 Pls see my reply to your comrade immediately above....which also applies equally to u... But i confess i am guilty of inciting and provoking that response from a grease monkey..so i guess its achieved its desired effect....:) Guess you don't know the difference between same and similar. You and I are both guys, are we the same? No dude. Why bother inciting when this is just a thread for porsche discussion? You can pm to settle your differences. Sick and tired of seeing more and more trolls around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 On what grounds pray tell? Look at the history of my posts? I did not resort to name calling. I really was hoping for an intelligent reply as I really thought the folks here who started the tread and also talked so much about the porker would also know something about the history of the car, its ancestory, origin, common heritage and bloodlines with VW. There were two possible ways to reply, either a) On a informed intellectual and intelligent basis; or b) Resort to shallow one liners and name calling. I dont need to make them look bad, the shallow nature of their replies is endoresement of this. HOW CAN YOU TRULY LOVE A CAR WHEN YOU DO NOT EVEN BOTHER TO LOOK AT ITS INNER SOUL AND ITS BEGININGS. If they overlook these, they are just paying respect to a pile of scrap metal..... I think you are too high strung and you take things too seriously. I love my family but that doesn't mean I have to research and know all the names of my forebears and what they did dating back many years to china right? It's just a porsche thread to discuss about the car they currently have. You read too much into it. Not here to make enemies with you ah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 10, 2012 Author Share October 10, 2012 (edited) Such a reply was anticipated and also shows your ignorance. Which is all the more tragically and cruelly ironical as you were the tread starter TS. if u bothered to do some BASIC research you will see that some (not all) previous Porsche models were joint projects with VW. And VW also has equity stakes in Porsche...so there is a common history between the two companies and the two cars. The first Porsche car, the Porsche 64 of 1938, used many components from the Volkswagen Beetle. The 1948 Porsche 356 continued using many Volkswagen components, including a tuned engine, gearbox and suspension. This has also been a long debate between Jeremy and Richard Clarkson in TopGear....but oh well u r not flaming right? so u wont look so stupid... damm i was hoping u hit me with something more aggressive then u would have looked even worse.....but u really answered your own question...and need only look into the mirror for silent confirmation. *yawn* You came in jokingly and I replied accordingly, why are you taking it so hard? Take it easy lah, young man. Moving on... Ohleh oleh oleh oleh, we are badge whores, badge whores... (repeat to fade) Edited October 10, 2012 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged October 10, 2012 Share October 10, 2012 On what grounds pray tell? Look at the history of my posts? I did not resort to name calling. I really was hoping for an intelligent reply as I really thought the folks here who started the tread and also talked so much about the porker would also know something about the history of the car, its ancestory, origin, common heritage and bloodlines with VW. There were two possible ways to reply, either a) On a informed intellectual and intelligent basis; or b) Resort to shallow one liners and name calling. I dont need to make them look bad, the shallow nature of their replies is endoresement of this. HOW CAN YOU TRULY LOVE A CAR WHEN YOU DO NOT EVEN BOTHER TO LOOK AT ITS INNER SOUL AND ITS BEGININGS. If they overlook these, they are just paying respect to a pile of scrap metal..... no offense bro, but just by saying they are shallow because they do not conform to your way of thinking says a lot about you. heck, i dont even know skyline history - does that mean i shouldnt buy a gtr? i dont think i know the history of any car manufacturer. nor do i care. i like what i bought and its enough for me. basically, you're bragging that you are more well informed about something ... but no one really cares. again, no offense, i just telling you how its seen. remember bro, if everyone was enthusiastic as you about car knowledge, then there wouldnt be anything special about you ... right? so fine, you know more about porsches ... just dont rub it in other peoples faces la ... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 11, 2012 Author Share October 11, 2012 a new day after a lousy one, almost the weekend soon...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear October 11, 2012 Share October 11, 2012 Yeap from the rear a base with PSE looks exactly like a carrera S. It's not like I want to differentiate from the base model. But rather I do not want to be thought of as a base trying to look like an S. A subtle but impt point :) Yeah... but gimme a base model any day. Enough poke for me already. Probably slap on a set 20" and I'll be contented. Btw do you stay ard the east? Been seeing a white 991 CS zipping along East Coast Road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear October 11, 2012 Share October 11, 2012 The first Porsche car, the Porsche 64 of 1938, used many components from the Volkswagen Beetle. The 1948 Porsche 356 continued using many Volkswagen components, including a tuned engine, gearbox and suspension. So there is some truth to my statement and to be honest i intentionally made the statement figuratively with the hope that it would spark an infromed reply and discussion. Unfortunately your response confirms my worst fears and it appears your facination with the car does not extend beyond its metallic body and shell. Every car has a history, an origin, and to truly love the car beyond its metallic facade, we need to see its whole evolutionary process, to better appreciate how it finally became what it is today. And also to foresee and anticipate its next evolutionary leap forward. Did the Porsche evolve from a Beetle? This has also been a long debate between Jeremy and Richard Clarkson in TopGear....but oh well.... A goodone indeed....:) Who's Richard Clarkson? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remus325 1st Gear October 11, 2012 Share October 11, 2012 Yes, now that we got that out of our system, it is time to get back to our regularly scheduled programming Here's my favorite porsche video that got me excited about the 991 in the first place. The enthusiasm for the car really comes through in this french review. Just press CC for the english subtitles and enjoy!!! "ABS is perfect we can brake like pigs" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remus325 1st Gear October 11, 2012 Share October 11, 2012 a new day after a lousy one, almost the weekend soon...... Looking forward to clearing carbon on Sat/Sun morning! Heheheh. Any plans for the weekend with the 997? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remus325 1st Gear October 11, 2012 Share October 11, 2012 Yeah... but gimme a base model any day. Enough poke for me already. Probably slap on a set 20" and I'll be contented. Btw do you stay ard the east? Been seeing a white 991 CS zipping along East Coast Road. I stay in town but regularly travel to the east for bah chor mee and clear carbon sessions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 11, 2012 Share October 11, 2012 (edited) On what grounds pray tell? Look at the history of my posts? I did not resort to name calling. I really was hoping for an intelligent reply as I really thought the folks here who started the tread and also talked so much about the porker would also know something about the history of the car, its ancestory, origin, common heritage and bloodlines with VW. There were two possible ways to reply, either a) On a informed intellectual and intelligent basis; or b) Resort to shallow one liners and name calling. I dont need to make them look bad, the shallow nature of their replies is endoresement of this. HOW CAN YOU TRULY LOVE A CAR WHEN YOU DO NOT EVEN BOTHER TO LOOK AT ITS INNER SOUL AND ITS BEGININGS. If they overlook these, they are just paying respect to a pile of scrap metal..... OK, so let's try "intellectual and intelligent". Porsche was (obviously) launched by the same guy who launched the VW. Porsche does share Volks DNA. Porsche and VW have taken turns to own each other in part or in full. On that same basis (relatedness of chassis, part or full ownership): A Ferrari is a Fiat. A Lamborghini is an Audi is a Bugatti is a Volkswagen (all part of the VAG group). A Volvo is a (Chinese) Geely. Your purported car (according to your profile), the Aston Martin, is a Ford, since AM was owned by Ford up to 2007. Almost all marques share some interrelatedness. Only the "lone wolf" maverick companies that make one-off specials may be immune to this, but even then, they often source engines, transmissions and other components from other, established manufacturers. So only these questions remain: 1) What is/was your point in bringing this up in a Porsche thread? 2) What is/was your intent in bringing this up in a Porsche thread? Notice that I separated the two, because even if you had a point to make, your intent is more than a little suspect. "Intellectual and intelligent" enough for you? Edited October 11, 2012 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear October 11, 2012 Share October 11, 2012 Who's Richard Clarkson? Jeremy Hammond's friend! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear October 11, 2012 Share October 11, 2012 He tio yellow kad liao. Go hide liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 11, 2012 Share October 11, 2012 OK, so let's try "intellectual and intelligent". Porsche was (obviously) launched by the same guy who launched the VW. Porsche does share Volks DNA. Porsche and VW have taken turns to own each other in part or in full. On that same basis (relatedness of chassis, part or full ownership): A Ferrari is a Fiat. A Lamborghini is an Audi is a Bugatti is a Volkswagen (all part of the VAG group). A Volvo is a (Chinese) Geely. Your purported car (according to your profile), the Aston Martin, is a Ford, since AM was owned by Ford up to 2007. Almost all marques share some interrelatedness. Only the "lone wolf" maverick companies that make one-off specials may be immune to this, but even then, they often source engines, transmissions and other components from other, established manufacturers. So only these questions remain: 1) What is/was your point in bringing this up in a Porsche thread? 2) What is/was your intent in bringing this up in a Porsche thread? Notice that I separated the two, because even if you had a point to make, your intent is more than a little suspect. "Intellectual and intelligent" enough for you? Actually, a 911 is a beetle if early design of the car is taken into consideration. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...