Blueray Hypersonic October 26, 2016 Share October 26, 2016 (edited) Have changed battery at arrow a couple of times. So far never with engine on. Just bought a Bosch from them a few months ago. Edited October 26, 2016 by Blueray ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snokey 1st Gear October 26, 2016 Share October 26, 2016 Changing a battery with the engine running is never recommended, it has been discussed to death here. The alternator might spiked and the high voltage may fry the ECU. Nothing happened everyone happy, something happened how? Who will take responsibility? You think the workshop will admit it's their fault when their profit is maybe $20-30? Find another workshop next time. yea i knew it's not the recommended but it was raining and i was in a rush so i kinda took a gamble also the guy sounded so confident and Arrow was recommended by quite a few people. i guess it depends on the person serving since bro Blueray mentioned that he has changed a few times at the same place and it has never been done this way. although this kinda made it even more bitter for me to swallow now I got it at $120 using the proper replacing method pray share this lobang for the good of all bros here Have changed battery at arrow a couple of times. So far never with engine on. Just bought a Bosch from them a few months ago. interesting thing is when i called them and asked them whether they sell Bosch for my car model, they say no because Bosch a lot of problems, especially within the first year. then i go to the shop and i see them selling Bosch battery.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic October 26, 2016 Share October 26, 2016 (edited) All these uneducated Malaysian mechs always tell you it's ok. And if shit happens? Hey will say dunno ley. I change so many no problem one. Must be your car lousy!. Then how? ECU not cheap ley. You see any other ang mo country change battery with engine running or not? It's mainly the screw ups here that do it. I just tell them to sell me the battery and i borrow their tools and DIY. Please please insist on changing battery with the engine off. Radio or what ever resets and let it reset la. Better than a burnt ECU. Also make sure these fools also do not over tighten the clamp down for Japanese cars. The battery case can crack. Edited October 26, 2016 by Mkl22 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snokey 1st Gear October 27, 2016 Share October 27, 2016 All these uneducated Malaysian mechs always tell you it's ok. And if shit happens? Hey will say dunno ley. I change so many no problem one. Must be your car lousy!. Then how? ECU not cheap ley. You see any other ang mo country change battery with engine running or not? It's mainly the screw ups here that do it. I just tell them to sell me the battery and i borrow their tools and DIY. Please please insist on changing battery with the engine off. Radio or what ever resets and let it reset la. Better than a burnt ECU. Also make sure these fools also do not over tighten the clamp down for Japanese cars. The battery case can crack. thanks bro for your advice.... hopefully this battery will last for another few years. will go check on the battery case later Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 27, 2016 Share October 27, 2016 (edited) Bro, next time go to Guan Lee Tyre at Kaki Bukit for Amaron. I just realized I changed 85D23 there for $120 last year October. The boss service is outstanding and he's a one man operation. Rest asssured he do not ask you to start the engine while changing battery. He connect to a backup battery. Edited October 27, 2016 by Fcw75 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged October 27, 2016 Share October 27, 2016 Bro, next time go to Guan Lee Tyre at Kaki Bukit for Amaron. I just realized I changed 85D23 there for $120 last year October. The boss service is outstanding and he's a one man operation. Rest asssured he do not ask you to start the engine while changing battery. He connect to a backup battery. thks for the info. going to change my 1yr old Amaron battery. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear October 27, 2016 Share October 27, 2016 Actually, the ECU design is very robust when it come to power supply input de. It can take all kind of harsh condition lor. ECU died usually due to the HV section lor, the part that supply the power to spark the plug lor, when ignition coil failed, most of this energy is returned to the ECU causing OV stress. When you change battery with engine off, you lost not just the ICE setting like Radio Preset, you also lost the ECU driving profile lor. Small issue, you probably get back within 1~2 driving cycle. My minimum standard for battery change, no disruption of power supply lor. They usually off engine, clamp another battery and then change battery lor. Nothing is lost except money lor. All these uneducated Malaysian mechs always tell you it's ok. And if shit happens? Hey will say dunno ley. I change so many no problem one. Must be your car lousy!. Then how? ECU not cheap ley.You see any other ang mo country change battery with engine running or not? It's mainly the screw ups here that do it. I just tell them to sell me the battery and i borrow their tools and DIY.Please please insist on changing battery with the engine off. Radio or what ever resets and let it reset la. Better than a burnt ECU.Also make sure these fools also do not over tighten the clamp down for Japanese cars. The battery case can crack. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 27, 2016 Share October 27, 2016 All these uneducated Malaysian mechs always tell you it's ok. And if shit happens? Hey will say dunno ley. I change so many no problem one. Must be your car lousy!. Then how? ECU not cheap ley. You see any other ang mo country change battery with engine running or not? It's mainly the screw ups here that do it. I just tell them to sell me the battery and i borrow their tools and DIY. Please please insist on changing battery with the engine off. Radio or what ever resets and let it reset la. Better than a burnt ECU. Also make sure these fools also do not over tighten the clamp down for Japanese cars. The battery case can crack. It is not the fault of these mechs are not properly trained. It is the responsibility of the shop who sells you the battery to train his staff. Why should i patronise a shop that i need to DIY? It juz does not make sense at all. I would rather be AAS member & call AAS whenever i need to change battery. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 thks for the info. going to change my 1yr old Amaron battery. Why need to change at 1 year? From my experience with Amarons, all can last for at least 2 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 Why need to change at 1 year? From my experience with Amarons, all can last for at least 2 years. i dont like the experience when i cant start the car in the morning. waste time waste money. few years back, paid twice S$230+ each time thru those mobile battery man. have to wait few hrs for them. somemore lousy brand and last only 10months might as well change new battery every 12-14months to be on the safe side and almost half the price thru mobile battery man. most durable amaron i had used is 18months. . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 (edited) AAS batteries quite good especially for those driving big battery sucker cars like contis. The Hoppecke battery is Now comes with 24 months warranty. It is not the fault of these mechs are not properly trained. It is the responsibility of the shop who sells you the battery to train his staff. Why should i patronise a shop that i need to DIY? It juz does not make sense at all. I would rather be AAS member & call AAS whenever i need to change battery. Edited October 28, 2016 by Kangadrool 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 AAS batteries quite good especially for those driving big battery sucker cars like contis. The Hoppecke battery is Now comes with 24 months warranty. Wait till you see how AAS tow 1.5 ton German car out of HDB car park. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 My accord had to change battery at 16mths. Changed a battery from Kah Motor and the guy who came down suggested a battery change every 15-16 months. I've read some american reviews which suggest this car tends to get flat batteries earlier than normal as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snokey 1st Gear October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 Bro, next time go to Guan Lee Tyre at Kaki Bukit for Amaron. I just realized I changed 85D23 there for $120 last year October. The boss service is outstanding and he's a one man operation. Rest asssured he do not ask you to start the engine while changing battery. He connect to a backup battery. thanks for the info as well.... hopefully it will be another year or 2 before i need this kind of service again 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 i dont like the experience when i cant start the car in the morning. waste time waste money. few years back, paid twice S$230+ each time thru those mobile battery man. have to wait few hrs for them. somemore lousy brand and last only 10months might as well change new battery every 12-14months to be on the safe side and almost half the price thru mobile battery man. most durable amaron i had used is 18months. . Oh I see, I have a portable jumpstart kit in my vehicle so not so worried. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic October 28, 2016 Share October 28, 2016 i dont like the experience when i cant start the car in the morning. waste time waste money. few years back, paid twice S$230+ each time thru those mobile battery man. have to wait few hrs for them. somemore lousy brand and last only 10months might as well change new battery every 12-14months to be on the safe side and almost half the price thru mobile battery man. most durable amaron i had used is 18months. . Then you shouldn't use Amaron at all. My car battery was changed under warranty after 24 months. I could sense it was weak and got it verified. If you drive the car everyday, you should be able to sense it. I drive every weekend also can sense it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear October 29, 2016 Share October 29, 2016 I share with you all a technique to check battery. At night, at stationary position. Turn on headlight. From idle, ramp to about 2K quickly. Release the accel pedal and at the same time look at the headlight brightness. A good charged battery will not dim a bit, while a dying battery will dim momentarily. When you do the test ? You can do it everyday, in the evening while letting the kids and wife alight at your home lor. It work on my Kia and previous toyota lor. Anyway, with Amaron, everything is OK and I change battery every 3~4 years ba. What is Amaron secret ? They only added Silver Compound lor ..... A lot of other battery brand are doing that already, look for a new battery which states Silver Ion. And other thing is do not let soap water come near the battery lor, soap - Alkaline destroy the acid base ba. Take note when washing engine compartment. Especially Amaron as their air vent is top side as compared with many on the side lor. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 29, 2016 Share October 29, 2016 (edited) There is another way a battery can become "weak". If you use car cam during parked, when your engine is not running, you're discharging the battery. If left too long in a discharged state, you're creating sulphation. Normally, the car alternator reverse the battery discharged state and charge the battery. But if left too long in a discharged state, the alternator can't reverse the sulphation. Essentially, the sulphate ions get stuck on the lead plate and does not return to the acid during charging. So now, you have a weak acid (more watery) and thus a weak electrolyte. The battery becomes sluggish and may have problem starting the engine. The way to check the electrolyte is by using a hydrometer. Edited October 29, 2016 by Kb27 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...