Your dialect

Ysc3

i wonder how those sinkies who only knows english(perhaps mandarin to a lesser degree) use which language to pray to their deceased grandparents/ancestors..or perhaps they use a hybrid of different languages

English + dialect?

Me from peranakan family, they dont speak mandarin. Me also dont know mandarin and started learning from P1. My mum was able to converse in english, malay, hokkien, cantonese and a little tamil. Praying to grand and great-grand parents, converse in english. :D Me praying to Guan Yin, converse in mix singlish + mandarin. [laugh]

singlish :o

should be Wa shi teo Chew Lang.

chinese will be : Wo shi Cao zhou ren.

lol... my era all speak singlish... 1981 baby... but i speak teochew at home... my mum not educated at all.. oni know teochew...

mai lun kong...

i am 1979 two years different nia. speak chinese and english.

you must be in elite school [laugh]

kar chng ang ang [laugh][laugh][laugh][grin]

Chapter from your verse:

Ke pasat, buay qi chang;

toei tiok pueh kee pung zha tung

Translation:

Go market, buy water chestnut,

saw aeroplane let go bomb

[:)]

Botak head, tee pek pek,

Tuck kah chia, bo bu lek,

kua tio charboh chee ko pek :D

This dialect is Hokkien

Edited by Poohbor

Some HongKongers have problems with pronouciations, but most of them not with the written mandarin. Many Sgporeans have some problems with both, myself included. [:(]

that's because written mandarin is almost same as written Cantonese.

then it also comes to the state whereby you think written mandarin is more important than spoken mandarin or not?

both are useful under different circumstances.

that's because written mandarin is almost same as written Cantonese.

then it also comes to the state whereby you think written mandarin is more important than spoken mandarin or not?

both are useful under different circumstances.

I like hong Kongers' written Cantonese, especially their "modified" words,

Eg, " don't have " in mandarin is 没有, in canto its " 有"but minus the two horizontal strokes inside.... Very symbolic [thumbsup]

冇.

[thumbsup] [thumbsup]

thanks!!

btw, which online translators or "writers" (for forming canto words) you used to get this canto word!??

Edited by Maseratigood

I like hong Kongers' written Cantonese, especially their "modified" words,

Eg, " don't have " in mandarin is 没有, in canto its " 有"but minus the two horizontal strokes inside.... Very symbolic [thumbsup]

actually written chinese is very interesting....

other than the one you mentioned, there is also a lot of characters associated with the dialects

such as

嫑 biao - 不要

甭 beng - 不用

(上不下会) pei - 不会

甭 and others are also used in Northern Chinese dialects. A lot of these can be traced back to middle Han or ancient Han .. modern or standard Mandarin simplifies most of these phrases for simplicity and improve literacy. Japanese went through similar simplification and standardization at a smaller scale - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shinjitai.

no leh

嫑 biao and (上不下会) pei are not simplification

they are actually old Chinese characters that are seldom used today

I just use pinyin input .. "mao3" .. all Chinese words have their Cantonese, Hokkien and yes, Mandarin / pinyin pronunciation. Just some are less used.

how do you know it is mao in hypy?

any place to learn hypy of such rare words?

Good question, other than hypy, the old school dictionaries used strokes and "parts" to search.

hee, I thrown away my book dictionary for long time liao....

but I do still use online dictionary occasionally using the strokes and parts to search.

but I forgotten that website url already.